We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very lovely for where we are” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
233 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Very lovely for where we are”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

ifare if u follow my reviews you already I am picky and have a different take on things. I do think this hotel is really nice, and it's good enough to stay here in Curaçao. it sort of reminds me a bit of the Hyatt in Aruba but not as classy.. everyone here is super friendly and helpful, there are some communication issues, like when I asked for an over the top restaurant they don't u dear stand those kind of things. the beach is not too wide, the wat is nice not perfect, but there are awful rocks and pebbles in the water for about 15 feet or so making it hard to get into the water, not easy at all for little children. there are mainly Dutch and South American's here and they do vacation differently than Americans are used to. barely anyone is dressed great so leave your LV and Gucci home, it won't be appreciated, (darn)"....


The breakfast is very good, and the lunch on the beach or pool is okay too, not amazing. it looks and feels like a much better high class resort than it is. the rooms are simple and grow on you but VERY CLEAN.. make sure you know the difference between an Oceanside room and Oceanview room.

this is not an upscale classy island so don't worry about being about the best spot ever, it's not like that here, it's like a rustic Aruba a lot more industrial, tourism is just not their main industry here. I am glad to be here, if u want the perfect water and beach and total upscale everything go to Grace Bay Beach in Turks... The hotel lobby is active and fun to sit in, the casino is very nicely run and seems to be not stingy ....

if I come back I would stay here, but I seriously feel the beach with all the rocks is hard for children and the elderly..

Room Tip: Taken Oceanside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELSUSHI921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,389
    1,117
    314
    110
    68
See reviews for
693
1,428
85
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Marriott hotel is one of the nicest hotels. Everybody is very nice and helpful. It was extremely hot in April. Thank goodness for the winds. Food is terrible. I think it is that way on the island. The hotel offers a free shuttle into town 2 xs a day. Not much to shop for ..ask for Cassandra at the front desk, very helpful and Gigi in the restaurant for breakfast downstairs. Do not get the Continental breakfast,, to expensive. Order off the menu.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the second floor and up. Do not get room 120 smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louella B, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Kendall H.
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay.
I would welcome some additional feedback regarding the food and beverage area. Should you have the time please feel free to email me at email: louella.brezovar@marriott.com

Thank you for recognizing Cassandra (FO) and Gigi (Portofino). They will certainly get recognized for their efforts.
Sunny Regards,
Louella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We just finished up 6 days in Curacao at the Marriott Beach Resort & Casino. This beach front location was nice. The pool was amazing. A total of 4 restaurants are on the property - only one of which (Portofino) is up scale and worthy of a nice dinner. The other 3 are pretty much casual dining - burgers, etc. Not bad. We loved the beach although it is rocky - something we didn't expect for a caribbean island. The rooms could use a bit of upgrading, but for an ocean front resort, it was ok. I would definitely stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor to get a glimpse at the ocean. The Casino was small, but given we actually won money, it was ok. The rewards program is fairly generous, so sign up for the card if you happen to stop in. About 3 miles ($15 cab ride) away is the Renaissance hotel. Completely different feel. Downtown location with man made beach. With the downtown locale, you get high-end shops (geared up to capture the cruise ships coming in and out) and lots of restaurants. Rooms were a bit nicer too. We opted to stay on the beach. Overall, the hotel is nice - not up to the same standard we see at the Marriotts we stay at, but decent.

As for the area, downtown is absolutely beautiful. However, once you get inside the facade, it tends to fade a bit. Many of the shops beyond the outer rim are your typical tourist traps. We toured the downtown area, but moved over to the Fort Rif area shops - a little nicer area. This town could be just amazing with a little more cleanliness and attention. The surrounding areas are nice, but it wasn't as clean as we had hoped for - lots of trash off the main streets in the bushes, etc. Because of the refineries, there was an oil smell that lingered at times.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had never been to the island before and were not sure what to expect but were really happy we came! The staff really were great and took pride in the property and in making sure guests were happy. The rooms are a bit dated but everything worked fine and they were very clean. When in a paradise like this I am not sure why anyone would want to spend most of their time in a room anyway!

Food was good avg prices and we found that eating outdoors at the Seabreeze was nice and relaxed plus we got to be spoiled by Angela! (We miss you and can't wait to come back!). Lobster night was a real treat and a good deal.

Be sure to make a point of watching the sun set here at least once.... So beautiful it nearly brought me to tears.

Room Tip: I would recommend booking an ocean view room if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice, clean, well maintained, hotel. Consistent with the Marriott standard -- reliably decent. Restaurants and bars offer a good selection, but are relatively pricey (e.g., $3 for a 12-ounce Diet Coke, $5.50 for a non-alcoholic frozen lemonade). Staff is very friendly and welcoming. Hotel can be a bit noisy with live music playing loudly into the night.

Reef right off the beach is great for snorkeling and scuba diving. On-site dive shop is great. But, the beaches on the west end of the island are much nicer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15for3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

First let me state that my partner and I had a very nice time. This review may sound negative but is meant to set expectations.

Pluses: property is very beautiful. Pool area and beach were great, very clean. Staff is very friendly and accommodating, especially Nadim at emerald lounge and Cirita at the Board Room. Tell her The Davids said hi! Very quite location. Beach front room had great view. Wonderful place to get away and relax.

Minuses: rooms are very basic. Definitely ask for a room on the side with the dive shop (x00 - x50). Other side is next to a public beach and gets very loud. They changed our room with no hassle. The next room had an air conditioning vent that dripped and made floor slippery. Food is expensive and menu is limited. Breakfast buffet is $23 per person and there really are no other options. Check when booking for a meal plan. We tried to add once we got there and we couldn't. Best meal we had was on Sunday across the street at Floris hotel in Sjalotte restaurant. Sunday is a BBQ buffet that was excellent. Monday at the Board Room on the beach was also BBQ. Nice, not buffet, but good food. Only one ATM in resort and twice it was down so had to go over to Hilton.

All in all a very nice trip. Curacao is much less commercial than Aruba. The town is small and not as nice as pictures portray it to be. If you can go to Hato caves and Baco Table. The latter is on the rocky west side of island and is very scenic.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the side near the dive shop. Other side is near public beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louella B, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear David F.
Thank you for your taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review. Through your sincere guest feedback we are always continuing to improve our quality and service levels.

I can assure you that your comments regarding the rooms and the Food and Beverage operation will be reviewed and addressed with the respective managers.

Thank you for your kind words about Nadim and Cerita. I will ensure that they are recognized for their efforts. Cerita was our "Associate of the Year" for 2012 and she is a true GEM.

Of course I do hope to be able to personally receive you back at our resort in the future and show you the imrpovement we continue to make.

Sunny Regards,
Louella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 10 nights at the Curacao Marriott. The majority of people staying here are either dutch or american. The hotel is lovely and the staff are very efficient and friendly. The rooms are spacious albeit slightly in need of renovation. The beds were extremely comfortable. The standard of housekeeping was very high and the whole resort as well as the rooms were kept spotlessly clean. The one downside to this hotel is it's limited menus. The food was very good but mainly consisted of burgers and pizzas although we were told that the chef would cook us whatever we wanted. Breakfast, which was included in our nightly rate, was very good with plenty of choice. Another thing to be aware of is the cost of food and drink. Alcoholic drinks are very expensive and as well as tax, which is paid all over the island, the hotel charges 15% service charge. We would have liked to have eaten in the hotel more but found it much cheaper as well as much more varied to leave the hotel. By luck we found the Pirates Bay 10 minutes walk away past the neighbouring Hilton hotel which was beautiful. Situated on the beach, the food was delicious and made for some memorable evenings. The town of Willemstad is worth several visits. Good restaurants and a fascinating place to wander around with a pontoon bridge which frequently opens to allow ships through. This operation was planned to a 't' and fascinating to watch. There is not a lot to see around the island but Sheka Bota National Park is worth a visit as is the aquarium, Hato Caves and the Ostrich Farm. All in all a wonderful holiday with many magical memories.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
4.9 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
3.0 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
4.1 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 33 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Property: Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Address: John F Kennedy Boulevard | Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Bay Casino are located directly on a private beach in Willemstad, Curacao. Spend your days basking in the sun at our resort pool or beach, or experiencing all history and adventure Curacao has to offer through our on site Tour and Car Rental desk. Once the sunsets, you will experience amazing dining by sea at our beachfront restaurant Seabreeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort And Emerald Casino
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Hotel Willemstad
Marriott Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Hotel Emerald
Marriott Curacao
Willemstad Marriott
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing