We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,815)
Filter reviews
1,815 results
Traveler rating
1,204
423
111
50
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,204
423
111
50
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mood beach kon tiki salt water cabana restaurant tropical paradise friday and sunday beach bag shower room vip section our honeymoon short walk to the beach quiet room guest services beach beds rooms are large late check restaurants and shops
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,815 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Kontiki Beach Resort. My comments are as follows:

Recommend contacting the hotel who can schedule a taxi to collect you at the airport. ($50 american, $70 NAFI). It made the arrival stress free. In hind sight, however, renting a car would be a far better idea.

I didn’t anticipate the climate to be arid. But curaçao has a fairly desert-like landscape. Thus, the lush foliage of the resort is lovely, but a little faux.

The beaches at the resort are lovely. Unfortunately, the hotel allows the masses of cruise ship goers to rent space on the beaches too, so it can quickly become crowded on days when there are cruise ships. Though the resort claims the cabanas on Moon Beach are specifically for hotel guests, the cruise ship vacationers have no embarrassment about setting up their towels on the sand between the cabanas. The beach is certainly more enjoyable on days without cruise ships.

Would love to see this resort exercise even a little bit of eco consciousness. I can’t begin to count the number of plastic bags, cups and straws I pulled out of the ocean at moon beach. It’s so sad. Even something as small as doing away with plastic straws and using reusable cups could make a difference. Someone on the island of Curaçao needs to start this trend !

I loved seeing the Iguanas everywhere! They were so cool!

Many people have posted about the excessive beach noise at night. Wednesday and Friday nights there are beach parties, but the noise wasn’t excessive from my room in the back of the resort. If you can’t beat them, join them.

However, I did not particularly enjoy waking up at 7 am to the sound of workers power washing the plunge pool right outside of my room. The local wildlife seemed equally unimpressed by it.

Getting around the island is a challenge. No Uber or Lyft as there is no regulation with respect to drinking alcohol and driving. Taxis aren’t abundantly available. Town is within walking distance. But if you’re not willing to walk it, may the odds be ever in your favor.

The food at the restaurants at the resort is average. Would venture into town for good cuisine.

The resort did a lovely job of decorating for my friends birthday. We had a lovely time.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank CatieGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Van Der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Hi Catie,

Thank you for the detailed review.
We'll take your tips to heart and work on creating a better experience for our hotel guests.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019

We LOVED Kontiki Beach Resort! The pictures really don't capture the true beauty of this place. Justin was always at the beach with a warm greeting and William making great cocktails. We went to one of the parties at Cabana Beach which was super fun! Something we don't do back home. ;-) We don't typically like to stay at the same place twice but I definitely would here. Thank you all Kontiki for a great holiday!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 755jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Van Der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Thank you Jennifer.

We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

The resort was created with a lot of taste. A lot of time and money was invested to create this standard of comfort and great ambient. The surrounding vegetation is incredibly lush, the rooms are huge and made with quality hard wood, beautiful beaches and excellent restaurants are a foot step away, the staff is always eager to help and organize trips for you, and lastly, the coffee at the entrance of the resort was very delicious. Although our stay was somewhat expensive, we were happy to have spent the money. We would recommend the resort to anyone searching for a relaxing and aesthetically pleasing ambient, but who still wants to be next to a very happening and central area of the island.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 85lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Van Der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Thank you for your kind review.
We hope to be able to welcome you again.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

Incredible location, you really feel like Being in a tropical paradise in the middle of the desertic curazao. The natural pools, the rooms are so clean and Wells finished.

You almost get a pool for a few Rooms is spectacular

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Compass36179721232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Van Der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Thank you for your nice review.
We hope to be able to welcome you again.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

This is a beautiful location, the staff are amazing, you are so close to the beach, the rooms are large and comfy, the only bad thing and it wasn't that terrible is the "king" beds are two twins pushed together. Everything else was amazing, almost every night they had some event going on for the guests! You are in the perfect location on the island as well for traveling around.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank paigethardinobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Van Der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Hi Paige,

Thank you for your nice review.
We hope to be able to welcome you again.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews