We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Needs room renovation - coming soon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
235 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Needs room renovation - coming soon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Stayed one week in March. The rooms need renovation and we were able to tour the recently completed demo room, which was fantastic. They are supposed to be completed next year but on island time, who knows if that will happen. The location, value and cleanliness were great. The food was average at best and the service was spotty, even by island standards. The bar staff weren't that happy to serve you and while we had a couple of good servers generally the wait staff were not very attentive. The service we received at the downtown marriott was far superior.
The overall facilites were good and the location was excellent. The linens are updated but the furniture in the rooms is 30-years old. Our bad actually collapsed during our stay and the staff did show up promptly to put it back together. If you can get past the average food or don't set your expectations too high in that area then you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwgrncrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    1,102
    310
    110
    66
See reviews for
680
1,403
83
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

The hotel is beautiful and at a great location. We had an oceanfront room with virtually private huts just steps from the room. We had taken advantage of a promotional 40% discount so it was quite a bargain. Some have said that the rooms need updating, but who cares. They are clean, well kept and more than adequate. After all, you are only in the room to shower and sleep. The buffet breakfest at Portofino was excellent and reasonably priced at $16.50 per, plus tax & tip. We did not have dinner at the hotel at all, preferring to explore local restaurants. We had done Aruba for 25 years + and were pleased by the lack of para-sails, bannana boats, booze busses, shopping malls and hassles in getting a hut and towels, etc., plus the overall friendliness of the staff. The greatest part for me was the fantastic snorkeling just 50-75 yards off the beach right in front of the hotel, plus the many other snorkeling spots all along the coast close by. Curacao is a vibrant, friendly island, pretty much what Aruba was 15-20 years ago.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tomahawk42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this resort in early February of 2010 and we loved it. The pool is amazing and the beach is gorgeous. We loved that the dive shop was on site and we rented snorkeling equipment and my husband went diving three times. The Board Room Beach Bar has happy hour and it's the most amazing spot to watch the sunset. I loved having a swim-up bar also, whether I was getting a cappuccino or a frozen mojito the staff was always very attentive. Tijan (goes by T.J.) is incredibly helpful and would always come over, shake our hands and ask if we needed anything. He can usually be found at the bar by the pool and he is a real asset to the resort. The food was great (the nachos and Mexican night were our personal favorites). Our room was always very clean and the toiletries were always well stocked. If you don't want to splurge on a big breakfast in the Portofino restaurant, you can grab a quick coffee and a bagel in the Voila delicatessan. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baileykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

We stayed at the hotel with friends. Staff is excellent. Facility rating of 3.5 stars is spot on. Rooms are a bit smaller than one would like with perhaps a need for some new furniture. The setting of the lobby, pool, and beach areas is very well done. The staff is uniformly friendly and helpful. The pool and beach lounge chairs (plastic) need to be relegated to the beach. Marriott - c'mon, buy some real lounge chairs with cushions. The dive center at the end of the beach area is convenient with a very friendly staff. All in all, a great value for the money with uniformly good service and quality. I would also recommend they change the bar configuration as no one uses the inside bar. The girls said the spa was an embarrassment. They walked to the one at the Hilton next door. There's a new Hyatt opening on the island in April, farther out of town to the east in Spanish Waters. As a side note, don't miss going to Asia de Cuba for Friday or Saturday dancing, great bands and a great scene. Also, Mambo's at the beach east of town, especially Hemenway's at the eastern end has a great setting and live Latin music. Golf at Blue Bay, the course is beat with poor upkeep, perhaps two or three great holes; I'm sure the new Hyatt course will be the one to play.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHFamilyTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

There are not a lot of American type resorts in Curacao and this one is on a great spit of beach. Sunsets are just beautiful - especially during happy hour. If you like snorkeling and/or diving there are an endless number of places all around the island. Snorkeling off the beach of the Marriott was decent - it's a series of breakwater boulder walls that are getting populated with some coral and a diversity of fish. We drove a lot of the island and it remineded me of parts of Texas - very dry, with scrub brush and lots of cactus. The resorts are kept tropical by lots of sprinklers...

We paid $55 to rent a car for 24 hours. This seemed expensive, but we checked on-line and prices were the same. The rental was at the hotel so we did not have to travel anywhere and drove the car to the airport to depart.

The hotel rooms are dated and we heard Marriott only leases the property and is trying to sell the hotel which may explain the lack of room renovation. Grounds are beautiful and well kept. Casino, just for those of you intertested, is lame and lots of broken slot machines (we tried to play while killing time waiting for a shuttle). We saw the Renaissance casino when we popped in to use their restroom in Willemstad Punta and it is much nicer.

Food is decent. Don't expect to find haute cuisine on a Dutch Island and you'll be fine. Breakfast buffet had a great selection of food.

We had one really bad meal after reading many reviews to go to "Hooks" restaurant. My friend's fish of the day was dry and my shrimp tasted, well, old - for lack of a better term. I stopped eating after two, and thankfully did not get food poisoning. The waitress saw neither of us ate, but asked her obligatory "How was your meal?" We politely responded, but got the full bill anyway. This happened to me once years ago in the Bahamas Sheraton resort and the waitress comped us the meals we could not eat. We left her a massive tip. But my advice is to go to Hooks to drink maybe, but not to eat seafood. Side note:out front of the restaurant there was a large amount of smelly standing water that was either from the kitchen or bathrooms. In my mind I want it to be the kitchen.

If you are in a ground floor room and experience mosquitoes, ask to move to 3rd floor. This worked for us.

If you are going to relax and snorkel, this is a nice place. Just remember it is a Caribbean island and the hotel is not at the level of the "big city Marriott" standards. I am not sure I would go again, but we had a nice time.

P.S. - Fodor's is wrong in their guide - THERE IS NO FREE WIFI. You must may $15 per day for in room service and then you get "free wifi" in lobby.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kova67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

We stayed at Marriott Beach Resort in Curaçao and we loved the place. The atmosfere was very nice, friendly staff, good food , great breakfast.
Had a Great Time and Definitely Recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

This was our first trip to the island. We choose this hotel since it was a Marriott. Overall the experience was great. This trip was wonderful! The only things that I really have much to comment on with regards to the hotel would be the prices for drinks, shuttle service and the food at the hotel. Our room was great, the maid service was awesome (they left us a nice note each day) and the overall experience was great. We would definatly go back to this.

Cons-

Drinks are VERY expensive there. Soft drinks are all bottles and can so you pay per drink even when the fill a plastic cup with 1/2 the bottle or can. We went to a local supermarket and bought our own.

Breakfast Buffett- The meat (bacon, sausage) was barely cooked most days. We were afraid to eat it for fear of getting sick. You only get tea or coffee with the breakfast, soft drinks are not included and they don't tell you this!

Shuttle- The shuttle to town only goes 2 times a day. 9AM and 2PM. We ended up taking the taxi most days becaue the shuttle options were to limited. We did rent a car for two days to sight see on the island and we did not have any trouble finding parking in town.

Rooms-There were no refridgerators in the room

Beach-The beach directly behind the beach is rocky.

Pros-
Pool was big and very clean and nice - a few more umbrellas would be nice

Rooms were comfortable- Maid service was awesome, they left us a nice note every day!

Breakfast Buffett- They has a good variety of food to offer including made to order eggs and omlets.

Location-It was reasonabily close to town, cab rides were short and easy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noodle1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
4.9 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
3.0 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
4.1 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 31 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Property: Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Address: John F Kennedy Boulevard | Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Bay Casino are located directly on a private beach in Willemstad, Curacao. Spend your days basking in the sun at our resort pool or beach, or experiencing all history and adventure Curacao has to offer through our on site Tour and Car Rental desk. Once the sunsets, you will experience amazing dining by sea at our beachfront restaurant Seabreeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Hotel Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort And Emerald Casino
Marriott Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Hotel Emerald
Marriott Curacao
Willemstad Marriott
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing