We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just a beautiful resort. The pictures are accurate; it's gorgeous huts with balconies or patios outside to little lagoons. So picturesque and relaxing. You walk through the village of all the huts and down three steps and you are at Cabana beach, with beach chairs (free for Kontiki guests) and beach beds (extra money). We were not divers or snorkelers, so I can't comment on that, but it's a nice, quiet beach. Not "secluded" but not "crowded" either (we went during a potential downtime, between Thanksgiving and Christmas). There's only 1 restaurant (its scenic, but meh), but one block away is the BLVD with tons of restaurants/shops/etc. There's also a shopping shuttle that runs twice a day (we didn't use it; we rented a car). Others have commented that the beach is "loud" and can be heard from the resort but we only heard the bass one night (granted, we were in the hut farthest from the beach). Even though I've characterized the rooms as huts, they have full amenities, bath tub and shower, TV, and free wi-fi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JK2354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coen M, Guest Relations Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Sir, thank you very much for your interesting and honoust feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your holiday in the resort! Would like to see you return soon. Kindest regards from the Kontiki team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    232
    51
    27
    15
See reviews for
145
610
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I spent a few days at the Kontiki Beach Resort and had a very good experience. I would definitely recommend this resort and would stay here again. Here are notes on my stay:

* Check-in/out was a breeze
* Staff was very friendly
* Rooms were spacious and clean
- Each room has a balcony with chairs and table
- Working safe
- Small refrigerator
- Both American and European electrical outlets in room (American electric outlets power the TV and refrigerator)
* Didn’t hear music from the beach parties from my room (as noted in other reviews)
* Grounds are beautiful (Website photos doesn’t do it justice)
* Close to several dive shops in all directions
- The Dive Bus
- Ocean Encounters
- On property dive/watersports team
* Quick access to beach & parties
- Cabanna’s
- Wet & Wild
- Mambo
* Next to Mambo Beach Shops
- Plenty of dining options
* Short walk to Sea Aquarium
* 15 minute walk to a local supermarket
* Short cab ride into Punda

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djhenryhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coen M, Guest Relations Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Henry, thank you for providing a full description of your experiences in Curaçao. We're very pleased to met your expectations. Great you enjoyed your holiday and the team hopes to see you once again at the Kontiki Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed there with our family for 4 days. They went from Venezuela to rest some days here. It was the perfect place to stay. No noise during the day, even the hotel was at full capacity there wasn't a big crowd around. The beach is perfect, crystal clear water and white sand. The staff was friendly at our arrival but we never see them again until our check out. I mean, inside the hotel you don't see the staff. The room was excellent, very clean and neat. For the price it was a lot better than we thought. The breakfast was good with several options and buffet type, but the restaurant doesn't belong to the hotel, so it's kind of a different management. We had been there twice and the first time the wifi was a hassle: you only receive a password for your building, if you go elsewhere you wont have internet. This last time the wifi was open on the whole hotel which was a really good improvement. The hotel is managed by Dutch people and some of them didn't speak Spanish. Only English and Dutch. Bottom line: nice place and very quiet and no activities for the kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank José C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá, Colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I would have rated this 5 star but we were having hard time trying to sleep on wednesday and sunday night, there si too much loud coming from the beach, I don't know if from Cabana, or Wet Wild, but we had to wait until 1:00 AM when the music stopped in order to sleep (there is also some noise from the generator in the huts near it)

Besides that, the hotel is excellent, the gardens and pools are relaxing and beautiful, the rooms are big and comfortable and the personal is great, Dariana and Adriana helped us a lot :) thank you guys,

I hope in the future the huts get some anti-noise windows so the people who don't like to party all the time get a more relaxing environment.

I definitively will recommend this place :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiegoParra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohegan Lake, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This review refers to the beach area and restaurant. We visited the resort as an excursion from our cruise ship. If you are looking for the ultimate relaxtion then come here. Their cushioned cabanas and sunning areas are fabulous. There are plenty of cocktail folks that are there to serve you.
We ate lunch at the restaurant and it was delicious. I recommend the tuna plate. All in all a great location and facility.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank daveanddonna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coen M, Guest Relations Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Dave, wonderful to hear you've had a great time during your stay at Cabana Beach! Hope to see you soon in the resort. Kindest regards, Coen Morsink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord, Aruba
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

my 2 kids,one 3 and the other 10, and me,stay at kontiki resort.
it was their first visit to the island and they had a great time!
Adriana,harvey & natalie,make our stay really good.
If u are going without kids is a great location as well,there is 3 beach clubs very famous here: cabana,wet & wild and mambo beach.
We spend half day at the sea aquarium,it was just 4 blocks away from our hotel,very convenience.
And crossing the street of the hotel there is a big gameroom.
We didnt went to the beach since we live in an island,wasnt much important but we love the pool which is filled with sea water and the beds were amazing,very pretty hotel.
There is a few things like,the smell of the bathroom,i reed it before,and there is indeed a smell of pee,maybe if they called someone from pipe cleaning.
The pillows arent the best and the breakfast from cabana should get some variation or a side menu.
Overall it was a very nice experience,thank you all
till next time

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoute_princesje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coen M, Guest Relations Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear miss, great to hear you had so much fun with your children at Kontiki Beach Resort. We have plans to improve the children facilities, also at Cabana Beach, so they will like it even better. We're very pleased with your review and hope to see you soon again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilzen, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May. It is really an oasis of peace and perfect for a relaxing holiday!
The cottages are very nice and the pool at every cottage is so peaceful, also the amazing sun beds are too great! The salt water in the pool is not so pretty, but it belongs to the eco concept of the resort. Also the beach is foreseen of those sun beds!
The beach bar/restaurant, are very nice with a lovely atmosphere, but the city centre of willemstad is so cute and offers very nice little restaurants and places! This resort is not a usual hotel resort (quiet, no animation, limited facilities), staff was very friendly, though maybe could be a bit more personal, but in this resort contact with reception and staff is limited which I think is because of the concept of this hotel. Therefore it is no issue!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanieRaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coen M, Guest Relations Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Stephanie, thank you for commenting on Kontiki Beach Resort Curaçao. We are very pleased with your comments. We're glad you enjoyed Kontiki, the beach, the restaurant and the island Curaçao. We'll take your recommendations in mind, since we actually do strive for personal contact with our guests. So thank you again for your words and effort. We would like to see you again in Kontiki !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
2.0 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
2.0 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 33 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
2.8 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort

Property: Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Address: | Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Kontiki Dive and Beach Resort Curacao)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the most beautiful island in the Caribbean, on the most desirable beach of tropical Curacao you will find Kontiki Beach Resort. This luxury resort offers everything to make your holiday an unforgettable experience. You are welcome for a memorable and exotic stay. The resort has an extraordinary set up and is built with natural materials. Complex and vegetation, architecture and nature, all combined harmoniously into a relaxing atmosphere. The tropical superior is a wonderfully luxurious, renovated room. The extras of the tropical superior (full service) will not be available in this room. The tropical superior (full service) is a wonderfully luxurious, renovated room for extra comfort. In the tropical superior (full service) you can expect the following extras: bathrobes and slippers, mini-bar in a cold beach bag on day of arrival, a free luxurious lounge bed at beach club cabana, daily turn-down service (except on day of arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontiki Dive And Beach Resort Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Van Der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing