We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
vienna
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

we stayed 7 nights in lions dive and enjoyed it. check in was friendly and we quickly got our room. we booked standard garden view which means you do not have any beach view, but for us this is ok as we do not spend time in room unless for sleeping. we liked hemingways very much, nice food and drinks directly on the beach. that's what i expect when i come to the carribean. we also had breakfast there. so great sitting on the beach in the morning. good choice of bread and fresh made eggs. beach area is nice and clean , at our time plenty of place. we ate twice at nemos and liked it very much. we definitly can reccomend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gisi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    235
    59
    25
    10
See reviews for
170
254
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed at Lions Dive in January 2014 and enjoyed everything about my stay. Our room was located just above the lobby, with the door facing the parking lot, but it was not noisy and we could even see the ocean from our balcony. It was more of a hike to the beach area, but not bad and once we were at the beach we didn't need to go back to the room anyway. The resort was very clean and the beach is wonderful. We never once had trouble finding chairs on the beach, which surprised me, and grabbing a mojito from Hemmingway and then watching the sunset was a delightful way to spend each evening. We ate at all of the restaurants onsite. Lunch at Hemmingway was a bit disappointing, but it was an alright spot for a snack (we tried some traditional Dutch snacks a few times). We ate at Nemo twice and found it delicious for dinner. Mainly we ate at Piazza and fell in love with their pesto, calamari, pizzas and tomato soup. I would import that pesto if I could. We hung out at Hemmingway most evenings or wandered down the beach if there were parties going on. I also utilized the Dive Shop on site and spent several days out on boat dives. The shop was run very professionally and it was no problem to reschedule a morning of diving when we decided to go on another excursion instead. All in all I had a fantastic time at Lions Dive and hope to return soon. Only one thing was a bit strange: in all of our wandering of the property, we never managed to stumble upon the spa and fitness facility. We never asked, as we weren't concerned about it, we just found it amusing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We weren't staying at the resort but were looking for a beach to spend the day at while our ship was in port. this is a little walk down from Mambo beach where most people typically go but it was well worth the walk and the day fees for us to use it. Beautiful clear waters with OK snorkeling along the rocks. It was not crowded and the employees were very very friendly. I would come here in a heartbeat if I was to re-visit Curacao.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I took my family here in November . We had a poolside room. I was a little disappointed in the room as it didn't give us access to the pool, we had to walk around the the building to get to the pool. It wasn't a priority as I am here to be in the ocean not the pool!
The ocean was excellent as there is a lagoon in front of the beach, it was a man made wall that the wildlife was abundant , the beach where we stayed was a little rough on the feet but other sections were fine. There is other sections of beach but they were packed and this section was closer to our room, access was more important.
The meal were filling, we got the breakfast and dinner plans and left lunch out as we got groceries. There is a shuttle that will take you there and back, get there early as the bus fills up.The meals were great and the waits are typical of the Caribbean resorts, slow but there is no rush
I am a diver and I dove with Ocean Encounters. They are basically attached to the resort . The staff there was excellent as well.
Overall the whole resort and diving was excellent, I was able to do what I enjoyed and my wife and the kids were able to do what they wanted all in one place. the staff attended to our needs and the grounds were kept in pristine shape. I would go back as there was plants to do there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in November 2013. Had a beautiful room with seaview overlooking the beach. The service was excellent. Breakfast very good with a lot of choice and nice location on the beach. Other meals were ok, not haute quisine! Well located for tours and visits to the Capital of Willemstad. Recommended!

Room Tip: Take a room with sea view, on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salamaoegst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have been back almost two weeks from our vacation at Lions Dive. I have missed it daily and have taken to watching the live webcam of the beach there.

We had an ocean front suite which had an incredible balcony/veranda overlooking the ocean and beach and our favorite bar, the Chill!

What really MADE the stay there though were the people who made us feel so welcome. I would like to mention Dalies, the concierge, who could get you anything you wanted, the help (especially Cindy) at the Piazza restaurant where we often ordered our dinners to take back to our veranda and Najat who mainly worked the front desk but could also help you with anything.

The Chill Bar on the beach was wonderful. The two guys who seem to run it, make you feel special and serve wonderful drinks. Try the Mojitos and frozen Cappuccinos!

I would advise not to use the spa next door, The Santai Spa. The manager was the opposite of the staff at the Lions Dive. When we checked out of the hotel the Spa had billed us twice for our treatments then the next day added and extra $40.00. Luckily Lions Dive removed the extra charges from our bill.

Go to Lion's Dive! The people are wonderful!

Room Tip: We loved the one bedroom oceanfront suite. The balcony is where we lived.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlossomTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We visited the hotel for the second year now and again we had a great stay. Lots of space. The rooms are great. The beach is one of the best on Curacao. Lots of palm trees for some shade. More than enough beach beds. Free beach towels. Free wifi. Twice a day a shuttle to Willemstad.
The breakfast buffet (on the beach) gives the day a great start.
All of the staff are very, very friendly and helpfull.
Looking forward to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.3 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
2.3 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 31 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
3.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
3.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao

Property: Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Address: Bapor Kibra, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the longest white sandy beach of Curacao, just minutes away from the picturesque Dutch colonial city of Willemstad, is sportive 4* Lions Dive & Beach Resort. The resort offers every desired accommodation; a stay in a comfortable hotel room, with your family in a large apartment or a romantic stay in a suite or penthouse. For the sportive guest, the resort has a lot of opportunities: train in the 50 meter sports pool, discover the underwater world with diving school Ocean Encounters or a workout at Body Beach Wellness Club. Of course Lions Dive is also the place for a sun, sea and beachy holiday. Have a massage on our private beach or relax in the Santai Spa. Enjoy our culinary features at the 4 bars and restaurants in the resort. Or just walk to the next-door boulevard with various shops and restaurants. With the personal touch of management and staff, we will give you a real Caribbean Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Dive And Beach Resort Curacao
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Lions Dive Beach Hotel Curacao
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing