We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was awed by this place”

Mikve Israel-Emanuel Synagogue
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Curacao TukTuk City Tour
Ranked #13 of 107 things to do in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Western Hemisphere's oldest synagogue in continuous use was founded in 1651 by 12 families from Amsterdam.
Margate, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I was awed by this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

As a world traveler, I have tried to "collect" visits to various houses of worship. Being Jewish I have a particular fondness for old synagogues. This is the oldest active synagogue in the Western Hemisphere. There is a feeling of reverence and beauty here. It is very spiritual, not so much religious, although there are reminders everywhere, but a feeling that one gets in certain places of this nature. It is definitely an experience. We were there during the Hanukkah celebration and we were able to light the Menorah candles with the Congregation. It was a very moving experience that I will always cherish.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    122
    36
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing Synagogue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is the oldest, continually in use synagogue in the western hemisphere. It still has sand floors. The pulpit, seats, and holy ark are made of mahogany. This is one historic place you must visit in Curacao.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

At least for me,as a jew,it was the best thing to
visit while in Curaçao.My synagogue in Brazil
(portuguese-spanish) is like the same interior architecture.
Do not miss it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank david83504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“excellent museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

we took a walk through the beautiful white sand covered floor of the synagogue, then we went to the museum that is also right there. it was well worth the admission. we met some wonderful women in the gift shop, but the selection of gifts was limited.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank labmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Impressive heritage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This synagogue is one of the oldest and active ones in the Caribeans and Latin America. In optimum shape. In the complex is a very nice museum with documents and old jewish attributes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DutchyNetherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikve Israel-Emanuel Synagogue also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Mikve Israel-Emanuel Synagogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing