We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We choose the Renaissance because it was a brand new resort on the island and because of the great reviews. Also we were able to use our Marriott Rewards points for 6 free nights. I know Curacao pretty well because my family is from here and we therefore have visited the island many times. The last time we were here we stayed at the Floris Suite Hotel and at the Marriott.
The hotel has an excellent location right in the center of town. This is obviously great for shopping, visiting museums and dining. Also the Renaissance is located in the Rif Fort, a smallish shopping and dining experience. But the dining is very touristy and therefore overpriced in my opinion. We preferred the local food at the Plasa Bieu for example. Great value for money and a real local experience.
But after a couple of days you tire of the centre of town - it is really small. To reach all the nice beaches on the island and to visit the many historic sites, you will need a car anyways.
My main comments on the Renaissance:
1. If you expect a beach resort, then you will be disappointed. It really is more a city hotel, with a great man-made beach area (on the 2nd floor of the Rif Fort shopping center) and a very small pool. You really don't get the beach vibe when you are in the hotel.
2. Our room overlooked the street and had no balcony (!?!)
3. Our room in itself had a view minors: there was no bed lamp, there was no detachable shower head, only a fixed one - which is very annoying when bathing small children). As anywhere else, the internet was overpriced. I still do not understand why hotels do not offer free wireless in their main areas. On the other hand, the room had a good size - we were 3 adults and 1 child.

A note to Marriott: it was impossible to reach Marriott Reservations without paying the premium from the room telephone. I had to change a reservation we had at the Marriott on Curacao, and there was no way I could reach Marriott reservations. This I found absolutely ridiculous. I ended up calling a friend who then connected me to the toll-free number.

All in all, I would not stay at this hotel again. Is was not bad, but I prefer the beach resort feeling of the Marriott.

And I have to say that most the staff was great and provided excellent service.

Finally: they charge USD 10 per day for parking while there is free parking on the streets next door.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank StockholmVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    662
    145
    40
    22
See reviews for
357
745
76
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

This was our 2nd trip (stayed at the Hilton previously). This new hotel is beautiful, quiet, and service is outstanding. We were there for 7 nights.

We were upgraded from a Resort room to an Island Room. We had a corned room on the 4th floor so our entry way was a long hallway and the room was off to the left. Nice ammenities and service was always nice. Love the fact that they actually give you beach sized towels in your room along with the standard white towels.

We ate breakfast each morning Nautilus. We found it was cheaper to order off the menu for the item we wanted instead of stuffing ourselves for no good reason on the buffet. However, be aware that ording off the menu takes about 40 minutes so do not be in a hurry if you are going to do this.

For dinner, we ordered room service twice and service was quick and accurate.

We ate at Indi's twice and LOVED it each time.
Robu-Tei the japanesse place in the fort has a great lunch special that has soooo much food there was no way I could finish it.
Steak & Ribs seafood Grill was good and has a great view. Service here was a bit off, no real understanding how to get seated at a table, and a bit slow.

The pool is great for relaxing and the view is extremely peaceful. Security does check your room # and name.

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and they learn your name, greet you every time they see you, and have a quick conversation if they are not with other guests.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kmakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

My wife and I spent 5 nights in april at this great hotel. Last year we stayed at Marriot Emerald but it is difficult to compare them both. Emerald is a great beach hotel, while Renaissance has to merge "beach" in an urban environment. I believe they did great. But it will depend on what kind of a traveller you are.

We decided on Renaissance, because we knew from previous trips that night life downtown is great, with lots of restaurants. If you stay at the Emerald, you'll have to drive to eat elsewhere, but at the Renaissance you have lot of choices. You can even walk to Denny's (about 1/3 mile) opened 24 hrs. It is adjacent to Rif Fort (an ancient Fort turned into a small shopping center with restaurants) and very close to the floating bridge which is the heart of Willemstaad.

The pool is something you have to see for yourself. It looks like a small beach, but it is a pool with sand and palmtrees. In a few minutes you almost forget it's a pool. The view is great, the sand is -of course- clean, and the clear water lets you see lots of starfish, and other fishes. All this is in the second floor on top of a Swatch store and other mall stores!!!. There's also another pool without any sand. From the pool/beach you can see the cruise ships, since they dock real close.

The staff is very helpfull and caring. They really seem "delighted to serve" (their motto). No complains on this area.

They'are still polishing details and during the day you can see some workers here and there, silently fixing carpet details and so. We got a special opening price, so we were prepared for these things. No big deal anyway. It was obviuos these workers were instructed to be quiet and you could barely notice them.

Overall: Great!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ruben00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Spent 3 nights at the New Renaissance April 15th - 18th. This modern hotel is in a great spot for shopping, relaxing, and late night partying. The rooms are hip with great balconies overlooking the ocean. Everyone goes outta their way to make you feel at home.....can't say that about other Caribean hotels.

STAY AWAY from a restaurant in the near by fort called Bistro LeClochard....three of us ate there on Wednesday and got food poisoning. We had to lay out all day Thursday. The staff at the hotel told us we wern't the only ones that have complained about the place.

I've stayed at both Marriott Props in Curacao and the Renaissance is the way to go.......

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachAmmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2009

My stay was great, the whole family enjoyed the place, it is luxurious, contemporary and the service is great. Before we stayed in the Marriott Curacao, but this is better!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baronFortLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Blessed with a great location, 5 minutes walk from WIllemstad centre, the newly opened Rennaissance has much going for it. Hotel is well run, staff are willing if a touch slow by European standards, cleanliness is first rate and generally all is as you would expect for a "Marriott" level establishment. But watch out for the extra charges!! 20 bucks a head for a buffet breakfast, 12 bucks for 1 hour of Wireless internet. 15 bucks for a day of cable internet (no smaller amount available). Charges for late check out rather than applying discretion. The cherry on the cake was the policy towards water. No water freely available at breakfast, mineral water 4$ for a small bottle from the resturants or bars, and inexcusably, no water fountain in the fitness room. Dangerous as well as mean. The manager clearly learned every lesson at hotel school about how to subtlely maximise spend per head - except how to do so SUBTLELY. I enjoyed my stay immensely but never lost the feeling that i was paying for every last second of it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kissthesunsetpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

I recently spend a long weekend at the Renaissance resort in Willemstad. The property is well developed and looks to be winner for the future. I stayed in a ocean view room on the fourth floor which had a very nice view of the infinity beach and the dock where the cruise ships stay.

The key to enjoying this resort is to know what to expect. You are on the Antilles so there is a slightly more laid back interpretation of the principle of service. Little slower, some mistakes but always with a smile. Well, almost always.

I was there when they were in their soft opening phase, so they had some teething problems. None of which will be an issue in the future I imagine. They need to keep training the staff and find ways to please the customers while maintaining the typical laid back attitude of the island.

The strenght of the property is the formula and the way it is executed. This is also the danger. You expect a lot when you see the pictures and hear the stories. If they do not manage to match the service to the expectations they will be in trouble. I hope the staff of the hotel will be proud enough to work in this excellent resort to go the extra mile.

Food options are good. The breakfast buffet is truly 5 star, room service is limited but will be up to speed soon, the pool bar is still suffering from logistics but again they are still in the soft opening. One thing I would go back for in an instant are the quesadillas. They are magnificent.

The combination with the Fort next door, where you find a lot of eating options, is very good. A short strawl to there and another short strawl the city center. Location, location, location. City resorts are my cup of tea.

So, for now with the very good price you can get it is acceptable to good. You should realize they are still in the soft opening and probably will be for a while. When they get all their ducks in a row and when all the work is finished I am sure we have a winner here that will put Curacao strongly on the map.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henkybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
2.9 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
621 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
339 reviews
6.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotwire, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing