We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's good news and bad news...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“There's good news and bad news...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

These are some things you may want to know before you stay at the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino. I will provide a list of positives and negatives that will hopefully help you make your decision.

Pro's:
--the location is excellent because you are close (i.e., walkable) to the Willemstad city core (both Punda across the bridge and Otrobanda)
--the staff at the hotel is generally very friendly and pleasant (i.e., they smile and say hi)
--the faux beach at the hotel is likely the ONLY beach in town, and even though it's not real it kind of feels like it. Most of the beaches are North or South of Willemstad. Keep that in mind if you're looking for a beach vacation
--the room we got was nice for Caribbean standards (i.e., it was spacious, air conditioned, nice view, clean, large updated bathroom and lots of plugs for my technology)
--there is free WiFi at both Starbucks, as well as the lobby and faux beach
--there is good security on premises

Con's:
--there is NO real beach. We didn't think this would be an issue for us, but it ended up becoming one. Our solution to this problem was to get transportation and visit all the beaches along the coast
--the swimming pool is small
--there is an additional cost for WiFi in the room
--we left the sheets out to be washed and housekeeping put the same ones back on the bed. We even left a generous tip.
--the shampoo, conditioner and body lotion was not replenished. We had to ask for more. I can't think of any hotel where I had to ask for more toiletries.
--the in-room coffee/ tea/ sugar/ cream was not replenished. We had to ask for more. They also never put back our coffee machine after we used it. They would just leave it out on the counter.
--the lobby smells of heavy cigarette smoke because of the casino. I am not a smoker, so I found this to be bothersome. They could improve the ventilation

Overall, the stay was good, but there is a lot of room for improvement. I think that the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino is relatively one of the nicer hotels in Curacao for island standards. I hope you find this review helpful, if so give me helpful vote.

Thanks.

Room Tip: --Get a 3rd or 4th floor room to get a nice view. --NOTE: there are TWO Marriott hotels, so when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear SupermanMikail,

Thank you so much for writing this detailed review. You have some great feedback for future travelers to Curacao!

We are very happy to read all your positive points, thank you. We take great pride in creating satisfactory guest experiences and we are truly upset we have missed this on some occasions. Please be assured that our Housekeeping Manager is aware and is training all staff to be more pro-active in replenishing all amenities as well as cleaning of linen.

Thank you again for helping us improving our services. We hope you will return to our beautiful Island soon. We look forward in welcoming you back!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    638
    143
    39
    21
See reviews for
342
718
73
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Russellville
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had a most relaxing and enjoyable 7-night stay at the Renaissance at the end of January - staying in an ocean front room - and upon arrival asked for and got a 4th floor room with a great view. Both the hotel and room were very clean, the service was prompt and always with a smile. We have no complaints and would recommend this hotel without hesitation. I will try to not duplicate other’s comments, but will note the Starbucks on the second floor of the hotel is a real live Starbucks – I thought it would be like other hotels with just bare-bones facilities, but nope – this is the real thing. And there is another Starbucks just outside the hotel in the area where the exclusive store are located.

As for the Infinity Beach Pool, for comparison I went scuba diving (see the review of Curious2Dive in Curacao, with DM Hans, fantastic!!!) off of 2 of the better beaches, Kokomo and Blue Bay. These were shore dives, and I will tell you my wife and I would MUCH better prefer the Infinity Beach Pool at the Renaissance. Curacao has so many great things about it, but I don’t think one of them is pristine beaches. At least at both Kokomo and Blue Bay you are well advised to wear water shoes both on the beach and in the water. Don’t get me wrong – these are great beaches, but the artificial beach and the Infinity Pool are perfect at the Renaissance, with all (imported) sand. The water depth at the deepest end is about 8 ft. and is warm – the “real” much smaller infinity swimming pool was cold, and we never saw anyone in it.

We ate once for evening dinner at the Renaissance, and the meal was so-so. For the price, we ate our other dinner meals elsewhere – but the breakfast buffet and lunch offerings were all good.

Two final notes: everyone complains the Casino smells like smoke. As former smokers, we figured that one out – smoking is allowed in the Casino. If this bothers you, then perhaps avoid the Casino. Our short times spent in the Casino weren’t exactly profitable anyway. Finally, I made a huge mistake and rented a car. Everywhere we went was within walking distance (with exception of scuba diving - Hans @ Curious2Dive picked me up at the hotel). You really don’t need a car, in my opinion, and a cab ride to and from the airport is not expensive.

We are a middle-aged couple who seek relaxing and somewhat quiet vacation spots, and we hit a home run staying at the Renaissance.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room and request the 4th (top) floor for outstanding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Charles H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this amazing review!

Your wonderful comments about our Infinity Beach are very much appreciated and makes us very proud of it. One of the things that Curacao is known for is its beautiful dive spots and it is great to hear you have had the chance to experience that!

Come back and enjoy the Infinity Beach and other dive spots soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Quality & Service Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

After having spent two nights in Blue Bay, first suffering a stomach flu/food poisoning and bitten by bedbugs/mosquitos while recovering inside, we were greatful to find a nice, bug-free and service oriented hotel. As we were travelling with 4 adults and a 10 month old baby, finding a new place to stay with same day check-in required quick tripadvisor review and decision making. Renaissance Curacao was a great choice for us: comfy, spacious rooms with mini-fridge and enough space for a baby crib, luggage and still room for the baby the explore. Kimberly working at the reception was most helpful and managed to organize a microwave oven in out room, when we asked if it would be possible. That made the stay very easy with the baby. Location wise easy - plenty of places to eat within Walking distance, many shops also nearby. Pool area was great with baby, although there isn't a kiddy pool. The shallow water in saltwater infinity pool allowed the little one to get wet as well. All the staff members were friendly and happily chatted with the baby, which he really liked. Free Wi-Fi on pool area, which worked well. Thanks to change of hotels and staying in Renaissance, we managed to have a relaxing holiday in Curacao.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool side of the hotel, shorter walk through the corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelfish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Angelfish79,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review.

We are very sorry to learn about your experience at Blue Bay, but very glad to hear we have managed to provide you with a relaxing holiday! Kimberly at the reception is indeed amazing and we are fortunate to have her at our property, thank you so much for recognizing her!

When you are ready to experience another relaxing holiday, we are here.

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Quality & Service Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed 7 nights. We spent the first 3 days exploring Willemstad. The hotel is very close to great restaurants and shopping. Hotel beach is man made on the second level of the hotel, but nice. We rented a car at the hotel. (Check with your own insurance provider) They were very helpful. We were able to explore the whole island in 4 days. Make sure you go to 'safe beaches'. Our fav's were Lagun (great little bar too...try the smoked salmon and grilled pepper sandwich), Big Knip and the beach on the far side of Westpunt. The beaches have nice sand, water shoes help, crysal clear water, and OK snorkelling. Take you own snorkel gear. Also stop at Daniels for lunch or breakfast. It is off the main highway...get directions. We also went to the East Island park area, caves by the airport, Aloe Vera farms, and checked out the West, more hotely area, which was very crowded. Very easy to drive around. Really the only negative thing was the dealers at the casino in the hotel. Very unfriendly. The hotel really needs to address this, if they want people to play. We also upgraded to a balcony ocean view room. I can't imagine staying for 7 nights without this room. Other rooms are without balconies looking over the street or looking into board rooms inside the hotel. Beds were extremely comfortable and staff friendly.

Room Tip: Rent a car! Be prepared for pricy, but good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaOntheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear CanadaOntheroad,

You have really explored Curacao and gave some great recommendations for future visitors, thank you!

How wonderful to read you have seen the entire Island and visited some of the highlights of our beautiful piece of paradise! It is really too bad to hear your comments about the casino staff. Our management team has spoken to the staff and we are in the process of improving the staff attitude.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Quality & Service Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The anniversary began with a wonderful welcome by the Renaissance staff. Our room was decorated with rose petals and chocolate. We also had a wonderful bottle of red wine awaiting us upon arrival. The bell man took the time to give us a full tour of our room.
We were on the top floor with a view of the ocean and pool. The balcony was a great place to sit and listen to the sound of the water. The room was very comfortable with a great mattress. The bathroom Aveda amenities were nice. The infinity pool is awesome. However, if you want a beach front property, this is not the place for you.
The location was near the Rif Fort area with live music nightly. There were several restaurants and bars within walking distance. The Queen Emma floating bridge and Punda were easily accessible.
They have a huge parking lot and it is free.
Negatives: 1. The music in the lobby was horrible. The atmosphere was boring. It is best to walk over to the Rif Fort area for the live music. 2. The lobby area is very smoky because smoking is allowed in the casino. 3. The hotel restaurants are ridiculously expensive. The dinner buffet was $55 p/person!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor with ocean view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksapre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Ksapre,

Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for spending it with us!

It is simply amazing to receive positive feedback and we are very happy that we made your anniversary special. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Additionally, thank you for your feedback about the lobby. We are glad you liked the property and will personally address your concerns with my team. We strive to provide the best customer experience possible and take all feedback very seriously.

We hope to welcome you back soon to our little piece of paradise!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Quality & Service Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This property has got to be the best hotel on the island. It's the perfect location, great beach/pool on the 2nd floor, and within walking distance of everything in the city. Only drawback was the rooms are a little out of date, but they are very large which was nice. We also had a balcony with partial ocean view.
For Platinum members you receive a very nice continental breakfast each morning as well - something we didn't get at the Aruba Renaissance. The staff here is also very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Steven H,

We are glad that you stayed with us while visiting Curacao! Thank you for the nice review!

We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the staff, breakfast, pool and the location of the hotel.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We wish to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Quality & Service Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hotel was good. Pool was AWESOME. Casino was ok as well. Free wifi by pool and in lobby and Starbucks. It's walking distance to shops and restaurants. I definitely recommend this hotel if you're going to Curacao.

In general- Curacao is a nice, quiet, calm and mellow island. It's not exactly the place to go if you're looking for loud music and binge drinking...but perfect for a quiet getaway or for retired people. I would not recommend Curacao for college students, singles trips, or bachelor/ette parties. It just depends what you're looking for.

We took a cab to Cas Abou Beach one day. It's a nice, swimmable, turquiose beach-- but bring swim shoes beacuse there is many rocks in the water. The service SUCKS so bring your own food/ booze/ cooler.....please TRUST me on that!

We also visited Saint Tropez Ocean Club for lunch. It's very trendy,sexy and sophisticated. They have a pool,decent food for a very decent price and free wifi. I definitely recommend this place!

We spent a day at Cabana Beach. They had several TVs at the bars and we watched American sports here. The screens are not huge...but its better than nothing. They had many loungers on the swimmable beach. You can rent jet skis here and other water activites. Great atmosphere for families as well as singles or couples. A must try!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ilovesusielicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Ilovesusuelicious,

Thank you for traveling down from Texas and stay at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino! We appreciate you have taken the time to share your findings on Curacao.

It is absolute great to hear that you have enjoyed the resort! Curacao is indeed a great mellow Island and everyone will surely be relaxed after a visit! For the people who do wish to party, we have a lot to offer as well. Our navigators will be delighted to give you the insights on where the local people party!

We hope to welcome you back soon and help you plan the vacation you are looking for!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Quality & Service Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
2.8 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino
6.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing