We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed there for a week at the beginning of November and we loved this hotel! The room was great, the view from our balcony was spectacular and the staff were friendly and helpful. We had some issues on the first night we checked it with our room, but Jennefer in Guest Services was great and sorted it out for us. During our week there, our room was always cleaned early and the staff was always there to answer questions. We booked a few trips through the Concierge and both were great. We did not choose to the all-inclusive, but the hotel is walking distance to everything and the area is very safe. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Maria B,

Thank you so much for the great review!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the spectacular view from your balcony. We are excited to share your feedback with the entire staff. Everyone works very hard to provide excellent service and creating unforgettable experiences.

Thank you for recommending the hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Customer Service, Quality Assurance Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was there in honeymoon with my husband for 5 days. When I mentioned 'honeymoon', they gave us an upgrade on the bedroom, and from our varanda we could see the magnificent pool they have. I was beautiful cause the pool border seemed to join the open ocean in front of the hotel. Great breakfast. Clean rooms. Nice people working there,they were very kind to us. The hotel is close to Fort Rif and is within walking distance from Punda. At night, the area was safe and beautiful, and they had local singers and dancers. We did not go to the casino, but it seemed Ok. The only problem was no wi fi in the bedrooms, but we could use the starbucks if needed. It is really worthy and offers exactly what their homepage says.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yukimg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Yukimg,

Congratulations on your recent wedding! We wish you and your husband much happiness! Thank you for spending your honeymoon with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We are thrilled to hear that you have discovered some of the local activities in our beautiful area. We are happy to inform you we have WiFi installed in the rooms.

We hope to welcome you to our resort again for your anniversary celebration!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel during a business trip.
The rooms are not very spacious but quality level is good.
Especially the bed was excellent, I never sleep very good in hotels but here I slept like a baby.

Staff is really friendly.
No wifi in the room is something which is not of the 21st century in my opinion, this should be changed asap.
Further it's quite a massive complex, this is something you should appreciate (or not).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Erik V,

Thank you for your feedback. It is an absolute pleasure to hear you had such a restful stay at our resort.

We take all feedback very seriously and agree that no WiFi in the room is not of the 21st Century. For this reason, we are sincerely enthusiastic to inform you that we have WiFi in the rooms since November!

We appreciate your business and hope to see you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Customer Service, Quality Assurance Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week and was a bit disappointed in the lack of service and kind people. the indoor restaurant was extremely slow and never got our orders right.
The pool area was very nice and the service was much better, they were actually kind and helpful. Drinks were good and food was typical pool food.
Hotel is near Punda and we walked around a lot as there is not much to do otherwise. We had planned on diving but were unable due to an injury prior to the trip.
Rooms were nice as we were on the 4th floor with an ocean view.
I agree with another post... Curacao is best seen in a few hours from a cruise, a week is way too much time here.

Room Tip: Choose 4th floor with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeng6109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Jeng6109,

We appreciate the post to TripAdvisor and want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the world.

Our apologies for the lack of service you have experienced during your stay. We have reviewed your valuable feedback with the departments concerned.

We hope you consider visiting Curaçao again and we would be delighted to share some of our favorite, local spots with you!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Customer Service, Quality Assurance Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This resort is nothing spectacular...expensive and not worth it. When you walk into the hotel the first thing you are hit with is the sound of slot machines and smoke. Another downside to this hotel is that there is no beach access for snorkeling or swimming. The positives are the hotel is close to Punda where you can go shopping, and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wallobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Okay hotel, good location from town, but the service is VERY slow in the restaurant and communication is pretty poor. Curacao is a island best viewed in a couple of hours during a cruise. Not much to offer unless you dive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Recently traveled in the end of October until the first week of November, we were very pleased with the hotel. This is our fourth all-inclusive vacation within 3 years. We have traveled to Costa Rica, Aruba, and St. Maarten. The hotel is our favorite so far.

Hotel: Very clean, but the lobby could use a little updating. Our room was beautiful with a great ocean view. We recommend the fourth floor ocean view. The infinity pool was gorgeous. I was a little hesitant about not having a beach, but this pool is beyond expectations. Pictures do not show the beauty of the pool. It overlooks the ocean. It was great to see the boats dock. They do not stay the whole time, so you do not need to worry about obstructing your view. The hotel is also located in the best part of the island. It is close to downtown (walking distance). There is so much to do within the hotel plaza itself. I found it quite interesting how many business people stay at this resort. If you like casinos, the one available is nice. We had a great time. Weekend nights include bands throughout the Rift Fort plaza, hotel lobby, and casino.

Service: Exceptional! Everyone is very friendly and courteous. They go above and beyond to make you happy. This was the best service we had so far. A special thank you to Alexis, Shagura, Ian, and Glenn for being wonderful and making us smile everyday. They are a wonderful team.

Island: We were only able to do one excursion due to rain, which rarely occurs on this island. We happened to go during hurricane season so two days out of seven, it rained all day. Overall, it is quite nice weather. Also, they accommodated our excursion to the afternoon due to rain and refunded us for the other excursion. I was shocked with how much trash there was throughout the island. It was quite sad. Many plastic bottles wash up along the shoreline and trash was seen along the dirt paths. We went on a ATV tour (fun time) and much of our destinations had trash throughout the streets. In fairness, we only toured one part of the island. I would hope the western part of the island is cleaner since that is where all the nice beaches are located. (The hotel is extremely clean)

Food: We were very impressed with the food for an all-inclusive deal. The CRU restaurant served exceptional steak dishes. We ate there 3 times. The Infinity Restaurant had great appetizers and fish. Also, mid-day meals are very appetizing. The last option for all-inclusive included a restaurant within the hotel. The buffet is not very appetizing but the menu options are good. If you are choosing to dine off the all-inclusive options, there are multiple restaurants available within the Rift Fort plaza. However, it is very expensive to visit Curacao and not stay all-inclusive. Also, the hotel offers Starbucks which is included in the all-inclusive. This was an extra perk!

Overall: The hotel and service was wonderful which I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat. The food was delicious, which would make me choose all-inclusive again. I would return to Curacao because I feel as if we did not get a full chance to see the entire island. My only negative remark about Curacao is the amount of trash surrounding the streets.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kcalixoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
3.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
2.8 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
382 reviews
6.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $192 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing