We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newest hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Newest hotel”
Reviewed November 26, 2009

I'm sad to say I did not stay at the Renaissance, but visited the facility and was very impressed. It is in the "downtown" section of Curacao but it's still has it's own section. So you are not disturbed by the noise of the streets. The casino is the biggest and newest. The infinity pool is great to look at, but the artificial beach is sort of small and unauthentic. The shops are better selection than others but mainly to window shop. I don't regret staying at the Marriott, but if I ever return to Curacao, I would try the Renaissance next time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BklynFung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    644
    143
    40
    22
See reviews for
347
726
73
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Stayed at the Rennaisance and loved it. Location was great. Walked to many restaurants in town and the Fort and had wonderful food. Le Petit Gourmet, a new place in a very old building in Punta, was superb. La Bahia, Le Pergola -- really good food. Also the Anchor Bar on the 4th floor of Fort Rif had wonderful seafood. Service is definitely SLOW, but we knew that from past experience so we chilled out-- but the waitstaff was very friendly. Sopranos Piano Bar in the fort was very nice for late night drink. Hotel staff was very accomating and helpful. Beach/Pool on 2nd floor has got to be seen-- really enjoyed watching ships pass by. We did 6 great dives with Ocean Encounters-- very efficient shop. Lastly the Health Club was top notch. Only negative-- hotel didn't have info about places of interest-- Guess they wanted you to stay at Casino--we didn't-- don't gamble. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubado0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We stayed here for our honeymoon using our Marriott points, so I will not comment on the value! Locationwise it was great. We walked over to Punda every evening for a nice stroll. Tons of restaurants around, so you will never be hungry. That said, we did not eat near the hotel (Rif Fort). Too touristy and expensive! But we found some good cheap eats in Punda. They were offering free parking for the month of Oct. Actually when we left in early Nov, the parking lot was still free!

Service was slow and sometimes non-existant. The doormen will be there some days and not other days. Which is a small thing, but when we had our hands full of stuff, it would have been nice to have someone open the door! Our bed was made every day, but I don't think it was cleaned. Towels and toiletries were replenished, but sometime we had old towels lying around for a day or two.

The early morning departure was a zoo! We called downstairs for a taxi 30 mins prior and when we got there, there were a few people complaining that their taxi was "given away" to others who did not call ahead...

All in all, a nice hotel, nice pool, below average service. And remember, EVERYTHING in Curacao is sloooow! :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwtan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Great location. Incorporated with Fort Rif with nice look and shops. Easy walk to Willemstad's walking bridge and to the heart of town. Right on ocean and at the internal canal that has a lot of activities. Nicely appointed with many extras. Food is good with nice breakfast buffets. Staff that are very friendly and helpful with lot's of pleasant smiles. The Bar, for the young crowd, the Casino, not our style but their for those who like that. Great Beach with an infinity "OCEAN POOL" on the 2nd floor. Yes, that is correct. You have to see it, very clever and nicely done with pleanty of room for guests only. Will we return? yes we "WILL". Our negative, the Dutch are big smokers, think up wind where ever you go. P.S. Some very good fresh fish.
Rodney and Robin, Novato, Ca.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodneyRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location, but greatly overpriced. On the 2 occasions we dined at the hotel, the service was very slow (even at off-peak hours with the hotel nearly empty). It took 50 minutes to receive our order of 2 cheeseburgers with fries & 2 drinks at the Infinity Beach Bar at 4pm and cost a whopping $27. Luckily, there are a lot of restaurants nearby which are reasonably priced with much better service. Other than the food prices and wait time, we had a good experience at the hotel. The location can't be beat, and the pool is magnificent. Just be prepared to eat outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatashaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Stayed here for one night in transit from Aruba back to Europe.

The Renaissance Curacao Resort and (very noisy) Casino is up to Marriott standards. You wont be disappointed. Service and rooms are good and it's easy to get to from the airport.. The infinity (salt water!) pool is quite a nice touch.

However, it's quite big and doesn't have the "Willemstad" atmosphere. The reosrt has a whole shopping centre (fashion and jewelry) around it and it's all brand new. Everything you need is there and it's also tailored to facilitate the cruise ships which dock near the resort. The problem is that this is starting to look a lot like Oranjestad on Aruba. And that's a shame, because Willemstad has much more of a vibe to it than Oranjestad. It's more authentic than all the bling bling shops that overcrowd Oranjestad.

All in all, it's a good hotel and you can be assured of good service (bit expensive). But one tip: when you want to experience true Willemstad: walk straight out of the shopping centre and across the Emma bridge or into Otrabanda. Don't stay in the resort.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed at Renaissance Curacao and it was wonderful! The resort is colorful and charming and located on the waterfront near the cruise port and shops. The casino was fun, the spa was relaxing, and the people and service were great! They have a sandy beach and a pool on the second floor of the shopping mall. It was hard to imagine until I saw it, but it was great and overlooked the ocean and cruise ships. It even had starfish along the bottom! The room was a good size, the furniture was beautiful and had a fridge and coffeemaker, and we had an ocean room with a balcony and ocean view. It is next door to the Rif Fort which has been converted to shops, cafes and restaurants. We also walked over the pontoon bridge to downtown Willemstad. The architecture is beautiful and there are lots of restaurants and shops along the waterfront. There is a mix of things to do. We had some history and also day trips for scuba diving or just to visit other beaches on the island. We had a fantastic visit. The resort is close enough to town with dining and nightlife, but has a tropical resort feel with the beach and pool. We would definitely recommend it and go again! And we ate at Nautilus, Anchor Waterfront, and Bistro le Clochard and they were all delicious, and the views at night are great too!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
2.9 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
599 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
329 reviews
6.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing