We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Absolutely Breathtaking Hotel! Avoid the Breakfast Buffet...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Ear Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely Breathtaking Hotel! Avoid the Breakfast Buffet...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Be forewarned, this will be longwinded!

We spent 6 nights at the Avila Hotel at the beginning of April 2014. This was our first experience ever being in the Caribbean and I was just blown away at how beautiful this hotel is. Right from the lobby, up to our room. I absolutely loved nearly everything about this hotel.

We stayed in the Blues wing in room 291 and the views from this room are absolutely dynamo. This room is at the very end of the pier on the upper floor, is big, super private and has an amazing unobstructed view of the ocean. This room had a private balcony with two loungers and we spent quite a lot of time just enjoying the view. It did start to get absolutely sweltering as the sun started to crest, but that's no fault of the hotel. The room itself is somewhat dated, but still very comfortable. It features both European and North American outlets throughout the main room, but only European in the bathroom. My only issue with the room(and it's a small issue) is that the bathroom is a little dingy. It's not outright gross, but it could use a spring cleaning and retiling as there were a few broken shower tiles. This isn't enough to overrule how amazing the rest of the room is. Also, the room always felt a little bit damp and it was hard to dry our swim suits and towels.

Our first night we didn't get to the hotel until nearly 8:00pm, so we dined at the Blues Bar. I had no idea what a Pincho was, but our server was super friendly and had no qualms about answering all of my naïve questions about the local fare. Needless to say, my assorted meat Pincho was so succulent and tasty. I recommend at least one visit to this restaurant.

Our first morning we explored the hotel grounds. Colourful crabs adorn the pier behind the Blues Restaurant and it was amusing to watch them scuttle around. The grounds are well manicured, beaches are always clean. The size of the crowd at the beach ebb and flowed but we found that no matter what time we hit the beach, there was always a couple of free chairs. There are those selfish people who "hold" chairs with their towels all day, but those are the minority.

My Fiancé also surprised me with dinner on the beach on the Belle Terrace side. There was an issue with our reservation at first in which they booked us on a date that they couldn't facilitate due to a fancy Italian guest chef cooking at the restaurant that night. But, they were very helpful in accommodating us on a different night. Now, it is pricy, but so beautiful. They set out a blanket on the beach with a squat table and pillows all around it and surrounded by small potted torches. Super romantic. Our server (I really wish I could remember his name, I think he may have been the Manager??) was absolutely amazing. He explained every dish to us in detail and the chef prepared every course special for us. So delicious. You really felt like royalty being out there by yourself having so much attention paid to you and your meal. It was great.

I WOULD AVOID THE BREAKFAST BUFFET IF AT ALL POSSIBLE!!! Don't bother paying the extra to have it included with your room. It's super expensive and it was a horrible experience. The guests were super pushy and rude and it was incredibly busy. We got there about 8:00am and all that was there were scraps. The second more food was brought out, the guests were all over it like vultures. I was able to round up a croissant, bacon, and some pancake scraps...The food was just kind of "meh". What you'd expect of a crazy busy breakfast buffet. We did this once and decided that for $22 per person, we could find somewhere better to eat in the morning (Which we did, amazing cafes just down the street in Punda. Pleincafe Wilhelmina, go there!)

We felt super safe the entire stay of our trip. There was security at the front of the hotel entrance to the lobby at all hours. We went into Punda and Otrobanda every single day and we always walked everywhere. Our first few nights we took the advice of the front desk staff and took a taxi home after dark, but as we became more accustomed to the area we started to walk back to the hotel in the evening. We felt very safe even if the hotel is on a dark seaside street. The few people we met on the street were other tourists, or locals going about their own business. I'm not saying to go ahead and walk home after dark. I'm just saying that we did, and we felt ok to do so.

I really recommend getting off the hotel and going to explore. Rent a car and drive around the island to really experience the place. When we go back we will rent a car for a couple more days. Perhaps from the Airport, as our experience with the Budget Car rental at the hotel was not positive. We dealt with 2 different women on two different days and neither of them seemed like they were super keen on being there or renting us a car and we felt rushed the whole time. I don't think they work for Avila hotel, but rather for Budget, so no fault to the hotel.

We are already planning our next trip to Curacao for April 2015, and you can guarantee that we will be staying at the Avila again. We've already done the Blues wing, so I'm excited to see what the Octagon Wing has to offer as I've heard it's new and quite modern. I CAN'T WAIT!

Room Tip: Blues Room 291 is top floor at the end of the Pier. Gorgeous and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaHotelCuracao, Public Relations Manager at Avila Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Kathy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review. We always appreciate receiving reviews in order to stay focused and learn all about our guest experience to work on improvement.

We are pleased to hear that you were blown away by the Avila Hotel. We do our utmost to keep improving on our hotel and service. You mentioned your love for our Blues wing. We are happy to share the news that all 20 rooms in our Blues wing have been renovated, with a strong focus on the bathrooms and will be re-opening next week.

We were sorry to read about your breakfast experience in the Avila Cafe. Our breakfast buffet is very popular for a lot of our hotel guests, so when the hotel is fully booked like it was during your stay in April, it can be busy particularly around 8:00 AM when it is peak hour. Of course we try to keep track of the amount of items on our breakfast buffet closely, but we will share this feedback with our breakfast crew. Besides this, we extended our breakfast time, also in order to relieve the peak hour a little more.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Avila Hotel next year and suggest you tryout our new Blues wing rooms. Thank you once more for submitting your valuable review and for staying at the Avila Hotel!


Sunny regards from the entire Avila Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    328
    95
    47
    23
See reviews for
142
559
44
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was a nice hotel. It wasn't fancy, but the views were awesome. We had a deck that we sat out on in the mornings and watched hermit crabs and iguanas in the breeze. Our rooms was at the end of the property, leading out to the ocean. They had pretty good restaurants and the hotel was a 15 to 20 minute walk to downtown or a quick cab ride. The only bad thing was it wasn't in the best neighborhood, I wouldn't advise walking to/from at night. You should be ok in during the day. They did have free wifi and provided outlet converters for our electronics.

Room Tip: as for rooms on the exterior of the property, facing or on the water for the evening views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmith2k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Beautiful resort with little own beach. Very very nice staff and service. Excellent food. Restaurant above the Caribbean Ocean. What a great view to start a day. Loved the bungalow we stayed at, loved this holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatjaKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I've been to Curacao 4 times and I always stay at the Avila. Just a beautiful and relaxing hotel with fantastic amenities. Lush landscape, great snorkeling, marvelous view, pool, spa, gym, restaurants within the hotel as well as walking distance, centrally located and more importantly the people throughout the hotel are wonderful, always greeted with a smile and very helpful. Fantastisch!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRQSeahag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is by far one of the best hotels in the world. Interestingly affordable too! The service, the views, the food, the atmosphere - truly amazing. Breakfast on the beach everyday. They have an amazing jazz/reggae club that sits on top of the water in their private beach. The music is jamming. You never even have to leave the hotel to explore the rest of the island. We did, and enjoyed it, but in truth we never needed to... Already planning a return trip. Also, the dollar is strong there. FYI, the dutch royal family stays here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grazer-Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Recently we made our first trip to Curacao. After researching locations on line we decided to stay at the Avila. We loved the resort. The location was beautiful, the beaches were great. The Avila staff was outstanding. They were all very friendly and helpful. The Avila provides a nice shuttle into the city, twice a day. But if you decide to stay in town to watch the sunset, boat traffic and the Queen Emma Bridge light up it is a reasonable walk back to the hotel. The Avila offers 4 restaurants for guests to choose from. Our favorite dinner was at the Blues on their Blues/Jazz night with live music. The food was outstanding and the atmosphere was great. We also ate at the Pool Bar a couple of times and the food was also very good. If you want to go to a local restaruant you can take a short walk to Rozendale's just down the street. Not only was the location outstanding, the amenities were great, the staff was wonderful but we also really enjoyed the other guests. People were friendly and kind. We would definitely stay at The Avila again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Octagon Wing room 411. We had a nice view of the ocean & garden. The Blues Wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NancyMN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed with my Cuban-american family last month for 2 weeks in Curacao, at the Avila the hotel has a very cozy feeling,not too big and very classy, The staff which speaks at least four languages is the best asset of the hotel, professional, friendly and very helpfull specially when you are travelling with kids. It has a very tranquil and clean and social atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edsel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
1.6 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Property: Avila Beach Hotel
Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing