We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It's a beautiful resort, but I'm not sure that I'd return” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's a beautiful resort, but I'm not sure that I'd return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed at the Fairmont Orchid in Hawaii over Thanksgiving, so comparisons couldn't be helped. Some of the staff here is friendly, but mostly they're surly or unhappy, and I think maybe much of it has to do with the unhappy, dour priggishness of the many Dutch travelers who frequent the hotel. I've never known the Dutch to be so unpleasant, but our experience here is that they keep to their own families, don't relate well with others, they rise early to claim all the best palapas with their belongings, only to leave the palapas unattended for many hours. Of course many Americans exhibit this same rude behavior, but we don't frequent places where they go.

The resort is supposed to be gay friendly, but as far as we can tell, we're the only gay couple, and some of the clientele have been surly when they've figured out that we're a couple.

The old section of the hotel is in need of repair. Our first room was dirty. The counters hadn't been completely clean, the tile grout was filthy, and the stucco on our deck was festooned with rust stains. The furnishings were flimsy and ill conceived. Far different from the rattan furnishings shown in the photos of the suite.

We asked to be moved to the Octogon section which was much much nicer, but for $500 a night, it was small.

Don't bother with the breakfast. It's $20 per person and many of the hot items are cool. The guests are piggish, making a mess and the staff doesn't keep up with it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    328
    95
    47
    23
See reviews for
142
560
44
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed at Avila for a week's holiday. Booked a room in the "Blues Wing" on the pier. Room had a nice view, however it could use some maintenance. That goes for all of the Avila Hotel. I think it is not worth of 4 stars. Breakfast, snacks and meals are just okay, nothing special. The staff at the frontdesk is friendly and helpful. The staff in the bars and restaurants are friendly but that's about it. They don't go out of their way to see you have a good time.
If you have to spend a night at Willemstad for work, Avila may be a good choice because it is quite near the city center.
For a leisure / beach holiday I would go elsewhere.
After we left for the airport it seemed that our flight home was cancelled, and then we had to spend another night in Willemstad. We came to stay at Scuba Lodge which is smaller but my oh my what a difference in hospitality! I'd recommend that sooner. Check my review on Scuba Lodge here on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Best place to stay great restaurant in walking distance only 2 minutes outside your hotel and if u like to walk to downtown 10 minutes. Cab is 12 $ to 15 $ people very Friendly. Hotel has there own private beach bar and restaurant. It is a little on expensive side. Tour available from the hotel which is great clean place no complains ..

Room Tip: Try to get the room facing the Beach . If not still it is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G2dani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maraval, Trinidad
Level Contributor
252 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Avila Hotel in Curacao for a short weekend 3 night stay. The staff were extremely helpful and the atmosphere of the hotel was great. Location is good, just south of Willemsted so an easy walk or short drive to where the action takes place. Most surprising was the excellent coral just beyond the hotel beach, the hotel has two sandy beaches and man made breakers to keep them sheltered from strong waves. You can swim beyond the breakers and between the two beaches and there are some excellent coral formations and loads of fish, we even saw dolphins on our first day. The only thing I could fault the hotel on was that the tiles in the floor of the bedroom were a bit scuffed and worn, it gave a poor first impression. The mattress was firm, the AC cold and the curtains made the room really dark so I got a good nights sleep :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hickmagp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at Avila Hotel in Willemstadt, our first time in Curacao. The staff was for the most part extremely friendly and helpful, going out of their way to please and make your stay the most enjoyable. Guests are discreet and for the most part European (mainly Dutch and German), which makes it a nice change for us North Americans.

Room Tip: THe small wooden cottage-type rooms have the best view on the ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My boyfriend booked this hotel solely based on all its reviews and we have not been disappointed! We stayed here for a week at the end of September and we enjoyed it fully. We arrived after a tiresome 10 hour flight and we have been met with a great smile and welcome by Louisa at the reception that made our check-in smooth & fast. I must add that she has always been very helpful, friendly and with a positive attitude at all times. And the reception has been helpful with all our inquiries - Curacao map, postal services and other personal requests - such as ordering flowers. The bellboy was also very efficient, took his time in explaining how certain things work in the room (light, A/C etc.). We stayed in Octagon room #214 which was fully equipped, had great housekeeping and a fantastic bed. From the balcony of our room we could only see a side-angle of the sea, so probably the one with a better sea-view is #216. All in all, we enjoyed our room and Octagon altogether. From our room we had direct access to the pool, the beach and breakfast facilities which we found very convenient. So if you want to stay with Avila we definitely recommend Octagon wing. What we considered very friendly on behalf of the hotel is that they also offer complimentary changing rooms for those guest who have late departures (check-out time being 12.00pm for everyone). Here you can take a shower and properly change.
Avila has its own beach, beach chairs and provides you with beach towels. On the property of the hotel you can find a coffee-shop that offers tasty coffee, breakfast&lunch choices; a shop, 2 restaurants - the Blues and the Belle Terrace, 2 bars - one has been mainly available during lunch hours. Dinner at both Blues and Belle Terrace have been very tasty, with nice and accommodating staff. If you are visiting Curacao during high season we would recommend reserving a table in advance. Cocktails and smoothies at both bars are delicious, definitely recommend you try one. I must say that we have been positively surprised by the creativity of the hotel administration to offer a different option for every night - for instance there is a Caribbean grill night, an Antillean night, a live Blues, lazy Sunday; there is always some sort of live music, you just cannot get bored. And of course it has a wide variety of spa options which one may try, as well as fitness center.
Another positive aspect is that Avila is centrally located and it takes a 15 minutes walk to reach the center. There is also a convenient hotel shuttle that goes twice a day to the city (except weekends) offered as a complementary service. If it is too hot and you do not feel like walking then you can go on the opposite road and stop one of the local buses that go direction Punda (2USD/person). Or if you feel like going somewhere else, ask the doorman to stop a local bus that takes you to the Sea Aquarium, which is great way to spent half a day (3USD/person).
Avila is also is nicely situated not far away from a couple of high-quality restaurants such as Rozendaels, Seasons, the Wine Cellar or Kome, we tried all of them for dinner options and we would recommend going to one of them if Blues or Belle Terrace are overcrowded.
What we found convenient is that in the hotel lobby you can find a tourist operator and car-rental office (Budget); we used both and they have good deals and decent prices.
Last but not least, I spent my 30th birthday here and we found a great bottle of wine from the hotel in the room which was very nice! My boyfriend ordered a bouquet of flowers which was fantastic and he was very pleased with the choice as well!
Overall everyone is very friendly, food is tasty, music is great, atmosphere is definitely of a great quality vacation. I think Avila will not disappoint you if you choose to stay here!

Room Tip: we highly recommend rooms in the Octagon wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have just spent two weeks at Avila. Great staff, so friendly and helpful. The beach and snorkelling off the rocks was excellent, more fish in one small location then we have seen in many other visits to the Caribbean. Lovely view from the balcony and the Blues bar an extra treat on your doorstep. Food and live music really good. We normally go to one of the main Hotel chains, so wasn't sure about booking direct with this hotel, but so glad I did, the character and individual approach was very refreshing. The only slight irritation was the housekeepers a bit noisier in the mornings than perhaps they needed to be, but this was only a minor problem on a couple of days when we had a late night and so a late start.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
1.6 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Property: Avila Beach Hotel
Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing