We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice tour”
Review of Hato Caves

Hato Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.99*
and up
Ostrich Farm and HATO Caves Combo Adventure
Ranked #12 of 109 things to do in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old coral reefs exposed when the sea receded.
Geyserville, California
Level Contributor
249 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“very nice tour”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very interesting and fun tour. Our guide was great being both fun, charismatic and knowledgeable. It an easy climb up 57 steps to enter the cave. Caves are warm and humid but worth seeing and learning about.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DiannaC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    507
    220
    24
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Up North
Level Contributor
220 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Amazing caves”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

These are fantastic caves for many reasons; the formations within the caves, the bats, the fact the caves are above ground and are really warm, the sheer darkness in some parts and of course the guide, he was fabulous. We have many caves in England but these were honestly some of the prettiest and most fascinating I have seen. Well worth a visit!
Be warned that there are about 50 steps up to the caves, this won't suit everyone.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cheesecake0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love the caves”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I thought the caves would be cool but they were actually warm/hot caves so be warned. The history behind the caves is very moving. also note that there are bats in the caves. There was a bit of stairs to get up to the cave but they were manageable. Glad we did it. We parked really close to the gates and the gentleman at the gate watched the car for a tip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hato caves & ostrich farm tour”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We did the Hato Caves and Ostrich farm tour with Yellow tours. The caves were great well, well worth going. and the Ostrich farm was also fun. I would NOT book this tour with yellow tours however, as we were on the same tour (same bus and all) with people who had book the same tour through a different group and they paid significantly less.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting Trek”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I hike up some narrow stairs to the caves, and one realizes they really are hot. Once they closed the gate to begin the tour, I got claustrophobic, and could not continue, but my husband made it through the caves, and came out soaked with sweat. He enjoyed the trek, but needed a shower afterward.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelingtutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hato Caves also viewed

 

Been to Hato Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing