We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great honeymoon!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great honeymoon!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2008

My husband and I just returned from our weeklong honeymoon in Curacao and had a blast! The Marriot, as the reviews say, was great and by far is the only place I would stay on the island (it is only one of two high-end resorts it seems).

The staff was very accommodating, nice and welcoming - we had no problems with the staff at all. The property itself is beautiful - just like the pictures on the web site. We were offered an upgrade to a beachfront room for $75/nt and it was well worth it. Rooms were typical Caribbean decor, could be updated, but we had no complaints about anything being dirty or poorly maintained. The beach is rocky only in one area, but we managed to swim just fine on other parts of the beach and the snorkeling there was great, but bring your own equipment because renting can add up and the snorkeling is that great that you'll want to do it more than once or twice. Just down from the Marriott is a path that takes you to the Hilton (which looked like a DUMP), but the snorkeling off that area was awesome too!

We were also very impressed with the food at the Marriott. For hotel food, the burgers, salads and sushi we had while we were on property were very good. The food around the island was also very good, however, there were a few places I wanted to drive to for dinner but it is very difficult to get around the island at night (no street signs) so I am disappointed we were not able to try a few places I had on my list. We dined at the Governor downtown which was very good and decently priced for a nice dinner out and we tried a few cafes downtown, which were great and very cheap! We also tried Hook's Hut at the recommendation of an article I read in the NY Times and the food was the least impressive we had on the island. The environment is great, but the food was not that great and overpriced.

We rented a car for 4 days, which I highly recommend as taxi prices are very very expensive and some of the most fun we had was driving around and exploring. We had a wonderful time driving around the island finding beaches and different places we came across, although there is not much, it does take a sense of adventure to enjoy the island in my opinion. The island is not very touristy, which was a plus for us, and we were only two of a handful of American tourists which was very neat.

We visited Cas About a beach about 20 min from the Marriott, which I recommend, and took the day trip to Klein Curacao - a deserted island 1.5-hours off the coast. The island is literally deserted, not much shade or much of anything there, but the water was crystal clear., some of the clearest I have ever seen. I however, felt a day trip here was a bit too long for me, but my husband really enjoyed it.

Overall, I think the Marriott is THE place to stay in Curacao. We had a blast on the island and are anxious to see the Hyatt and Westin that we heard are being built. We'll go back, but not for 5-plus years or so.

  • Liked — The beach and pool
  • Disliked — Taxis to/from island destinations are $$$
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank UofATess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    1,112
    313
    110
    68
See reviews for
689
1,422
85
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
upstate ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2008

this hotel was not a Marriott it was like a cheap best western real cheap. By the managers office inside there are bird nests in the light fixtures. The rooms are so dirty there are big stains on the furniture and when asked to see another room all the other ones were worse then the last one we were in, the management is well aware of the problems but chose not to confront these problems, Rats on the beach big rats like NYC sewer rats not small mice.... Algae in the whirlpool big chunks!!!!! casino is a joke its about as big as a high school bathroom oh yes but they did have 1 crap table that opens at 9 pm and a poker tournament at one table but for the full two weeks we were there the poker table was never open. the food is the worst the mini burgers are half a Burger cut into four pieces and put on little buns not little individual hand made burgers like one would expect. The deli had leaks like you would expect on the titanic..Also the deli does not have soap at the sink for staff to wash and clean up with when we asked to use their sink, now that's clean. If you are looking for a dirty third world hotel this is the one for you.. Stay away if you know whats good....

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank tents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2008

for the $ 1,960 i paid for a 4 night stay you would think that the overall feel would have been better. i am not hard to please and stay many times in $50 apts on my travels. when i checked in they told me my room was not ready and after 3 hours i felt as though they forgot about me, and they did, i did not yell or complain but not even the manager came out to apologize. i will say this was probably an isolated incident. this hotel is on a nice property and if you stay there try to stay in the rooms listed in the 300's as there is not so many children running around. great views of the ocean with an ocean view room.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank miamirabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2008

We went to Curacao in June, for our honeymoon. Our flight was late coming to Curacao and we didn't get there until like 1030, and the front desk was very accomidating, they upgraded us to a corner ocean view room. We felt the hotel was clean and the grounds are very well kept. Everyday there was workers outside on the beach cleaning it up from high tide. Everyone was so kind and helpful. We felt very safe at the resort and this island.


We had a taxi driver by the name of Eddy pick us up from the airport and he was fabulous! He took us on a day trip and we went around the whole island. We were picked up at like 9 and we were not dropped off until like 5 or 6. He gave great tips on where to eat, and he was determined for me to get a picture of the cool green parrots that are on the island, that I wanted a picture of. He is an all around great taxi driver, so if you are going to the island, we suggest having him show you around, you will not be sorry. Tell him, Paula and Chad from Wisconsin sent you. :)

It is a beautiful and very clean island, the water is the clear, turquoise color that you dream of. We definately want to go back.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank crazyprae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2008

The Curacao Marriott was a beautiful resort. However, the employees at the Marriott are not what you would typically expect from a Marriott in the US. Upon arrival, we had to wait an hour before the room we requested 2 months ago was ready. We arrived at 10:30 p.m. and were told our beachfront room was not clean yet. We stood in the lobby and waited and were promised it would be ready soon. That did not happen. The man behind the reception counter then took a 15 minute break after I asked him if our room was ready yet. Upon his return another guest asked him about transportation back to the airport that she had pre-paid for. He could not help her and disregarded her question and told her she'd have to come back in the morning to ask someone else. We were given a regular room which was fine, but not worth the $500/night stay. We were promised the next day we would have our beachfront room. That did not happen either! The restaurants (2) were okay. Everyday when we ate in one of the restaurants the server would come to our table and give us a list of items that they had "run out" of! This was frustrating. Be prepared to sit for 2-3 hours while dining anywhere in Curacao. Portofino's was fine, but the service was extremely slow (there were only a few other couples eating at the time). Overall, I felt the staff at the Marriott was rude and not friendly at all. I would probably never go back to the island. Although English is spoken on the island, many of the employees at the Marriott were difficult to understand and had a hard time understanding us. We only noticed a few families from the US while were at the Marriott. Definitely not a US friendly island!! If you're thinking about heading to any of the ABC islands, consider ARUBA!!! It's beautiful and the Marriott in Aruba is by far one of the best places we've ever stayed!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank CFSB0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

Nice, clean hotel, for relaxing 5-6 days. Rooms are spacious, and well maintained daily. Very comfortable bed, with great pillows selection. Interior furnishings are soft "colonial style"
but slightly outdated: painted nightstands, TV and the armoire is outdated for this level of the Hotel, and requires update. Hotel has European influence, with many guests from Netherlands
( as it is very convenient with straight flight by KLM from Amsterdam) probably many guests will find uncomfortable not finding extended shower heads or bidet in thebathrooms. Food was mid average and too highly priced, for quality presented. I had a conversation with great personell, and we understand each other meaning Hotel policy : "Rob the Tourist" We have dined at five different recommended restourants at Otrobanda, and find the best we would like to highly recommend "GOUVERNEUR 'DE ROUVILLE" exellent. Great: shef, food, prices, service, view - BEST in Curasao. For $10 taxi will give you a 5 minute ride.
We really don't care about cazino's but in regards of entertaining the guests, probably managent need to revise their policies or schedule.
During 8 day stay it was only one evening with music performance. Evenings were boaring, if you stay in the Hotel. Also as Hotel claims to be "a resort" it is not offering standard entertainment, or services as non motorized water equipment for free. Meaning that, simple Fangs and snorkeling set, will cost you $ 17 per day - meanwhile all "resorts" in Jamaica, Dominican republic, Mexico or Costa Rica are offering snorkeling equipment for guests free.
Overal experience GOOD: this is the better hotel than any at the beautiful Curacao so far, but it will be better for business if the management will consider some comments mentioned above.
Thank you very much,
George.

  • Liked — Clean ocean, sand, bed & pillows.
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MAXHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2007

My husband and I travelled with our twenty year old son to Curacao for a mid-winter vacation. We chose Curacao because (a) it is relatively painless to get to from Texas compared to other Caribbean destinations; (b) it has good snorkeling; and (c) it has casinos. I chose the Marriott because of the reports of good snorkeling immediately off shore of the hotel beach, its location near to Willemstad and its on-premises casino.
The Marriott was truly lovely. We booked a direct beach front suite that was perfect for the three of us. It had a refrigerator and coffee maker that allowed us to eat breakfast and lunch at our own leisure. The room had a very large balcony with a lovely view, a bedroom separate from the living area and a large bathroom. The room was very clean and beds very comfortable (king in the separate bedroom and pull-out in the living room). I agree with some of the other reviews that the rooms are relatively "uninspired" but we were very comfortable and slept very comfortably. The view from our room was fantastic.
I also agree with the reviews about the friendliness and helpfulness of the Mariott staff - from the bellman, front desk to waiters and bartenders. They were all - without exception - super: friendly, courteous and helpful! The Casino staff were also very friendly and we enjoyed playing (and even losing!) in the Casino.
The grounds of the Marriott and its beach are superbly maintained: flowers and trees just lovely, the common areas of the hotel are spotless, and the beach was immaculate with plenty of clean beach chairs and palapa huts or umbrellas. The snorkeling is super just off shore and we snorkeled every day and saw wonderful schools of colorful fish.
About the only negative comment I can make are these: the food at the Marriott - both the beach and the main dining room was only average. We ate nothing remarkable and one of the buffetts was truly indigestion-producing (the American BBQ buffett - we should have known when in Rome....!). On the other hand, the chef, Sylvia, cooked two barracuda and a tuna that my son and husband had caught on a fishing trip and it was SUPER! This was a real treat and she could not have been more pleasant and helfpful.
The other negative comment, that really is only negative in the sense of wanting to have more accessibility to Willemstad, is the location of the Marriott. You really can't walk anywhere from there. It is a $10.00 cab ride into Willemstad (each way). Marriott does run a shuttle, but I found that its schedule was not particularly convenient. A fabulous restaurant, Sjalotte, is just across the street and we ate there twice but other than that, it is difficult to conveniently walk to anywhere else. (The Hilton is immediately next door and we went over there one night to its casino - we would not return. The staff were extremely unfriendly to the point of being rude and the place just gave off weird vibes - I cannot imagine staying there - saw its "beach" area and what the Hilton has for a beach is teeny, tinsy shared with a docking area for dive boats, the pool is small and crumbling and even the Hilton's beach chairs were dirty and nasty looking. ) Even though the Marriott appears on the website to be within walking distance of Willemstad and other casinos, with the exception of the aforementioned dreadful Hilton casino and the lovely, lovely Sjalotte Restaurant, the location of the Marriott is not conducive to easy access to other hotel properties or the Punda and Otrobanda area. Although advertised as such on its website, the "disco" at the Marriott was sedate to non-existent during our stay. This might change during the summer months - I do not know.
We booked a tour through Yellow Tours at the Marriott for a nearly full day tour of the island and Christoffel National Park. The representatives at the lobby desk were delightful and helpful. We had a super tour guide, Tico, who was so obviously in love with his native island, that it was infectious. He was very knowledgeable about a variety of plants and wildlife. We would all highly recommend him as a guide and the tour.
We ate one night at Steak & Ribs at the Rif Fort. It was pretty decent and our waiter was wonderful.
Weather-wise, despite the fact that December is "high season" on Curacao, it was pretty rainy. We endured one truly torrential downpour that apparently was unusual. It pretty much rained at least for an hour every day. (Again, we were told that was unusual).
All in all, we enjoyed the snorkeling, the lovely Marriott, the beautiful birds and passionate tour of the Island. I definitely would recommend this destination. We definitely would consider returning (perhaps during the spring or summer months when it is not as rainy).
I would strongly recommend this resort to couples (particularly those for whom dining will not be a high priority). For those looking for a disco night scene, stick to Aruba. Otherwise, the Marriott is a lovely alternative.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
15 Thank Delaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
4.9 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
5.2 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
4.1 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 32 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Property: Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Address: John F Kennedy Boulevard | Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Bay Casino are located directly on a private beach in Willemstad, Curacao. Spend your days basking in the sun at our resort pool or beach, or experiencing all history and adventure Curacao has to offer through our on site Tour and Car Rental desk. Once the sunsets, you will experience amazing dining by sea at our beachfront restaurant Seabreeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Hotel Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort And Emerald Casino
Marriott Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Hotel Emerald
Marriott Curacao
Willemstad Marriott
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing