We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We reserved 18 rooms for friends and family for our wedding in Oct. 2011. The hotel was very accommodating, and they were willing to get very aggressive with their rates for a big group in off peak season.

The service was terrific, and the price to value was very strong. Good food, good drinks and nice people.

The hotel is a great "staging area" for a trip to the island. The man-made beach is visually nice, but it's basically just a big salt water pool. All the great beaches are located elsewhere on the island a 20-30 minute car ride away. It's a great place to hang close to nice restaurants and nightlife. And the drive to the beaches is pretty easy (although the downside of Curacao is their poor road signage)

The breakfast was very good with a bottomless Mimosas included. A very good overall experience.

Room Tip: Ocean front is the way to go. Resort View is to be avoided. Some of those rooms are overlooking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uga_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

973 - 979 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Renaissance Curacao. The location is absolutely unbeatable. It is an excellent property that offers all of the amenities of a major resort, but with easy walking access to shopping (adjacent to hotel) or the fun downtown Punda area (just over the pedestrian drawbridge).

The best feature at the Renaissance is the infinity beach/pool. You have to see pictures to appreciate the unique nature of this area. It looks and feels like an open beach complete with sand and salt water, but it falls off into the open water like a traditional infinity pool. Cruise ships dock just adjacent to the pool. Other ships come in and out of the port on the other side of the pool. It is a pretty cool process to watch, but not frequent enough to be disruptive. Surprisingly, it is also quiet. I took a nap on the beach one day and told my wife to wake me up if the cruise ship left so that I could watch it. I woke up and it was gone. She had been reading a book and hadn’t even noticed that the ship had left. We also never had any issues with crowds, even when the big cruise ships were docked.

The hotel is very clean. The rooms are nice and very quiet. Our room faced the beach/ocean area, and unless the balcony door was open, we didn’t hear a thing. The coffee shop, beach and lobby areas all offered free wifi, which made it easy to skype home each night to talk to our kids. The lobby sometimes smelled a little smoky due to the adjacent casino, but this never proliferated to the restaurant or any other area of the hotel. The onsite restaurant offers a nice buffet with a diversity of options. The restaurants in the Rif Fort area (next to the hotel) are good as well and offer great views of the downtown area.
Service at the resort was excellent as well. All of the staff that we interacted with were quite friendly and genuinely interested in pleasing the guests.

For a day trip, we highly recommend renting a car and driving to the area around Westpunt and going to some of the secluded beaches.

We’ll be back.

Room Tip: If booking an ocean view room, request a high floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MitcherF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The hotel is in a great location and has every thin you need. The infinity pool is great. The breakfast was excellent. It has a casino and a spa.

We stayed for a wedding party and got an unbelievable rate.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayneWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Its a nice hotel, big but the rooms are good, enough space and the kingsize beds are great, with a lot of pillows. Fresh towels everyday, airconditioning, tv, etc. We liked breakfast, there was enough choice. You can choose if you want to eat outside or inside. The pool beach is good, its not big but enough if you like to swim or just want a fresh up. Towelservice perfect. Its nice to see the big cruiseships in front of the hotel.
Its near downtown Willemstad, with nice places to eat, shops and harbour. Its nice to go to plasa bieu, you can eat there food from the island.
Its easy to rent a car and drive around the island, you can go to seaquarium, beaches on the westpoint etc.
Its a good place to stay, friendly people

Room Tip: If you want to sleep seperate book a room with 2 queensizebeds otherwise you have to share one kings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jans020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We booked our trip to Curacao through cheapcaribbean.com and got a really good deal. This is a wonderful resort. The Renaissance name has yet to disappoint me. If we return to Curacao I would definitely want to stay here again. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spacious and the room was bright and tastefully decorated. The plush king size bed was extremely comfortable. I was afraid I'd miss having a beach there, as it's a man made beach, not a real one. But the man made beach was actually pretty nice, with an infinity pool, sand, lots of beach chairs, and a bar where you can get yummy fruity drinks :) There are plenty of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. We rented a car while we were there, but alot of the time we walked to where ever we wanted to go.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laney86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Title says it all. It's like the hotel was built to be a 3-star with doors that slam shut, but then, the tv service, bed, food, shower and pool on the beach are all nice. There's a casino on the first floor where smoking is allowed. You can smell it in the lobby. I didn't notice the smell on my clothes until I got home. Could be a fantastic place with a little more care.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

There is no beach here period, infinity pool beach theme is cool and great if you have little ones. You are in downtown, so your central to riffort and other restaurants. Service is painfully slow in the main restaurant.....they dont care I suppose there is a 15% service charge on everthing in rhis hotel from a cup of cafe to food to rooms.....they have their 15 and expect more with a tip line on each bill. oh did i hate paying that at the restaurant. Everything is Euro expensive from coffee to meals ... and so is most of curacao.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelz4biz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
3.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
678 reviews
2.8 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
363 reviews
6.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $191 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing