We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Nearby Hotels
$169
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scuba Lodge & Suites(Willemstad)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$826
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avila Beach Hotel(Willemstad)
$189
$174
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Curacao(Willemstad)
$156
$147
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$168
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (935)
Filter reviews
935 results
Traveler rating
480
327
81
33
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
327
81
33
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean encounterssea aquariumchill grillmeter lap poolocean frontfishbreakfast packagefree shuttlegrocery storeopen watergreat beachtwo bedroom apartmentdiving schoolrented a carbeach chairspalm treessmall fridge
Filter
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 935 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We ALWAYS choose the Lion's Dive for our stay in Curacao. We feel is by far the BEST resort on the Island and it's expansion over the years has not detracted from it's appeal at all. New apartments & suites, gorgeous swimming pools, new restaurant, new large shuttle bus all make the stay there the best! The Dive facility offers several trips for both scuba and snorkeling as well as full certification courses. The free shuttle runs twice a day into Willemstad...famous for it's colorful buildings along the canal and pontoon bridge. The on site restaurants offer a variety of foods from a casual lunch at "Hemingways" to first class dinner and wines at "Nemos" all at reasonable prices. Several languages are spoken by the staff making you feel right at home. The Lion's Dive if most definitely "The Natural Place To Stay"

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedomtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Lions dive for 10 days beginning in the end of February. The beach at the Lions Dive is amazing. It sits on a wonderful bay adjacent to a completely protected beach. The Lions Dive beach is filled with shade trees for those who need to get out of the sun occasionally.

There is a world class dive shop on the premises and the protected beach goes for almost a mile. The beach/lagoon is perfect for swimming without getting into the big ocean waves. The hotel also has a 50 meter olympic swimming pool so getting some excercise was easy. There is also a fantastic workout center on the premises complete with modern machines, free weights and treadmills.

The Lions Dive is a great place to simply relax and enjoy the sun. The beach is quiet and there's a bar beachside. Dinnerplanning is simple. There are two restaurants on the premises and down the beach is another nice restaurant (Mambos) that is excellent. Across the bay sits another restaurant (5min walking distance) right next to the seaquarium.

This was definitely our best vacation to date!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landshark67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Great hotel by the beach. Scenic views from large deck of Mambo Beach. Walking distance to dive rental shop and great dive spots.

Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
1  Thank tokamak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Better than we expected! This was our 25th anniversary, the Honeymoon we never had. If what you want is a quiet, laid back stay, this is for you. No hustle and bustle.We stayed from Saturday to Saturday.
Three restaurants. Hemingway (where we ate every night, your basic all around restaurant; sandwiches, pizza, salads, enough entrees so you won't have the same thing twice unless you want to! My wife had the chicken Soltambocca 3 nights in a row !), Nemo ( seafood specialty but all around menu, a step above casual, very nice atmosphere), Piazza ( pizza and salad ( I didn't hear any complaints). As far as cost of meals, I've read some complaints about being costly at the Hemingway. Maybe in Guilders it seems costly! Dinner for 2 with ice tea and soft drinks, plus deserts averaged $45 to $50 before tip. Be prepared for very laid back service. Personally I don't mind the slower pace. Dinner time averaged 2 to 3 hours. they do NOT rush you along. Your table (reservations are recommended) is your table for the night. We would eat our main meal and sometimes take a short walk to the beach area and sit under the stars after watching INCREDIBLE sunsets! Friday night is "locals night" so the tables are reserved for the locals months in advance, make Friday night plans accordingly. They will fit you in either very early or late (before 6pm or after 9 pm). Buffet breakfast every morning (with omelets and other types of eggs made to order). More than enough to choose from! Sunday dinner is a buffet also. Bring your appetite that night!
A 2 minute walk to the Sea Aquarium. Your hotel key card gets you in free as many times as you want. Do the dolphin swim!!! AMAZING!!
Staff was extremely friendly at the front desk ( they had my wife and I in stitches!) as well as the maid service folks and the restaurant staff. Rooms were clean. Fresh bedsheets every morning. Great view from our balcony! (See pics) Air conditioner worked like a charm. Bathroom is NOT air conditioned so, be prepared. Mini fridge in room. Beautiful grounds (bananas growing outside our room!), flowers and local plants and fauna. Birds were amazing (except the pigeons).
Beach was very clean but, a lot of coral rubble. Water shoes are recommended. You can snorkel right off the beach. Breakwaters (man made from existing coral boulders) have plenty of life growing on them ( corals, sponges, feather duster and Xmas tree worms, and macro algae), all types of fish. I saw pretty close to every species of Atlantic tropical fish, with the exception of the angelfish, within 300 feet from my hotel room!! Excellent for the novice snorkeler because the breakwater keep the water very calm. My wife had an absolute blast! She was not a big fan of snorkeling until now!
Mostly European guests (Dutch and German) but, most of them speak English which is nice. There seemed to be a fair number of physically and intellectually challenged children there with their families, so I gather this would be a place to consider if a loved one had these challenges. Wheel chair ramps nearly every where as well as an elevator to the different floors of rooms.

WE WILL BE BACK!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loru1588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This is a good hotel with nice rooms but it wasn't what we were looking for. We like relaxed, laid back atmosphere and nature. This hotel is far from that: people are drinking beer and drinks all day long, loud music playing on the background, spinning lessons at the gym (just can't understand why would anyone go to a spinning lesson when you have the caribbean sea and beautiful nature right next to you...?), a breakwater was built on top of the coral reef (!) > everything was kind of artificial.

Also the location was poor: the hotel is located at the end of the road and there are no restaurants or cafeterias close by. During day time there is s free shuttle to the city center. In the evening you need to take a taxi or rent a car to escape the hotel area. There are two restaurants at the hotel but you get bored to them after a while. There are also some bars at the beach but they were too noisy and crowded for us. I highly recommend the restaurant which is next to the sea aquarium (2mins from the hotel). It's an Italian place and it has an Italian cook - here you will get authentic and delicious Italian home cooking and the prices are quite low.

Also the diving operator was very touristy. They have a lot of people in the dive groups, and there is also someone in the group who has nearly no experience in diving. This means that they make only very easy dives, nothing special. They have a weekly diving programme, same places every week, and they don't take customers' wishes into account. If you want to dive at interesting sites and feel a bit of adventure, don't go here. I recommend diving with Curacao Dive Charters (http://divechartercuracao.com/), they will take you to places where the tourist driven diving operators won't.

If on the other hand, you enjoy lying on the beach and drinking daiquiris while listening to pop music, you might like this place. To us, it was too artificial. All in all, we liked Bonaire better; it's better for diving and you can enjoy the nature and its peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews