We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”
Review of Hato Caves

Hato Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.99*
and up
Ostrich Farm and HATO Caves Combo Adventure
Ranked #12 of 109 things to do in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old coral reefs exposed when the sea receded.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you only have some days on the island, don't visit the Hato caves. You won't miss a lot. The woman guiding the tour was very friendly and passionate about the caves, which did entertain us.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Serena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    507
    221
    24
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very cool cave system”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Didn't really know what to expect, and initially thought $8 to walk in a cave was a little odd, but the cost was worth it (they've got to maintain and light it for it to be seen), and the history of the cave is pretty fascinating. Worth the stop and time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I was surprised!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I went to Hato caves hoping to be only an average experience but I got really surprised on how much I got to learn about caves there! It's not only a simple visit, they teach you about some very interesting cave facts!
If you like adventures this is not for you since is a cave prepared to receive visitors with fans, concrete floor, etc...!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GiCorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We viewed these caves when we were on our buggy tour, very interesting. You have to climb to get into these, so not for people with mobility issues. Great view once you arrive.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Day Trip”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was worth the trip to the airport. The guide was knowledgable and even our kids 5 and 9 found it to be a highlight of our day trip. The only negative is that you can not freely take pictures but there are specific points within the caves where photos are permitted. This is to preserve the caves and is understandable. There are man made steps inside so walking is not an issue. Try to go when there is no tour bus! We were leaving as a tour bus was starting their tour and with so many people I don't think you'd get the same experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hato Caves also viewed

 

Been to Hato Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing