We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice museum”

Mikve Israel-Emanuel Synagogue
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Curacao TukTuk City Tour
Ranked #17 of 109 things to do in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Western Hemisphere's oldest synagogue in continuous use was founded in 1651 by 12 families from Amsterdam.
Chaguanas, Caroni, Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The museum had alot of great history of the Jewish families on Curacao. The synagogue was beautiful, and the sand floors were interesting. My favourite part was the gift shop!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruslene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    122
    36
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gigi was wonderful”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I took a Jewish heritage tour with Gigi Scheper. We toured several a sites and thought it was wonderful. The Jewish cemetary and the synagogue were worth seeing. We learned so much about the island as well as the Jewish history and present community. I Definately recommend visiting here and touring with Gigi.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Oldest Synagogue in the Western World”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

It's extremely well maintained. Saw a Torah from the 1300s in the museum section. They hold services there as well.
The bima is in the middle and there is sand on the floor. There is an upstairs gallery which might have been for women at one time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Very interesting.”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I really enjoyed the synagogue. Was neat how the floor was all sand and the history of it is amazing. The museum was very informative and I really enjoyed visiting it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quite outstanding”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was taken to this Synagogue as part of a tour led by local guide Gigi Scheper. I was so impressed by the history and ambiance of this building. The attached museum holds relics that I had never seen the like of before; these include replcas of the tombstones from the ancient cemetery with very intricate and detailed markings. A fascinating experience,

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mmeward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikve Israel-Emanuel Synagogue also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Mikve Israel-Emanuel Synagogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing