We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip Curacao”
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Hotel is over priced and far below its ratings.
Rooms are clean and food is great, no more nice words to say.

Personnel not up to their tasks. Service doesnt meet their premium image. American tourist who expects service wont stay nor ever come back. When we entered our two bedroom suite, there was one bathrobe and three towels to start with - family of 4. After second request on second day of stay we finally got right number of towels and robes. Personnel messed three times our dinner reservations, etc...

If your interest is not Gym or beach, there is absolutely nothing to do in the hotel area.
When you leave the hotel area, there is no place to walk because hotel is located in the middle of lowest class suburb.

After visiting Aruba few years ago, Curacao was very disapointing. It seems that at least few decades of depression has hit the island. Everything is in very neglegted condition. Many well advertised tourist sites and companys have disappeared in the wilderness. After driving around the island for a week, there isnt actually much to see, except bushes and cactus taking over and lots of waste and rubbish everywhere.

Downtown Willemstadt has a few blocks small area with nice staging for cruise ship tourists. If you walk two blocks further, reality shocks.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaRep, Public Relations Manager at Avila Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

We are truly sorry that the guest did not like his stay at the Avila Hotel and the island of Curacao overall. The guest did have a conversation and interaction with our sales & marketing manager while at the hotel and had not expressed such observations to him. We go to great pains to position ourselves as a coastal sanctuary for guests who want to vacation and relax in peaceful surroundings without casinos, watersports operations, kids play areas, etc. Hence why we offer a beautiful quiet beach experience and one of the top gyms and spas on the island. The hotel and Curacao are probably not a good match for this guest.

Curacao is being re-discovered by American travelers over the last couple of years. The visitor statistics out of the USA are up dramatically for 2010 and year-to-date 2011 Curacao is outperforming other Caribbean islands out of the American market. Avila Hotel is also enjoying a nice increase in American guests and is consistently rated as one of the top hotels in Willemstad by Trip Advisor contributors which are by far American.

Since a comparison is drawn up with Aruba, we want to point out that Curacao is by far a more historical island then Aruba and with that comes the fact that there are many old buildings in various stages of disrepair, many are clustered throughout the downtown area. It takes time and money to rehabilitate them and the task is enormous but ongoing under the guidance of the Stichting Monumentenzorg Curaçao (Monument Upkeep Foundation Curaçao) as well as several private initiatives. Willemstad also has the distinction of being on the UNESCO world heritage list…a designation it shares with places around the world such as the Taj Mahal and the great wall of China. The condition of these old historical buildings are not connected with economic depression. Curacao is doing well economically and has done so for quite a while.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2011

Nice location with beach and snorkeling reef just off the beach. Avoid the restaurants, they are really good ones just outside. Good rooms in the Octagon wing with nice sea views.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPaul747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We spent a week at the Avila Hotel, and we really enjoyed it. After some difficulties reaching the US office for booking, Sam Kaluf was very attentive and made sure that every detail of our trip was taken care of. Our room was very comfortable, the pool was marvelous. Swimming out just a few meters off the beach we saw some incredible wildlife in the sea. The place is well-taken care of, and staff was always accessible and usually helpful.

Make sure to try the Wine Cellar Restaurant, which is very close by, with excellent food and service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matverna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed in Avila's blues wing for a week, with a moderate (wooden) room with excellent seaview. Rooms need 2be renovated and less noisy (due to wooden construction), especially during sex :-))
However the hotel is a great location to walk down town or explore the island. Finally the hotel's staff is very kind and helpfull. We will be back this March!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcdejong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Very close to the city center of Willemstad. Private beach & (small) swimmingpool. Biggest complaint was the fact we got a groundfloor room (108) in the blueswing. When we got vistors above us the noise was unbearable and we couldn't sleep anymore. Make sure you get a room on the TOP floor!! Don't accept a room on the groundfloor of the blueswing!!! The rooms in the Blues Wing are beautifully located but made out of wood and very noisey. The rooms are ok but not very luxurious. Seaview is great! To rent a car on the island is essential. Avila beach is not immediate walking distance from other nice restaurants. It's not very safe to walk around at nighttime in the city. In the resort it's safe but lock away your valuables. Perfect for children. Beach is small but very nice and with free beds. Free towels. Blues restaurant serves excellent spareribs. Breakfastbuffet was good! Free internet in the room (wired) and free in the lobby (wireless). Good service, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikaLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Avila Hotel this past April during a week-long vacation in Curacao. We loved this hotel. Our room in the Octagon wing was bright and clean with a lovely view of the ocean. I swam every day at the beach and we both enjoyed the outdoor dining. What I liked most of all, was the European feel of the place. Most of the visitors are Dutch, with a sprinkling of American visitors, and the multicultural staff moves easily back and forth between Dutch, English and Papimiento (the native tongue). There was also a nice representation of same sex couples, which made us feel welcome, but not isolated in a gay-only resort. If you're looking for an elegant, but relaxed and unpretentious hotel, the Avila is for you. The other advantage of the Avila is that you're within close range to Willemstad for dining and shopping and there is a good selection of restaurants in town. We both like to walk and were comfortable walking from the hotel into town, however, the area did not appear safe at night, so we took cabs home. The area around the Avila is on the urban, gritty side. However, it is also full of old, Dutch-Caribbean homes with beautiful architecture, many of which are being gentrified. We were fascinated by some of the renovations being done. My guess is that five years from now, the neighborhood will look very different. The other thing we did was to rent a car, which was well worth it for seeing the northern part of the island, which has many beautiful beaches. We also went to dinner one night at Landhuis Daniel, which is about a half hour drive outside of Willemsted. It was tricky to find, but well worth it. The restaurant is in an old Dutch "land house" off a dusty road. It looks like nothing, but the menu and food were wonderful, and again, the staff were completely multicultural moving back and forth across multiple languages to accommodate the variety of diners present. Overall, we really enjoyed Curacao and the Avila and would definitely return for another vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We recently stayed at The Avila Beach Hotel and we had a wonderful time. Our octagon room was large, modern and very nicely furnished....somewhat of a W Hotel look meets clean Danish design!! We specifically chose the Avila Hotel for being more of a European/Dutch style hotel on the island compared to the usual Marriotts, Hiltons and Hyatts which are also present. Consider us perhaps more adventurous however we love meeting people from other parts of the world on our travels and we had no problem engaging into great conversations with other guests on the beach, at the pool or at happy hour. In fact, we have made several new friends from our stay at The Avila. The Dutch are very multi-lingual and have no problem conversing in English over a cocktail or dinner.
Our room had wonderful ocean views and the house keeping staff was very friendly and detailed. The AC controls took a little to figure out, but once we had some help from the staff all was well. Internet access was complimentary and I was able to go online with no problems…..not good since I was on vacation and could check in with my office! My other half liked our king bed in particular. He has a bad back and the mattress was very supportive and comfortable.
We are usually not hotel food people however the Avila restaurants are very good. They provided a great opportunity to try some typical Curacao fare during the Antillean night dinner. The breakfast buffet was quite good and comprehensive. We really enjoyed the open air dining at all the restaurants...very nice! Prices were a bit on the high side, however nothing out of line compared to other Caribbean destinations we have been too. The hotel is also surrounded by some great restaurants offering a gamut of cuisines. We particular liked Fishalicous which was an easy walk from the hotel.
Overall this is a refreshingly different and unique hotel. We travel a lot for business and stay in a lot of chain hotels and they have become predictable and borderline boring. The Avila Hotel ranks very high in our book compared to the many Caribbean resorts we have enjoyed over the years.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
1.9 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
663 reviews
1.6 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
4.9 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
444 reviews
5.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $177 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing