We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

If you desire to be in the middle of the shopping and have the ability to catch a tour to all points of the island this is your hotel. Walking distance to shopping and eating areas, nice man made beach (endless salt and fresh water pools), and very nice rooms and facilities. My only complaint is regarding the service at the attached restaurant, very slow. All island restaurants are slow, but this one set the record. Once served you never saw the wait staff until you flagged. Them down for the bill. Small price to pay and besides, you are on vacation.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Kevin L,

Thank you for your kind review as well as some insight.

We will be sharing your views with the restaurant team. Your feedback is giving us the motivation to improve! Luckily it seems you have enjoyed your stay with us and explored the area. We wish all our guests the opportunity to explore the beautiful Island and its culture.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back sometime soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Customer Service, Quality Assurance Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    575
    132
    38
    16
See reviews for
303
643
68
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

if you can spare the money to stay in this hotel, well, JUST DO IT!!!!!! Very well located, you have live music at night, there is starbucks really close by and other places to eat and to shop. I bought my honey a Furla purse. The place has a fabulous view to the ocean. The pool and the beach are wonderful. Im not a casino person so i didnt care for it.

Room Tip: anythingx in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank willco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Willco C,

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your wonderful words on TripAdvisor!

We are glad to see you have taken full advantage of our location and that you were impressed with R Life Live entertainment! We hope your honey enjoys her Furla purse, which she will without a doubt!

Hopefully we will have the chance soon to welcome you back, so you can take another plunge in our pool!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Customer Service, Quality Assurance Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The staff here are courteous and will go out of their way to help you. There's a casino, if you. Like that. More importantly, this is a great central location from which to set up tours for the points of interest on the island. Do go snorkeling or diving while you are here. Do take a walking tour across the floating bridge. Do tour the Hato Caves. The Renaissance is your best home away from home.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank dletson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Dletson,

We are glad that you stayed with us while visiting Curaçao and took the time to write about it!

Thank you for the great recommendations to the readers, it sounds like you really had the chance to explore Curacao! Our staff works very hard to provide a great experience and we cannot wait to share your review with them!

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our resort and we hope to be welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Customer Service, Quality Assurance Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is in walking distance to old town Williamstaad. There are many shops and good restaurants close by. The pool area is superb although there is no real beach that allows access to the ocean.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suninflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Suninflorida,

It is great to read you loved your stay with us! Thank you for sharing!

We are excited to see that you have enjoyed the resort’s location and its culinary offerings! All feedback is appreciated and will be distributed throughout the resort!

Thank you again for your review and we look forward in welcoming you back!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Customer Service, Quality Assurance Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

My wife, son and I stayed at the Renaissance Hotel for two nights. It was a very last minute reservation as we were supposed to stay at the Marriott for 4 nights but checked out after 2 nights ( see review).

What a relieve! After a very disappointing experience at the Marriott Curacao we felt at home as soon as we entered the door. We were happy to learn that the standard of the Marriott is not exemplary for what other hotels on the island have to offer.

The hotel is not top notch but has all you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Rooms with comfy beds, friendly staff throughout, very nice pool area complemented with good food and a central location.

Cost of breakfast is a bit steep but there's a Starbucks on the premises for coffee and a sandwich or muffin.

Definitely the best option in Willemstad at this moment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maarten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Maarten L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino.

It is sad to read about your disappointing experience at Marriott. We are really glad we could turn your vacation around for you! It is amazing to read that you were able to experience all the conveniences at our resort as well at our surrounding areas.

We hope we can welcome you back to our piece of paradise soon and hopefully you will have the opportunity to enjoy it a bit longer next time!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Customer Service, Quality Assurance Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minooka, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Best Place ever! Close to downtown, the sound of the ocean with the balcony doors open was perfect to fall asleep to. the lizards joined you for breakfast outside. the staff is incredible. made friends that I will definitely visit again and again!~

Room Tip: oceanview is the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Sandy B,

Wow! Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

Your positive words will be shared and we are absolutely delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much! It really sounds you enjoyed the natural aspects of our beautiful Island!

Thanks again and we cannot wait to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Customer Service, Quality Assurance Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a nice Marriott family hotel, the pool/artificial beach area are very nice and you'll enjoy it even if you prefer the real beach. I think is a hotel more for business users because of its location and some specific services. Food in premises are mostly expensive (specially the breakfast). Try this one if you prefer to be on a walking distance from Willemstad and if a pool could be enough. If you are looking for beaches and other related experiences this may be not the best option.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hernan_S_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Hernan_S_co

Thank you for writing this review and we are glad that you stayed with us while visiting Curacao.

We are happy to see you rated Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino with 4 out of 5 stars. It is sad to read that you found the prices too high. Our menus are posted on our website so you can take a look at our food and beverage prices. Your feedback will be discussed with our food and beverage director.

Again we would like to thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Customer Service, Quality Assurance Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
2.8 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.8 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
2.0 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 31 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
2.1 mi away
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing