We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of tranquility”
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

First time at Avila - but not the last. This hotel offers a great variety of relaxing areas in a well-designed use of space. There are a number of beach areas although the waterfront area is not expansive. Turquoise water sparkles at each although each has its own uniqueness. The Pool area is another option for afternoon relaxing water. Interspersed are courtyards, and interment seating arrangements give a sense of privacy for small gatherings.

It is a lo-key social feeling where we were comfortable keeping to ourselves when we chose to. We also found wonderful conversations with a very diverse group of guests from all over the world. The respect for privacy mixed with the familiarity of good service is reflected throughout the staff.

There are many options of entertainment and relaxing right at the hotel, but if you want more, you are only minutes from the city of Willemstad. An oasis like this is a beautiful thing to find when escaping the New England Cold! Thanks to all.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank jan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
There are newer reviews for Avila Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at the Avila Hotel from November 10 to November 17th, 2013. The 'common areas' of the hotel were beautiful, as were the grounds. Our room was in the 'Blues Wing', a wooden structure which juts out onto the ocean. The Avila was extremely accommodating, in putting us in the exact room we requested - one looking directly out onto the ocean, and surrounded on three sides by water. The room itself was in need of some major updates, and a bit of a 'facelift'. Just to mention one, the pillows were probably the worst we have come across - not just foam, but bad foam pillows. Room service was also 'touch and go'. One night, the bed had been made up, but was lacking a 'top sheet'. The room was totally missed about 3 out of the 7 days we were there.
One other 'slight annoyance', was the shortage of hot water for a morning shower. The staff were wonderful; friendly, helpful, and not afraid to joke around with you. As for the vast majority of the guests at the hotel, we found them to be extremely unfriendly, and often extremely rude. The food was amazing, although we found it difficult to find anything substantial to eat outside of the regular dining times, once either of the two restaurants had closed. We don't have any children, but it didn't appear to be a 'family' type of resort. Attractions outside of the hotel area seemed limited. We were excited to visit the Dolphin Academy - perhaps our expectations were a bit too high. If you are wanting to swim with the dolphins, scuba dive, or take the 5-man submarine excursion (at $699/person), you will likely enjoy the Aquarium. If like us, you are planning to visit simply to see the 'aquarium' portion, you will likely be very disappointed. There is really very little to see. Of what there is, the tanks looked poorly maintained and unappealing.
Once excursion we thoroughly enjoyed was a tour of the 'Hato Caves'. The main section of Willemstad, where the cruise ships dock, and the 'postcard' view of the coloured buildings is spectacular, is well worth the short shuttle ride from the hotel. All in all, if you enjoy spending your time on a beach, are a bit of a 'foodie', enjoy snorkelling, and are simply looking for a relaxing vacation, I would highly recommend this hotel. Although the 'Blues Wing' rooms sound very tempting due to their location, I would suggest that you take a look at some of the more updated rooms in the main buildings.

Room Tip: If you are planning to stay in the Blues Wing, a room facing the ocean, actually faces West. Althou...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winstonsmydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have stayed in many hotels around the world. I had never seen a hotel with a bathroom in the middle of the sleeping room. There is a foggy glass separating the bed from the bathroom. You can actually watch the other person (if you are a couple or sharing a room) going to bathroom. Beach area is small, swimming pool looks like a backyard pool, surrounded with cheap deck material. There are many nice hotels in Curacao. Avila is not one of them. Service extremely slow. I would never go back.
Price is extremely high for the value you get.

Room Tip: ask for Blues section
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yuruk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have been coming to Curacao for over 20yrs, but somehow I never stayed at Avila. This time it was booked for me and I enjoyed it tremendously. Great location, great facilities but what struck me most was the friendly and professional staff. Probably the best hotel on the island..

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Sanderholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This trip really was fantastic. Perfect weather, 86 degrees with ocean breezes every day. A few sprinkles every day, too, but you just went and stood under a palapa for five minutes and it passed. The Blues Rooms literally overlooked the ocean, and while they were not as new and updated as the Octagon rooms, they were large, had good beds, good A/C and gorgeous views. Apparently, the Octagon Wing rooms are newer and don’t have the tired tiles of the Blues and such, but are also much smaller and they don’t have nice views, that we could see. In fact, if you do go Octagon, apparently there is a huge size difference from deluxe to superior. We heard a gent in a deluxe requesting a new room because he couldn't walk around his suitcases!

The resort was very Dutch. In fact, several Dutch movie stars, soccer players and the president of KLM were staying there at the same time! This is definitely more of a couples/older families spot--not little kids. The beach was small, but lovely and well protected, with warm ocean water in their bay. It was so fun to float in the salt water and we could snorkel and see pretty fish. Lots of beach chairs, and good size to the resort made it seem not overcrowded. The work out center was really terrific, with modern equipment and gorgeous views of dolphins jumping in the ocean from the windows. I never looked at the TVs!

Food at the hotel was good, but more expensive than it should be, we thought. A little kitchenette set-up in our room, and a frig made it easy to buy breakfast and lunch things, if we wanted to economize a bit. Honestly, a $25 breakfast in the heat is so not necessary either. Nice "Blues" jazz club at the end of the hotel pier for evenings. Food was always on island time, so you just needed to sit back and relax.

We really adored Curacao, too. Great walking city, and fabulous restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Also, a very easy walk into town, and over the Floating Bridge. View the cruise ship schedules--nice to avoid the huge egress into the town! It was nice to have a rental car that we picked up at the airport for golf, driving around the island to find secluded beaches and flamingos, go up to Westpunt, etc. We drove to great golfing at the Santa Barbara resort, The Old Quarry. Looks like Cabo. That resort was quite far off the beaten path, so we were glad not to be staying there. Very big, American-style resort, and when we went there, lots of complaining voices that give Americans a bad name.

Youngest daughter had a really bad reaction to a mosquito bite, literally as we were checking in. Her foot and leg swelled, requiring a visit from a local doctor. Incidentally, she just does have these allergic reactions, there is nothing particularly toxic about the version here, and frankly I never even saw more than one mosquito myself) The hotel staff was super about making arrangements, helping us with directions, and general suggestions.

I would highly recommend Curacao, and this hotel. It was a super vacation.

Room Tip: Choose Octagon Superior if you want bigger and newer. Ask for the Blue Rooms on the second floor at...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dreytuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed at The Avila on business for five days -- in the old section, with an incredible number of very cranky Dutch guests (not just cranky, unpleasant at best) and a mixed bag of staff
One of the front desk team was excellent and very helpful the rest were not
The internet is spotty except for the lobby area, the rooms have none even with a wireless router and talking about the rooms, well in the old section they need refurbishing badly
The food is okay -- I was sick most of the week with a flu bug so dragged myself out of my room to eat something each night only to be greeted by rude guests, staff who kinda cared and mediocre food -- was glad to leave at the end of the week
What struck me the most was that most hotels that I have stayed at on business after a couple of days they get to know you and chat -- not so here -- very sad

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kerryharrismail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

...staying in Avila was allready a big present for my 50th birthday.
Great hotel, 3 private beaches, friendly, smiling service, good food, excellent prices made this stay unforgetable.
At my 50th birthday, the hotel gave me a nice bottle red wine presented on the room as birthday gift.
The room we had was great, big, kingsize bed, only the pillows could be more comfortable.

Breakfast is a dream..sitting outside with sight over the sea..watching the small kolibris.....
I would heardly recomand this hotel, 15 min. walk from citycenter, no taxi needed (during the day).
Budgetcar rental service available in the hotellobby.
By checkout, at 12.00, room available by late flights to take a shower or just to refresh.

Room Tip: ask foor rooms in the leftside wing, new modern concipated rooms, with marvelous sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frits S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
1.9 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
654 reviews
1.6 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
4.9 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
441 reviews
5.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $169 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing