We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish didn't spend time and money”

Restaurant Bij Moes
Ranked #251 of 371 Restaurants in Willemstad
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 6, 2017

55 min. wait time for standard starters and then another 25 min. to wait for main course - again very simple food. French fries with mayonnaise!!! And we came at 6.05, were it's basically empty! People across were smoking but we were told it is a non smoking area. There's so many nice restaurants around that this one is a real waste of money and time.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 8 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2017

TLDR: too long wait for not high enough standard dishes, weak excuses to cover up for a non functioning kitchen. Not worth the money or the time... better off going to any restaurant in Pietermaai.

Me and my girlfriend were visiting Curacao on vacation when it was "restaurant week" a promotional week where restaurants invite people to make reservations to enjoy 3 course meals for a fixed price. After browsing most of the menus of the participating restaurant we decided to make reservations at "Bij Moes". The menu looked great and we went out with high hopes. We are experienced diners who have enjoyed multiple "restaurant week" offers in holland and have visited alot of restaurants of all kinds of quality both michelin star and your every day bistro.

First off it was nearly impossible to find the restaurant... With no marking or known adress on google maps we had a very hard time finding it. After asking at the reception of the prestigious and gorgeous "Papagayo beach resort" (wich "Bij Moes" is a part of) the friendly receptionist helped us with some dismay of yet another customer who couldn't find the restaurant because staff did not instruct properly who ti find it when making reservations. After getting instructions to the location of the restuarant we arrived half an hour late and sweaty.

Our reception at the restaurant did not bode well however.... We were told there wern't any tables left outside so our reserved table was located inside the restaurant. At first glance we had no problem with this, except for the fact Curacao is in an extremely warm and fairly humid climate and the tables inside were neither air conditioned or even refreshed by means of a simple fan (tables outside however did receive some fresh air from fans). After enquiring if there were any recommended apritives we were told it depends on what choice you make on the menu.... Now I don't want to sound snobby or uptight but the whole means of an aperitif is getting refreshed "before" the meal and helping your apetite. Receiving the answer "depends on dinner choices" gave met the feeling they wanted people in and out quick and not provide them with a remembarable dining experience which i'm accustomed to with the dutch restaurant week.

After ordering some house wines (only house wines were served per glass, in all of Punda and Pietermaai all restaurants have multiple open bottles where you are able to order a glass. But in a semi perstigous restaurant located at a gorgous and expensive resort this isn't possible...) to accompany our starters we waited for some time to finnish our wines. Since we ordered them to accompany our starters which didn't come until the wine was luke-warm. When the starters finaly arrived the portions were simply too small. The goat cheese cous cous starter was small but the smoked duck breast starter simply resembled more of an amouse bouche then a starter. This was not a good start for a romantic dinner experience and my spouse was allready getting extermely aggitated and feeling unwell by the experience.

When our orders were taken we were offered the oppurtunity to expend the 3 course menu to 4 courses with a small dish in between consisting of truffle ravioli, pan baked scallops, beure noisette foam, celeriac creme. It sounded delishious and we decided to expand our menu. It took the kitchen however between 45 minutes and 1 hour to get us from starter to side dish... We had to ask our waitress why it was taking so long before any action was undertook and the poor woman had to make up for a failing kitchen by making excuses. Another luke warm wine and dissapointment. The scallops themselves where prepared nicely but the rest of the dish was a disaster of wrong flavor, texture and simply hurried execution.

After this incident we were offered "a" drink from the house, this was to be honoust insulting. We allready downed two luke warm wines which didn't exaclty get us in the mood for another drink No mention of any other compansation. The main course was soon to follow and both the mackrel and steak were of excellent taste and I decided to order a red wine to accompany it.

After our main course deserts soon followed tiramisu with strawberries and panna cotta with fresh strawberries were advertised but allas the strawberries were no where to be found.... No explanation or mention from the staff. When asking the cheque I had to remind them we were offered drinks in compansation for the wait while (presumably) the head chef was patrolling the dining room looking menacing and obviously insulted there were complaints.

I have the feeling this man in charge of the kitchen is a pompous, incompetent, sensitive little man that makes other employees make up for his faults and insucurities and runs away from his responsibilities by showering himself in pety excuses.

Please anyone considering to dine here do yourself a favor and go "ANY"where else.

My recommandations for some lower threshhold great restuarants are Ginger in Pietermaai Willemstad and Osteria Rosso in Groot Davelaar located at Trupiall inn. Here you can have great foor for a lot lower price and they server multiple open wines.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JaimieCarels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

We went there for restaurant week to try out this renamed restaurant. The dining experience is awesome. The dishes were made with the utmost care and are also a treat for the eyes. Just a pity that the staff is inexperienced, though very nice. We will most definitely visit Bij Moes again in the near future.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank alvinrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

This was my 4th time going to Bij Moes, first 3 were positive experience, unfortunately this time was painfully slow and quality of food horrendous. I made reservation at 8:00 p.m. when we arrived to the Restaurant the Hostess didn't find the reservation but was able to accommodate, after going to the table we received menus and only option they had was "Restaurant Week" we order a bottle of wine and sparkling water to have a nice dinning experience, wine was delivered on time in a professional way but that was it, appetizer came after literally an hour, then after finishing another hour to receive the main course and that only happened after talking to 2 different servers who only apologize and mentioned that they were only hired for the night (they skip the second course without saying anything),usually we order different items of the menu to share, this time was not the exception, we ordered fish that was ok served with risotto but the steak was completely tasteless I have to stand up to ask for salt and to speak to the Chef considering the waiting at least food should be well prepared, server came to the table mentioning that Chef didn't want to come to the table as he only speak Dutch, is when I request to have my bill, not worth to wait longer to wait for dessert that may be as bad as the main course, server came with check offering having discount that I denied (maybe I should've at least taken that discount for ruining my dinner experience)exactly at 10:45 pm we left the Restaurant, 2:45 hours for 2 courses and not even the Manager or Chef coming to the table. I think if they want to participate in this promotion like Restaurant Week, they should be ready for it, as in theory that is a tool for them to promote the place to bring more patrons and with this experience they just make patrons with a bad taste and not willing to come back.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carlos N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile


Fabulous restaurant ! Amazing food... eye for details, nice and cosy at the top of the pool in papagayo beach resort.
Definitly 5 stars.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Climber100654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Bij Moes also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Restaurant Bij Moes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing