We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Unless you are looking for secluded beaches, this hotel is in perfect location. It also has a private beach with infinity salt-water pool. While prices at the hotel are slightly on high side, you can safely walk to many restaurants around the hotel ( and charge dinner to your room )
You may get confused with the 15% service charge, but if you add 5% for GOOD service, that's all the tip needed. We found service good at the hotel and around. My wife likes shopping, and after few godd deals she got on St Marteen couple years ago, we expected the same Dutch merchant deals on Curacao...No such luck...You cannot barter, jewerly shop owner won't offer you free Heineken and selection is not as wide. So forget the shopping in Willemstad. We found great supermarket behind the bus station outside the hotel, bought some Pinot Grigio and sat on our 4th floor balcony overseeing the action at the pool/beach.
Weather in Curacao was perfect, with constant breeze from the sea and temperatures hardly higher than 30C....It got little cooler when some clouds rolled in...but no rain. Overall perfect place.....

Room Tip: Go for high (4th floor) facing the sea...you will have option of room ( on left ) overlooking pool o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenePavol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    673
    147
    40
    22
See reviews for
370
756
78
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lone Tree, CO
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

As a centrally located property in Willemstad, this hotel is surrounded by restaurants and all sorts of tourist traps. Hotel is nicely maintained but the lobby reeks with cigarette smoke from the casino, Linger for a few minutes in the lobby and your clothes smell of smoke. Starbucks at the corner outside the hotel is a much more pleasant (and healthier) place to lounge than the hotel lobby. Be very careful of the room you reserve. There are lower priced inside facing rooms with windows that open up to an indoor carpeted atrium that converts into a ballroom/exhibition hall. If you get any of these rooms, you will never see daylight from your room. Depending on the days of your stay, scenery from ocean view rooms could be blocked by docked cruise ships that cycle almost every day.

I find the "fake beach" quite a nice experience. It offered a nice protected environment free from the waves and rocks but gives the nice feel of a real beach. Service, food and drinks were all great. Oh... internet access is available too.

Room Tip: Reserve an ocean view room when contemplating on staying in this hotel. It will make a significant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place has an infinity pool that is heated, with sand, overlooking harbor....GREAT LOCATION and amazing pool!!!! AWESOME PLACE I would hightly recomend it...great service as well and the casino was small but nice (no poker)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prouss134439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My partner and I spent one week at the Renaissance in Curacao at the end of February 2013. The hotel is great - staff is very responsive, rooms are clean and, Wi-Fi available in several public areas. We got there expecting to be disappointed by the fake beach - which we were at the very beginning BUT the more we used it the more we liked it: the view is amazing, the water is a little warmer then the ocean I imagine, plenty of towel always available, good service (drinks, food, internet available), plenty of chairs/couches at all times.

As for the surroundings, it doesn't get better that this: the hotel is located right next to Rif Fort - a lovely place packed with good restaurants, bars (they even showed UFC PPV live on Saturday at one of the bars), patios and stores. Downtown Willemstad is 7-10 minutes walking distance. Although the food at the 2 restaurants in the hotel is good I strongly recommend the non-all inclusive option. Cru & Indi Spices were our favorite lunch/dinner spots, while the a-la-carte menu at Nautilus (in the hotel) is probably the best option for breakfast.

The casino in the hotel is nice, however they don't have NLH poker tables. I've read negative reviews re: smoke from the casino, but it's really not bad at all. You can smell the smoke a little in the Lobby but that's it. The whole area including the casino are well ventilated.

Overall - great experience and will likely go back one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TO77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a wonderful experience staying at the beautiful Renaissance Resort & Casino in Curaçao! The staff was very friendly and always helpful when attending to our needs. The Resort has the ultimate location and amenities for guests staying in Curaçao. The Concierge and Business Lounge on the second floor made our trip more efficient and delightful for business tasks. I highly recommend staying here whenever choosing your Curaçao Resort destination.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWhite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaguanas, Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our first trip to Curacao and we wanted to enjoy it to the max! Renaissance was a great choice we made, the hotel was very impressive! Close to the main shopping area and great view of the ocean. My family and I went with the all inclusive package and have no regrets. Being a vegetarian, I am always worried about what the hotel will offer me to eat. I was stocked when I saw the range of different items I can eat, even if I did not like what the buffet offered I can order a la carte. The only problem that we occured was when we first got to the hotel, with reference to understanding how the all inclusive worked. The all inclusive is limited too the resturants that are chosen for breakfast, lunch and dinner.... After a day or two we got the hang of and I ended up gaining 3pounds at the end of my trip! lol The only other down fall was that I had to sign bills for everything! I would say overall it was a great stay, very helpful staff and beautiful hotel. If I plan on going back to Curacao, Renaissance is the only place I will stay!:)

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room on the second floor, my room number was 205. It was great because the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rimchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have no idea why so many of the reviews are so complimentary about the service.
The staff at reception and in the 'Navigator' (concierge) area were fairly helpful but sorely lacking in number. This is a large resort and having three small desks at reception with rarely more than one receptionist working is wildly insufficient. The same for the Navigators. On the two occasions we went there for assistance there was only one person working the desk (with a trainee in tow) which led to inevitable long wait times.
The resort itself was very nice and the room was a good size, extremely clean and comfortable, with a very comfy bed. (We did upgrade on arrival to an "island view" room with balcony - the island view was dubious at best, being a view of a road and a unkempt baseball park). I am glad, however, we did not pay even more for an "Ocean View" room as, every day, views from most of the rooms would have been completely obscured by the massive cruise ships which, if they left late, also totally hid the sunsets from the beach bar.
There were a large number of good quality (expensive) shops in the resort and a good variety of restaurants in the Rif Fort part. We ate and drank at several and the standard was pretty good. (The Rif Fort bar was the best for prices and service.) We didn't eat in the hotel itself, so cannot comment on the food or service.
The beach/Infinity pool : fairly bizarre concept, being told the beach was on the 2nd floor and, whilst we initially had doubts, it actually works really well. The 'beach' was great and the 'pool' blended in perfectly.
The beach bar staff, however, were hopeless. The first time we went there we sat down and waited and waited; finally I went to the bar only to be told off for not waiting. The next time we waited even longer (15-20 mins) before I went to speak to the bar manager (?) who had already ignored us several times. Most of the tables had not been cleared for quite a while and other customers were getting equally poor service. And they charge a compulsory 15% (lack of) service charge!
Would we stay there again? Possibly. The standard of the resort is fairly high and the location is excellent, a five minute walk into town across the pontoon bridge. Have a drink at the Iguana Cafe or Bon Bimi (sp?) on the harbour-front; good views and music, but don't do it if you're in a hurry! Also we discovered too late some nice looking restaurants in the Waterfront Arches area - turn right after crossing the pontoon bridge.

Room Tip: If you are paying for an "Ocean View" room, check to ensure there is actually a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cossack-Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
3.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
2.9 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
351 reviews
6.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing