We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
$180
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/20/21
Expedia.com
$180
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/20/21
Trip.com
$180
$174
View Deal
SAVE $6
Free cancellation until 03/15/21
Renaissance Hotels$180
Booking.com$180
Travelocity$180
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,549)
Filter reviews
2,549 results
Traveler rating
1,441
847
180
51
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,441
847
180
51
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rif fort man made beach infinity pool nautilus restaurant fresh water pool artificial beach cruise ship salt water ocean view floating bridge fourth floor shopping and restaurants across the bridge queen emma bridge hotel is great rented a car lounge chairs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
609 - 614 of 2,549 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2017

As a loyal Marriott customer, I elected to stay at the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino on my most recent trip to Curacao. Although the location was decent, close to Punda and Handelskade via the Queen Emma Pontoon Bridge, a car/taxi is required to travel to any of the 38 beaches or better restaurants and bars. In addition, the quality of the room was discouraging - paint and wall coverings were peeling. As a Gold Member, my upgrade was to a second-floor room facing the garage. Finally, customer service was either challenging or excellent. Housekeeping was abysmal. In one occasion, the housekeeper forgot to service our room for the entire day. Finally, at 9:00 p.m., I contacted the manager and strongly recommended they send a housekeeper to service our room. The Nautilus hostess was less than welcoming and displeased when we requested a table with a view (in spite of the fact that the restaurant was minimally occupied). The front-desk staff was the saving factor. In particular, Michelangelo was very helpful and Riangelo was outstanding. Riangelo made us feel like valued Marriott members. He recommended restaurants and made reservations, he identified the best beaches and assisted us with both day and evening activities options. Riangelo, in fact, provided us with what I would consider Concierge level service. It would be prudent for the Renaissance to place Riangelo on a management track since he almost singlehandedly salvaged this vacation for my family and myself.

Date of stay: September 2017
2  Thank smholst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCRManager, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Dear smholst,

Thank you very much for your candid feedback regarding your most recent stay with us at the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino.

We are very disappointed to read that there were various aspects of your stay that did not live up to our product or service standards. The entire management team joins me in offering our sincerest apologies for the room condition and the lack of service you experienced in certain areas of our Resort.
Your feedback and comments have been shared with each department head and it has propelled additional service training to our staff to ensure that the needs of our guests are better taken care of.
We are however very delighted to learn that Michelangelo and Riangelo, our two super stars, stood out during your vacation and were able to turn your vacation around and provide you with a memorable experience. As Marriott Rewards Elite members we try as much as possible to provide exceptional service as we appreciate your loyalty to our brand. It seems that both Michelangelo and Riangelo were able to do so and we are very proud of them indeed.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we hope that whenever your travels bring you back to our side of the Caribbean that you will choose the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino for your accommodation needs.

Warm regards,

Chanteau O
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile

Our search for the ideal 50th Wedding Anniversary led to the Dutch island of Curacao. Safely below the normal fall hurricane path and south enough to enjoy some guaranteed warm weather, Curacao seemed ideal. We had also spent one day there while on a Holland America Cruise back in February and liked very much what we saw in and around the capital of Willemstad. With the help of TripAdvisor, we picked the Renaissance Resort and Casino for its high satisfaction rating (also we are avid Gold Elite members of the Marriott Rewards Program and appreciate the high standards found at Marriott chain properties).

Because of the special occasion at hand, I contacted the hotel in advance to ask for their help in securing as good a room as could be had in the category in which we booked, Ocean View King. In the TripAdvisor reviews, a lady by the name of Chanteau Ogilvie, Guest Satisfaction Manager, seemed to be the appropriate person for my contact. She quickly returned my query and assured me all would be well.

Upon arrival for a 7 day stay on October 12, my wife and I were “blown away” when we were escorted to our beautiful, specially decorated, spacious suite on the second floor overlooking the ocean and not far from the cruise pier where our Cruise Ship had moored, previously. We had obviously been upgraded and provided with a separate living room with wall to ceiling windows overlooking a spacious balcony and a bedroom with king bed, balcony entrance and a huge bathroom complete with whirlpool tub and separate glass shower stall with a rainforest shower head and also high pressure horizontal water jets on one wall. Honestly, it was like being in a car wash with water streaming from everywhere. Over our bed was a large, gold “Happy 50th Wedding Anniversary” banner and throughout the unit were baloons, swans made from towels, hearts and rose petals. Wow, did we ever feel special and what a job Chanteau and her staff had done for us.

Just down the hall from our room was the entrance to the man made Infinity Saltwater Beach and next to it, the Freshwater Eternity Pool. This is where we spent most of our time, laying on one of many lounge chairs and shaded from the sun by palapas. Whenever inclined, one can walk out into the water on a sandy bottom and swim out to the wall which acts as the border between beach and the rugged rocks of the shoreline. Back on the lounge chair, one can relax and order a cool drink from one of the Beach Bar waiters who periodically stop by to serve you or you can work your IPhone or IPad utilizing the high speed internet service which is found throughout the resort. Fresh towels are in ample supply and we did not have a problem finding a place to sit or stretch out, which has been the case with other resorts or on cruises.

There are 3 main places to eat at the Renaissance; the first is the Nautilus Restaurant on the lobby level where either buffet or food from a menu can be had. Food on the island is expensive and an automatic 15% service charge levied by the hotel in combination with a 9% sales tax make it even more so. An all inclusive food and drink package is offered by the Renaissance and may be something to check out before making reservations. My wife and I opted for such a package for our particular case. There are other restaurants in the area, but most are outside (hot) and not as convenient as eating in the hotel. Between the Nautilus and the Casino is found the second eatery, The Blue Bar where more simple fare can be ordered. The third location is one level up at the Infinity Bar at the Beach, where a variety of delicious items can be ordered off their menu and eaten while relaxing on a lounger or at tables by the bar. Our favourite order was Coconut Shrimp, but the hamburgers and fries were delicious, as well. Two Starbucks locations are also available, one onsite and one offsite just up the road.

The staff at the Renaissance are numerous, capable, courteous and most helpful. Upfront we were met by Roland who opened doors for us, moved our luggage to and from our suite and every time we saw him had a handshake and a smile for us. Front reception folks included Chanteau, of course, to whom we will be ever grateful for what she arranged for us. Also, Riangelo who took us under his wing when we arrived and made sure our every need was met; many thanks. Sheinka, Dierdre and Jennifer, thank you, too.

At the Infinity Bar at the Beach, Juvienska and Bianca gave us top notch service, while at the Nautilus, Chef Rich cooked a special meal just for us and his kitchen’s Caribbean Lobster Tail and Tenderloin Steak entrees were delicious. Also noteworthy was Gilberto’s Spanish Coffee, the best we’ve had in years, probably due to the fact that he whips his own heavy cream with sugar. Servers who did a great job for us included Pete with his chest emblazoned with close to a hundred pins collected from his friends around the world, Sidney, Juwella, Rushendly and Nick at the Blue Bar. Another young lady who spoke to us whenever our paths crossed was Monique. She would ask us how we were and what we had done that day. You don’t often run into people like this who have a sincere interest in how their guests are faring.

One thing that I did miss, however, even though it was not our intent to watch a lot of TV, was the Fox News Channel for complete news on key events happening in the world.

All in all, though, we had a fabulous time at the Renaissance and hope to return sometime down the road. In the meantime, many thanks to all those who contributed to making our special anniversary the best.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank shatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCRManager, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Dear Mr. & Mrs. "Shatz",

Thank you very much for such a detailed and honest account of your experience with us at the Renaissance Curacao Resort. The entire team is overjoyed to read about your fairytale-like adventures!
We are all very happy that as our VIP Marriott Rewards Elite members the entire team was able to provide you with a memorable 50th wedding anniversary.
The team members who stood in your review were all very excited to see that they made a positive impression on your vacation.
They solidify the service standards that our Resort stands for and we are truly proud of them.

We hope to see you again soon to celebrate your 51st wedding anniversary Renaissance Curacao-style!

Yours truly,

Chanteau O


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017

My husband and I stayed at Renassiance for one night. I wished it was for the entire week! We are gold members with Marriott and requested our usual upgrade if available as well as an early check. The pleasant girl on the phone stated they were full but she would try. When we arrived our room was ready, the front desk staff friendly and Alexis the bell man remembered us from last year. Check in was great, then we arrived to our room! WOW we were so happy with the ocean view room, and our spacious suite! Beyond words to describe this upgrade room. We proceeded to the lobby bar Blu and it was cozy and indeed very crowded. Was fun. We will continue to stay at Renaissance even though Curacao is growing with small boutique properties, mostly for the friendly staff, and the feeling that they really care about you.
Thank you Renaissance !!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bonaire2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

Had one night in this fantastic hotel. The beach and its surroundings were awesome. The staff had a polite and professional attitude. The room was impeccable.

The great service by Jennifer at the front desk and especially bartender Monique and her staff was absolutely amazing.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank ErikLooijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCRManager, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear ErikLooijen,

We are very happy to read that in just one night we were able to impress you with our products and services. Jennefer and Monique are truly the gems of our lobby and we are extremely proud of the work they do with each and every guest.
We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to see you again soon for a much longer stay!

Warmest regards,

Chanteau O
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile

Best vaca ever from staff to management top of the line. From the moment we arrived the staff was there for your needs nothing is to small they make you feel like you're family can not say enough about Luis Nick and Monique and the best manager Herbert

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank mdesorbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCRManager, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear Mdesorbo,

Thank you very much for raving about our resort.

We appreciate your great comments. We take pride in delivering exceptional customer service to our guests and it seems as though we achieved that goal during your stay.

We have shared your positive comments with the staff that you mentioned and they are all excited to learn that they made a lasting impression on you.

We hope to welcome you again soon to your home away from home!

Sunny regards,

Chanteau O

Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews