We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best vacation ever.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Oranjestad, Aruba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Best vacation ever the hotel staff simply amazing from the doorman Marvin to the front desk agents Kevin and Suleyma who is very caring and knowledgeable about the area and places to visit. One of her best recommendations was the Adventure City my kids was super excited. Thanks to the staff for making this vacation the most memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayenne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    638
    143
    38
    21
See reviews for
339
715
73
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was our first trip to Curacao and couldn't have picked a more central location to spend some relaxing days on the island. A taxi from the airport is about $30 USD.

The doormen and lobby staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, even bringing us a cold beverage whilst checking in. The lobby is busy and bustling - mostly with guests finding space on the sofas to browse the free wifi. In room wifi is around $20. Lobby was a little smokey, but really not that bad compared to other hotel lobbies in Asia or Europe where smoking is still very popular.

Room was quiet, comfortable and well maintained. Except for a shirt found in the closet from a previous guest, everything else was pretty much spot on for a relaxing stay. On the odd occasion if an amenity was missed, a quick peek out into the hallway usually flagged down a housekeeper and replenished right away.

One minor pet peeve was that despite the DND hanging on the door, we were disturbed by the housekeeping staff. Once via phone call and the other time they knocked on the door, one hour before check out to ask if we were checking out that day. Again, we were not sleeping but if the sign is on one would expect not be disturbed?

The adjacent casino is a great way to spend some time in the air con to cool down after a nice day out wandering the city. There is a Starbucks on the second floor above the lobby and also one across the street should you need a caffeine fix. Just remember that you are on an island! Some days they were out of cups, one day the toaster was broken, but it's all in turn.

We ate at Nautilus one night also at Infinity Beach Bar. Both good - friendly service and a little on the pricey side but for the choice we preferred the beach. Nice ambiance, and the view was amazing. There is also a more casual menu for lighter fare.

Overall a great stay. One last thing for the resort, and also for many places in Curacao, is that they include a 15% service charge in your bills. Which for most of the time is very much deserved and earned.

Room Tip: Oceanview if you have a choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongWayAcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The service at this hotel is beyond exceptional. We were greeted with smiles and friendly banter upon arrival. All the hotel staff we met remembered us and greeted us every single time we saw them. They also remembered questions we had about restaurants and what to do and see in the area, and never forgot to get back to us with an answer, even if it was the next day. The door men were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Before our arrival, I requested a small birthday surprise be set up in the room for my boyfriend. I was in contact with a Navigator (guest services) before our trip via phone and email and she was EXTREMELY helpful and went out of her way to make my request happen.
The rooms are clean, new and very comfortable. The breakfast spread is great with a lot of options and yummy food. The casino is vibrant and busy...a fun alternative to going out on the town. And THE POOL....oh the pool. It's an amazing man-made "beach" on the 2nd floor, with sand and salt water included. The best part for me was that the pool was heated...I hate having to ease into the usual cold water of a pool, but this was the perfect temperature- not too warm but not cold. The view of the sea from the pool is spectacular.
The location of the hotel can't be beat...steps away from Rif Fort, restaurants, shopping and the Queen Emma Bridge. Across the bridge are lots of little cafes which are great especially at night with their live music and view of the harbour and passing ships. Overall this was a perfect and memorable experience. Definitely a must-stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skfl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Skfl87,

It is really wonderful to read your review, thank you for posting it on TripAdvisor!

We are very happy to see you had a great birthday celebration with your boyfriend! We are glad to have gotten the opportunity to be part of it! Our team works really hard to provide excellent service and it is always amazing to see when we accomplish! We will definitely share your comments with the entire staff!

We wish to see you back soon and create another memorable experience for you and your boyfriend!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

The best attribute of the Renaissance is the location. After spending over 5k in airfare to get there and home the last thing we wanted to do was rent a car and add on an additional expense. This was in a great area to get to town and see the floating bridge/markets. It is not the typical type of hotel we choose to stay in. We prefer quaint and this was glitsy. Our last two nights the air conditioning wasn't working and was in repair so those nights we didn't get a great night sleep. I agree with the other travelers comments about the smoky lobby in the Renaissance. It took away from the feel of the place and was not appealing. The food in the hotel was WAY overpriced which forced us to look elsewhere. Our first day we had no choice but went into town the other days for food. There were no "extras" like in other hotels where breakfast is included or you can get coffee or cookies in the afternoon. There was none of that. While a lovely destination, I found Curacao overrun with "cruise" people as it is a port of call and found the people of Curacao in general looking to charge Americans more than others. This is a major pet peeve. We enjoyed going to the oldest synagogue and on a trip to Klein Curacao [both an extra cost]. This vacation is an expensive one for families.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy C, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Lyn S

Thank you for choosing Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino for your stay on Curacao. We always appreciate feedback!

Definitely the Renaissance Curacao has the best location in Curacao that will connect our guests to the best of Curacao! We apologize the Air-conditioning failure which was an unforeseen repairing that is 100% solved. Thank you for your comments and be sure they have been directed to the involved department heads.

Regarding prices, we have very attractive packages that their price vary depending on the season as for example the Escape Inclusive Package. You can check this with our reservation department.


Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to regain your trust and welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Freddy Castillo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for a week in March 2014. The Renaissance is a beautiful and well maintained resort in the heart of Willemstad. The location is great because it is next to the Rif Fort which has restaurants and shopping, The Renaissance Mall, and the Queen Emma Bridge. It is at the mouth of the harbor and you can watch the tugboats and oil tankers right from the beach. The room was very clean, the beds very comfortable and robes and slippers were supplied. The staff was very friendly. Parking is free. The grounds are well groomed and contain beautiful birds, lizards and even some hermit crabs.

Now the cautions.

There is no free internet except in the lobby. Internet access is $20/day.

The beach is artificial and the pool is an infinity pool with sea water. Nothing wrong with either of these, but be prepared not to have a real beach.

Don't bother bringing AMEX Travelers Checks. NOBODY in Curacao will cash them.

The phone system is the worst. I setup and maintain IT systems and could not figure out how to make an outside call. I had two voicemails from our tour director on the system for the entire week and nobody at the hotel could help me retrieve them.

We ate dinner at the Nautilus one night. It was asian night at the buffet and neither of us wanted chinese food. We wanted to order off the al a carte menu and the waiter argued (nicely) with us about how the buffet was a better value. We didn't want chinese and my wife ordered a salad. Again, he said why would she want to pay more for a salad when the buffet had a salad bar? He finally took the order and made a face like he was annoyed.

We were told by the tour director that she would email our departure transportation information to the hotel the night before we leave. No one was able to find it.

Luckily, none of these things ruined out vacation. They are just things that I would have liked to know before I arrived and I am passing it on to future travelers. I would definitely recommend the Renaissance as a top hotel in Curacao.

Room Tip: The front desk kept trying to push a waterview room for more money. We had a room facing the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Not a word to say. Everything was PERFECT. The beach is amazing, and if you don't like salt water, there is a swimming pool just together to the beach. The rooms are perfect sized, very clean. Everything was working properly. The restaurant (I just tried the Nautilus) is delicious, with an all you can eat buffet very complete. But what is really more amazing in this hotel are the people that work there. There weren’t one single time that everybody wasn’t with a smile on their faces. Everybody look enchanted to help you. All the services were perfect. I definitely would come back, and it worth the money you pay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GustavoBritto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I debated between staying here verses the Marriott Resort that is further from Willemstad. I am a big beach person (Marriott Resort has a real beach), but we both wanted to be close to the city (Renaissance is right in the heart of all of it. We are so glad we chose this location and property! Because the location is close to everything, we were not limited to just the hotel restaurants. We walked everywhere, explored the various restaurants/shops and was on our time. We loved the fact that we were not relying on a cab or shuttle service. One of my favorite parts of the trip is walking across the beautiful bridge every night for dinner in Willemstad. It is a very picturesque area!

A few highlights:

- House cleaning does an excellent job of keeping these rooms clean and nice (I am very picky on rooms normally too!). The property is very well maintained. We have stayed at a lot of the Marriott properties, and this one is well up there as it relates to cleanliness and is very well maintained.

- There is not a "real" beach, but I was very impressed with the man made "beach" they created. They did a fantastic job of compensating for this by creating something that feels just like a real beach. You still get the sand and salt water without the waves and rocks!

- For my husband and I, this was just a perfect blend where we could get some down time at the "beach" and still have the ability to explore Willemstad within minutes.

- There was a snafu with the car service that picked us up at the airport. Nicole Super handled our situation in a very professional manner and handled it excellently. Great customer service!

- To get a feel of the real beaches, we rented a car for a couple days. We highly recommend this. (Tip: Reserve it before you get there as we found prices to be lower). Budget is right on the property so it was so convenient for us. There is also free parking at the hotel which was great. I would recommend the beach (playa) at Casa Abou over Porto Mari. Both are private, paid beaches. I felt Casa had better snorkeling and more shade options. We also had a hard time finding Porto Mari whereas Casa Abou was easy to find. Also, make sure you see Boca Tabla Cave at Shete Boka National Park! I would recommend that you do all this in the daytime and try to head back before it gets dark. Roads are not well marked and not as well lit especially when you are up north and east of the island.

- Every hotel has things to improve on. A few suggestions:
1) The lobby is very smokey. We are non-smokers, and this bothered us. We could smell this in the hallway on the second floor at times. We would recommend that they close off the casino part if they are going to continue to allow smokers. It is weird that the property is a smoke free hotel yet the Casino part is not and generates a lot of smoke for the hotel lobby.

2) We were not impressed with the Sunday brunch at the Nautilus Restaurant located in the lobby. There were fruit flies covering some of the food which is not appealing. We paid quite a bit for the brunch buffet and lost our appetite seeing this. The food was not worth what we paid for either. We were very disappointed by the quality and taste of the food. We were also told it would cost a certain amount and found the bill to be a different, higher amount.

3) Staff was very friendly. However, our experience was that they did not seem to know enough details that would help travelers who are new to the island. There were several occasions where we would get tips that were somewhat close but not always accurate. We would get guesses on pricing, location, direction, etc...would recommend that the hotel have better training for these types of questions (i.e. costs of paid beaches...we received multiple different answers of which none were accurate to what we paid.).

Overall, we recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelQueen888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear TravelQueen888_12,

Thank you so much for your detailed review and we are glad you decided to stay with us at Renaissance!

Our housekeeping department is excited about your positive remarks concerning cleanliness, especially since you are picky! I am also very pleased to see I was able to assist you during your stay, it was an absolute pleasure!

We appreciate your constructive improvement suggestions, which we will definitely take into consideration. The various departments are looking into the possibilities we have to improve our property. We are also in the process of having additional training for all employees, which will focus on helping our guests discover the local area.

We hope to welcome you back soon and help you discover something wonderfully new!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
2.8 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino
6.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing