We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I had stayed at this hotel 20+ years ago with my family and had a wonderful time, but the recent reviews had me nervous about returning. I did anyway, and I am glad that I ignored them. This time, I went with 3 other well-travelled friends. The hotel is a 3-star hotel, that's what you pay for, and that's what you get, and a little more. The rooms and corridors were scrupulously clean. All the staff were friendly and helpful, - housekeeping, grounds, bar, cleaners and front desk, even the casino and the restaurant. Maintenance is ongoing and very obvious. The lagoon, beach, pool, gym and gardens are all well-kept. The one drawback - no brochure about the amenities at the hotel, like the microwave on upper level floors etc.. But the staff were quite happy to answer questions and advise. I have to wonder about the negative reviewers!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackbeauty1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    52
    52
    31
    49
See reviews for
50
51
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Wow, how a few years changes things. I lived at the Holiday Beach for almost three months back in 2005. It was not the greatest back then but not too bad. It doesn't look like they have fixed a single problem since I stayed there seven years ago. The bathroom was the worst. Our sink only had one knob, the cold water knob was broken off. The front of the vanity had screws sticking out with numerous holes in it were it looks like it was trial and error getting the face frame on. The water pressure was nonexistent. You had to stand right up next to the wall for the shower to reach you. We actually went one whole day with no water at all. The dive shop said that they did that whenever there was a cruise ship in port for some reason. Service was nonchalant with an “I don’t care” attitude. I know all the other review also said this but since I had been there before I assumed they were just exaggerated…not! For $130 a night I think I could have found better accommodations on the island. Now with that being said I think it is in a great location and the dive shop and the dive instructors are great! If you are like my wife and I and don’t plan on spending a lot of time in the room it is not the worst. They have a very good air conditioner and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

Valrico, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I can't even put into words how rude the staff was. They did their best to not even aknowledge you and when they had to interact with you I think Hitler himself would have been more agreeable. The place itself felt like your were visiting a third world country rather than a vacation destination. The rooms were moldy, the curtians had nasty stains on them, and the power even shut off when I plugged in my hair dryer. Even better when I was getting out of the shower to dry off I picked up what was a "folded clean towel" opened it and there was a piece of the past users discarded banana stuck to it. Thank God I looked first! I am suprised that there are not bed bugs too. I WOULD NOT EVEN USE THIS PLACE AS A HALF WAY HOUSE!!! IT FELT MORE LIKE HELL......

Room Tip: Don't pick the hotel at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here for a week because I had to(visiting my husband who's work made them stay here). Outside seems nice, but inside the rooms are disgusting and staff in the front is not too helpful. They have carpets in the hallways and elevators and they are never vacuumed(because they don't own any, true!). The hallways and the elevator(only took twice, took too long) smell most of the time. Very musty and uninviting with the leaks everywhere on the ceilings. Our room had very outdated amenities even though the website boasts "newly renovated", maybe they're talking about the coat of paint on the outside? The walls had mildew on them especially around the ac vents as well as the bathroom grout area where they tried to cover it with caulking. Shows through. Tile was in our room and the maids mop it, but they don't clean out the water so if your the last room to be mopped, good luck. I wore my shoes inside the entire time because my feet got so black on the bottoms the first day. Oh, and had a humidifier in our room, so that tells you something about the air flow. My husband had to empty it twice a day cause it fills up with water his entire stay. you shouldn't have to do that in a hotel. Oh, husband had ants there as well. I guess they took care of it, but that's just subpar accomodations. I'm glad i was only here a week. The beach area is nice, but that's like the only plus to the hotel. never got to try the pool becuase it opened the day i left, it looked alright as well. They have a restaurant by the pool area, foods not that great, and definitely nothing for vegetarians there. I guess they had decent beer buckets, but i would not stay here again for just those few pluses. Stay somewhere else, unless you're not a clean freak like myself. hope this helps.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The staff were not helpful one bit. My room was flooded which was a major inconvenience and when asking to be moved the management was extremely rude about it. The hotel needs a full refurbishment and the staff need customer service training.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ledge8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I recently had an extended stay at the Holiday Beach. I vacationed for more than a month here. If you are traveling to Curacao, you certainly need to look for lodging other than the HBH! Although the location is admirable, the hotel is in dire need of renovation. The walls have water leaks, the ceilings are deteriorating, and the rooms have mold! This is a 2 star hotel at best; only because of location. I hope the owners will renovate the HBH soon, because it has very good potential. Until then, steer clear!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doubled31326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Old and dated hotel. Some ants on the bathroom near the sink. Not really a place to relax.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.7 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
161 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 32 in Willemstad
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Plaza Hotel Curacao
#28 of 32 in Willemstad
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bayside Boutique Hotel
Bayside Boutique Hotel
#19 of 32 in Willemstad
68 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#20 of 32 in Willemstad
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino

Property: Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
Address: 31 Pater Euwensweg, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private beach, this Otrobanda resort is within a 15-minute walk of Curacao Museum, Renaissance Shopping Mall, and Rif Fort. Riffort Village and Queen Emma Bridge are also within 1 mi (2 km). Resort Features Spend the day relaxing on Holiday Beach Resort and Casino's private sand beach or at a casino before returning for a meal at one of the resort's 2 restaurants. Room Amenities All 108 rooms offer WiFi, balconies or patios, and TVs with cable channels. Guests will also find refrigerators, hair dryers, and safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Beach Hotel Willemstad
Holiday Beach Hotel And Casino Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing