We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel is nice from the outside. Inside is was totally disgusting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel is nice from the outside. Inside is was totally disgusting!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

The staff were not helpful one bit. My room was flooded which was a major inconvenience and when asking to be moved the management was extremely rude about it. The hotel needs a full refurbishment and the staff need customer service training.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ledge8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    48
    51
    31
    48
See reviews for
49
49
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rincon, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

I recently had an extended stay at the Holiday Beach. I vacationed for more than a month here. If you are traveling to Curacao, you certainly need to look for lodging other than the HBH! Although the location is admirable, the hotel is in dire need of renovation. The walls have water leaks, the ceilings are deteriorating, and the rooms have mold! This is a 2 star hotel at best; only because of location. I hope the owners will renovate the HBH soon, because it has very good potential. Until then, steer clear!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doubled31326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

Tiel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Old and dated hotel. Some ants on the bathroom near the sink. Not really a place to relax.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

I would rather stay in a card board box on a public beach than stay here again. Save your money go somewhere else. Service is rude and horrible with small exceptions. Dirty, moldy, etc. Never had respiratory problems until staying here. Will do anything to take your buck without giving you anything in return. A smile would even be a welcome change and they are free.

Room Tip: Go to the Mariott
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Tip to management. CLEAN YOUR POOL! Things I found swimming with me within 10 minutes of going in the pool:

1. Ball of Pubic Hair (not mine)
2. Empty Plastic Cup
3. 3 Huge dead insects
4. Strange "particulates"
5. A Straw.
6. Hordes of locals from the surrounding poor neighborhood. (This hotel lets them come in all day. It's like the local public pool for them.)

I got out, and never went back. I thought about it a couple times, then took a quick look at the water and nothing had changed, in weeks!

Tip to everyone else. STAY AWAY! The pictures of the gym from the website are lies. 90% of the equipment is in extreme disrepair. The hotel smells like mold and sweat. It's location, while within walking distance of downtown, is surrounded by area you wouldn't want to walk through to get to downtown. The tap water tastes like "fart", and the shower alternates between scalding hot and freezing cold every 15 seconds or so. The price they are charging is an absolute joke. Spend the extra $15.00 and stay at the Marriott, it's much nicer.
The only reason this hotel is still in business is a large "contract" that fills their rooms with people who have no other choice but to stay there. (I was one of them.) We are currently starting a petition to get our contract changed due to the lack of safety. One person was attacked by one of the many locals that hang out on the property with no provocation. Again I urge you to put this place out of its misery, spend a little bit of extra money, or in many cases the same price, and stay at the Marriott, Renaissance, Hilton, HoJo, ect... You will have a much better stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JuanTrippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

we are local people that stay there every 2 months tis was my fifth time , i was great but can be beter , my bathroom mas dirty and i think the front desk service is poor , and the maintenance is really slow yesterday we had no light how come a hotel without light and generator??? what a experience !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We were a group of friends who stayed at the Holiday Beach Resort, Curacao in the month of May, 2011.

Prior to our stay we looked at Trip Advisor for reviews from guests who had recently stayed at the property. From what was read, a lot of it was negative. Despite this we threw caution out the window and prepared ourselves to experience the Holiday Beach Resort head on.

It took us fifteen minutes to get to the hotel from the airport. We hired a taxi from the taxi station and it cost $20.00US total for the four of us.

The ride from the airport to the hotel was pleasant and very scenic.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were delighted to see how beautiful the outside physical appearance of the hotel is.

Upon entry, the bellhop quickly gathered our ton of suitcases and took them inside to the lobby/reception area. We were then escorted to the front desk.

Check in was quick and simple and we were greeted by some of the most beautiful and charming young ladies. One of them who stood out most to us was Suzette. She was always smiling and pleasant and gave us all such a warm and hearty welcome.

We were given our individual electronic room keys and the bellhop further escorted us to the elevator to take us to our rooms.

Upon entry to the room, we immediately noticed how well appointed the rooms were. Each had two queen size beds and oh so comfortable!

There is ample storage space for clothes and personal belongings. AC worked well and the bathroom was clean and functioned well.

Chamber maids were efficient and cleaned our rooms and changed all the lines every morning. There was never an instance where we had to look for clean towels or request room cleaning service.

We were also given rooms which overlooked the pool and garden area. Very nice view indeed! Although we didn’t really have much time to go onto the balcony area, it was still nice that it existed.

The hotel has a pool, a huge one at that! And it was very clean during our entire stay. Pool towels are readily available and are quite plush! There is also a gym adjacent to the pool and the equipment was new and functioned well. The restaurant and bar is also not too far away from this area and this is where we had breakfast at $14.00US per person. Each morning we would go down to the restaurant, pay our money and enjoy a sumptuous buffet breakfast!

The Hotel has a Casino, games room and a convenience store. There is also a Denny’s fast food outlet on compound that serves delicious American meals. We ate there several times. The food is great! Ask for Carlos or Zulaika!

The hotel is very close to Otrabanda and Punda. It is about 10 minutes walk along a shaded path to the city from the hotel. We never felt afraid or threatened walking to and from the city/hotel. Although we didn’t really venture out too late, just to be careful. There is also a complimentary shuttle service to and from the hotel to the city at scheduled times during the day!

Shopping in Otrabanda/Punda is great! But the designer stores are quite expensive, especially the shops located at the Renaissance Mall. But the quality is fantastic and the options endless!

Overall, we had a wonderful time at the Holiday Beach Resort. We cannot find any faults that would warrant a negative comment.

Thank you to the management and staff of Holiday Beach resort for a beautiful holiday and we look forward to another visit very soon! Bon Beni!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SpiceBoyVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.7 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#23 of 32 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Plaza Hotel Curacao
#28 of 32 in Willemstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#18 of 32 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bayside Boutique Hotel
Bayside Boutique Hotel
#19 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino

Property: Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
Address: 31 Pater Euwensweg, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private beach, this Otrobanda resort is within a 15-minute walk of Curacao Museum, Renaissance Shopping Mall, and Rif Fort. Riffort Village and Queen Emma Bridge are also within 1 mi (2 km). Resort Features Spend the day relaxing on Holiday Beach Resort and Casino's private sand beach or at a casino before returning for a meal at one of the resort's 2 restaurants. Room Amenities All 108 rooms offer WiFi, balconies or patios, and TVs with cable channels. Guests will also find refrigerators, hair dryers, and safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Beach Hotel Willemstad
Holiday Beach Hotel And Casino Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing