We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat to cross”

Queen Emma Pontoon Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Curacao TukTuk City Tour
Ranked #2 of 107 things to do in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Swings wide many times daily to allow access to one of the busiest ports in the world. It also separates the two halves of the city.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Neat to cross”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was fun to watch the boats go through and see the Bridge open and close. You can also take ferry while bridge is out of commission.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnK4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,526
    1,459
    314
    31
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“Walking on the bridge.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Fun the be on the bridge when it opens for little boats. Try walking in a straight line. It is not possible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rocking Bridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

A very unique experience! Witnessed how this bridge opened for the passage of ship vessels. This bridge will take you to the other side of the city. Took our time crossing with hundreds of pedestrians enjoying the walk. Pretty fun. I would love to come back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TEANIEZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Queen Emma Pontoon Bridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the coolest bridges I've seen. I marveled it from a far and when I made my way to Punda I was happy to see the bridge was shut and able to be walked on. We did a little shopping and when we came around, the bridge was open. I was upset that I wouldn't be able to walk across it. We sat along the canal and watched as a large ship was tugged to the harbor. Once the ship safely passed, the bridge was closed. I was able to walk the bridge. The bridge is held up by pontoons. As we walked across, the bridge moved, bobbed and swayed. It was unique. I felt like I was trying to walk across a small boat. I recommend seeing this bridge and walking across it at least once!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“What a site!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a very unique attraction. Not only do I recommend taking a walk across the bridge but definitely watch as it opens for ships to pass. It is a wonder. I made sure to take one last walk across before we left the island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mailer1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Emma Pontoon Bridge also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Queen Emma Pontoon Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing