We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The property itself is the best in Curacao! The staff is AMAZING! Did I say the staff is AMAZING!!! Good food, drinks, all the help you will ever need is all at the Avila Hotel. Was there Labor day weekend for the North Sea Jazz Festival, they provided free transportation to the festival roundtrip! The events on the property alone will keep you entertained. Great Beach Bar- special shout to Luxandrew :) Oh yeah, there is a private beach...need I say more?

Room Tip: The older rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allisoninakron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    368
    103
    52
    23
See reviews for
161
636
46
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Avila for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon in late June 2013. We had a room on the second story of the Blues Wing facing the Blues Restaurant... it was incredible!! We had a gorgeous balcony and the view was breathtaking. We would highly recommend the Blues Wing.

We were able to walk into Willemstaad to explore, which was an easy 20 minute walk. We also ate dinner at several restaurants in Willemstaad, and our favorite meal of the trip was at Rozendaels, which is just across the street from the Avila. We mostly walked to dinners, but it was also easy get taxis, as they were always waiting in front of the hotel. It was also very easy to get taxis to and from the airport.

We cannot recommend the Avila enough... the staff was so nice, the bars were great for lunch and cocktails, and our room was lovely. My husband especially loved snorkeling in the lagoon! The water is crystal clear and calm. Thanks for an incredible trip!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor of the Blues Wing and would highly recommend-- big rooms with beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aew31484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at the Avila for 7 nights .Overall, I would highly recommend this amazing hotel.From when we first arrived, we were greeted with a warm smile and made to feel very important and welcomed. The check in process was easy and efficient; the bellman was so polite and eager to take our luggage to our room.


The grounds were very nice and clean. The Beach was beautiful, very well maintained and private.

The pool area at the Avila was amazing. The pool was warm and clean and never seemed over crowded. The staff made the rounds for food and drinks and made sure you were well taken care of. There was ample seating and shade.

The trip tour desk was absolutely amazing. Lulu was helpful in making and planning our Curacao trips..The front desk staff, as mentioned before were amazing.

The food and drinks all top quality.

Lastly, were ALL the amazing, friendly and helpful staff at the Avila. This includes: the housekeepers, the security, the wait staff, the groundskeepers, front desk, gym, and everyone else I left out. They were so amazing and really made our trip to Curacao and very remarkable and unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prenzlauer Berg, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went to Curacao in 2012 and it was the best holiday we've ever had. The Avila hotel is great for those who are looking for a peaceful and scenic place to stay. Our room was incredible and very clean and it was just a few yards from the beach. I unfortunately contracted a throat infection whilst in Curacao and was very ill and the staff in the hotel couldn't have been nicer or more helpful, even calling a doctor for me and calling the room later to see if I was ok. It's in a great location, walking distance into the town.

We would definitely come back here. It was everything we could have hoped for and more!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LRMCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Let me just put it out there immediately -- this hotel was fabulous! We stayed in one of the Blues Rooms and the view is stunning. Waking up every morning to the waves and beautiful ocean is the way to start the day. These rooms are a bit older than the Octagon wing, but it was perfect for us. We stayed here for 5 nights after moving out of another hotel. We stopped by for the breakfast buffet on our way to diving and asked if they had any available rooms. The front desk lady researched while were at breakfast and had an answer once we were done. She very graciously agreed to show us a room so that we could be absolutely sure about what we were booking. Reserving it with our credit card took 5 minutes and the room was ready when we came back in the afternoon from diving. They gave us the rate for an octagon room even though the rate for the blues room was 100 dollars more expensive. All of the staff was so kind and helpful. They made dinner reservations for us, helped us with directions, etc.
The breakfast buffet was amazing -- food was delicious and fresh, they open early (perfect for divers), and you can be in and out quickly if need be.
I highly recommend this hotel. Would definitely stay here again.
P.S. I don't want to give the name of the hotel we vacated. It is highly rated on tripadvisor and definitely deserves it. the staff was wonderful and they credited us for the days that we didn't use (even the reservation was supposed to be nonrefundable). The apartment common area was unbearably hot -- there was no ceiling fan (apparently other apartments all had ceiling fans). The bedrooms had air conditioning and were fine, but we like to relax in the common area during the day and in the evening. the place was fully booked so we couldn't switch rooms. so we decided to leave. The avila was a top notch second home while were in Curacao

Room Tip: Blues Rooms are all ocean front. Octagon wing is newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lel7176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Avila is a lovely escape - we've been there 5 times. If you are looking for a bustling resort with tons of activities, this is NOT the place. If you are looking for a place to relax, enjoy the water, enjoy the European atmosphere, this is wonderful.

We return because it is beautiful, with excellent services, and a very relaxed atmosphere. Our preferred rooms are in the Blues Wing, which is starting to get a bit old, but is still quite lovely, with its feeling of being in a cottage, and looking down into the water (on the odd numbered side.) There are fancier, more modern rooms available, as well as simpler rooms. All are nice, but we love the Blues because it is literally on the water, not just the view thereof. Food at the Avila is excellent, and the city is just about a mile walk for other options, as well as shopping and other activities.

After 5 trips, the Avila has become a home away from home for us.

Room Tip: If you choose the Blues Wing, ask for second floor, odd numbers (looking towards Willemstaad.) You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed at the Avila Hotel with my best friend for 5 days in early July. The hotel is absolutely amazing. Let me begin by saying that the Dutch were genius in the way they designed buildings. Curacao, while maintaining a constant temperature of about 88 degrees F, is swept by a constant breeze. This is great for when you want to lay on the beach and relax without feeling like you're being burned by the sun - lather up on sun screen, however. This same breeze flows through the corridors making for absolutely amazing evenings.

The grounds are immaculate. The infinity pool is great and the two beaches are divine. The food at the two restaurants is decadent and if you want something lighter then try the Pool Bar (usually open until 5:00pm) or the Schooner Bar (open until midnight but serving light junk food after 6:00pm). The ladies at the Pool Bar were very nice, preparing our meals like mom would. The staff at the Schooner bar is very attentive; you can on a beach chair and someone will always come up to you and ask you if you need a drink. There's a lovely patio overlooking the beach.

The left side of the beach is a bit choppy as the barrier lets the waves in from the east through the opening and the right side of the beach is calmer. Everything about this hotel is perfect. Again I must say the staff was very welcoming but after roaming through Willemstad (even at night) I've realized that people in Curacao are just naturally friendly, unpretentious and very welcoming. Not in a "I'll be nice to you because you're a tourist type of way" (the majority of the guests here are from Europe or South America so nobody tips), but in a "I want to show you my homeland and make sure you love it."

Luxeandrew (ask him anything about the island and he'll point you the right way) and the crew at the Schooner bar, both in the morning and in the afternoon, will chat you up, make you fabulous drinks and truly make you feel welcome. For all of you gay travelers, don't worry. This is really a live and let live country. Dare I say that people here are blasé about homosexuality. I suppose this is due to the diversity of this amazing island. Don't be afraid to be yourself.

All in all, unless I rent an apartment or buy a house in Curacao, this will be my yearly vacation spot and the Avila Hotel will be my home base. My only con about the hotel is the lack of food available after a certain hour. Yes, the Schooner bar offers little snacks, but it would be good if they served sandwiches or wraps past midnight, especially on Fridays and Saturdays.

Room Tip: I honestly do not think one room is better than the other. All I know that the summer is their off s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dominikmzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Property: Avila Beach Hotel
Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing