We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REPULSIVE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I can't even put into words how rude the staff was. They did their best to not even aknowledge you and when they had to interact with you I think Hitler himself would have been more agreeable. The place itself felt like your were visiting a third world country rather than a vacation destination. The rooms were moldy, the curtians had nasty stains on them, and the power even shut off when I plugged in my hair dryer. Even better when I was getting out of the shower to dry off I picked up what was a "folded clean towel" opened it and there was a piece of the past users discarded banana stuck to it. Thank God I looked first! I am suprised that there are not bed bugs too. I WOULD NOT EVEN USE THIS PLACE AS A HALF WAY HOUSE!!! IT FELT MORE LIKE HELL......

Room Tip: Don't pick the hotel at all.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 210 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here for a week because I had to(visiting my husband who's work made them stay here). Outside seems nice, but inside the rooms are disgusting and staff in the front is not too helpful. They have carpets in the hallways and elevators and they are never vacuumed(because they don't own any, true!). The hallways and the elevator(only took twice, took too long) smell most of the time. Very musty and uninviting with the leaks everywhere on the ceilings. Our room had very outdated amenities even though the website boasts "newly renovated", maybe they're talking about the coat of paint on the outside? The walls had mildew on them especially around the ac vents as well as the bathroom grout area where they tried to cover it with caulking. Shows through. Tile was in our room and the maids mop it, but they don't clean out the water so if your the last room to be mopped, good luck. I wore my shoes inside the entire time because my feet got so black on the bottoms the first day. Oh, and had a humidifier in our room, so that tells you something about the air flow. My husband had to empty it twice a day cause it fills up with water his entire stay. you shouldn't have to do that in a hotel. Oh, husband had ants there as well. I guess they took care of it, but that's just subpar accomodations. I'm glad i was only here a week. The beach area is nice, but that's like the only plus to the hotel. never got to try the pool becuase it opened the day i left, it looked alright as well. They have a restaurant by the pool area, foods not that great, and definitely nothing for vegetarians there. I guess they had decent beer buckets, but i would not stay here again for just those few pluses. Stay somewhere else, unless you're not a clean freak like myself. hope this helps.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The staff were not helpful one bit. My room was flooded which was a major inconvenience and when asking to be moved the management was extremely rude about it. The hotel needs a full refurbishment and the staff need customer service training.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ledge8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I recently had an extended stay at the Holiday Beach. I vacationed for more than a month here. If you are traveling to Curacao, you certainly need to look for lodging other than the HBH! Although the location is admirable, the hotel is in dire need of renovation. The walls have water leaks, the ceilings are deteriorating, and the rooms have mold! This is a 2 star hotel at best; only because of location. I hope the owners will renovate the HBH soon, because it has very good potential. Until then, steer clear!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank doubled31326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Old and dated hotel. Some ants on the bathroom near the sink. Not really a place to relax.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I would rather stay in a card board box on a public beach than stay here again. Save your money go somewhere else. Service is rude and horrible with small exceptions. Dirty, moldy, etc. Never had respiratory problems until staying here. Will do anything to take your buck without giving you anything in return. A smile would even be a welcome change and they are free.

Room Tip: Go to the Mariott
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Tip to management. CLEAN YOUR POOL! Things I found swimming with me within 10 minutes of going in the pool:

1. Ball of Pubic Hair (not mine)
2. Empty Plastic Cup
3. 3 Huge dead insects
4. Strange "particulates"
5. A Straw.
6. Hordes of locals from the surrounding poor neighborhood. (This hotel lets them come in all day. It's like the local public pool for them.)

I got out, and never went back. I thought about it a couple times, then took a quick look at the water and nothing had changed, in weeks!

Tip to everyone else. STAY AWAY! The pictures of the gym from the website are lies. 90% of the equipment is in extreme disrepair. The hotel smells like mold and sweat. It's location, while within walking distance of downtown, is surrounded by area you wouldn't want to walk through to get to downtown. The tap water tastes like "fart", and the shower alternates between scalding hot and freezing cold every 15 seconds or so. The price they are charging is an absolute joke. Spend the extra $15.00 and stay at the Marriott, it's much nicer.
The only reason this hotel is still in business is a large "contract" that fills their rooms with people who have no other choice but to stay there. (I was one of them.) We are currently starting a petition to get our contract changed due to the lack of safety. One person was attacked by one of the many locals that hang out on the property with no provocation. Again I urge you to put this place out of its misery, spend a little bit of extra money, or in many cases the same price, and stay at the Marriott, Renaissance, Hilton, HoJo, ect... You will have a much better stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JuanTrippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.7 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
196 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bayside Boutique Hotel
Bayside Boutique Hotel
#20 of 32 in Willemstad
70 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 32 in Willemstad
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
99 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao
1.3 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#18 of 32 in Willemstad
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino

Address: 31 Pater Euwensweg, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $61 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private beach, this Otrobanda resort is within a 15-minute walk of Curacao Museum, Renaissance Shopping Mall, and Rif Fort. Riffort Village and Queen Emma Bridge are also within 1 mi (2 km). Resort Features Spend the day relaxing on Holiday Beach Resort and Casino's private sand beach or at a casino before returning for a meal at one of the resort's 2 restaurants. Room Amenities All 108 rooms offer WiFi, balconies or patios, and TVs with cable channels. Guests will also find refrigerators, hair dryers, and safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Beach Hotel Willemstad
Holiday Beach Hotel And Casino Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing