We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with cocktails ”

Gouverneur de Rouville
Ranked #19 of 375 Restaurants in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated directly at the Anna Bay, with a beautiful view over the Handelskade and harbor entrance, you will find restaurant De Gouverneur (the Governor).This stately Curacaoan location you shouldn't miss, welcomes you from early morning to late at night for drinks, lunch and dinner. Lunch is served from 10:00 AM till 4:00 PM, dinner is served from 6:00 PM till 10:30 pm. Apart from their extensive, internationally orientated menu, they serve good local cuisine as well. De Gouverneur's service is a byword for friendliness, and the restaurant is therefore also very popular among st local inhabitants. For ten years now! Open: daily from 10 till midnight Prices: Lunch sandwiches, salads and authentic main courses: USD 13 - USD 22.70 Dinner: Starters USD 14.80, Soups USD 9.60, Main Courses USD 27.45, Desserts USD 9.60
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

Wandered in for lunch and the food was delicious,the service was good and the view was spectacular. Reasonably priced great,fresh food.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Regina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 57 of 3,376 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

The best carpaccio we ever ate. Really good food. Good service. Can be crowdy so reservation is important. Prices are not cheap but quality makes it good. Beautiful view on the balcony.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank donnyg322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019

When we got there we were waited on quickly in the bar. Then....we never saw the server again and we sat there for over 30 minutes with empty glasses. We inquired as to when we'd receive our second round and was told, "Coming right up!"

It wasn't until a very nice gentleman from the restaurant side had been in enough times to see us sitting there without drinks, when our evening turned around. He asked if we had been waiting long. We told him over 30 minutes. He mentioned that he noticed that. He asked if we wanted to be moved to the restaurant, and that is the only reason why we were in the bar, waiting on a table. The bar staff said there were none available. So, he took us to the best table at the restaurant! It was on a lanai, on the side, and we felt like we were the only people there!

The wait staff and management then went above and beyond to make sure we had an incredible experience. Which we did! Delicious food, beautiful view, all in all from that point forward was perfect!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tiffany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019

We were visiting Curaçao with another couple and stopped in to check out the restaurant and book dinner reservations for a later date. We were greeted by Jurdyan who showed us around and booked a table us in the lovely courtyard. On our way out we decided to stay for a drink.That's when we met Daley, our bartender. He was so much fun! He played all of our requests and made a couple of specialty drinks for the ladies. The manager, Nadim, also joined in the fun. What can I say? A drink turned into closing the place down. We had mentioned in passing that both couples were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversaries. A couple of days later we decided to stop in again for a nightcap. Daley's shift had just ended but stayed to chat with us for a few minutes. Since he knew we were celebrating our anniversary, he asked what our wedding song had been and the next thing we know, our song being played. Nicely done Daley! Our bartender that night was Eldrick and he was also great. The manager, Hannah, also chatted with us. Yet again, we had all of our requests played for us. All of a sudden one of the servers, Gislen, came dancing in which we took to mean that our music selection was a hit! Finally on our last night in Curaçao we arrived for dinner. We were greetd warmly by all of the staff. Once seated, Eldrick personally brough our drinks to us. We were lucky enough to have Jurdyan as our server. Gislen came over to say hello and we found out that she is quite the singer. She sang a beautiful song for us and let me tell you, she has an incredible cadence!

Our meals were delicious. When it was time for dessert, Jurdyan had remembered that we were celebrating our anniversaries and personally put together a selection of goodies complete with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate on our plates and topped off with a sparkler. By the time we were ready to leave, we were getting hugs from everyone.

We saw and did so many things during our week in Curaçaobut when asked about our trip, the first thing that comes to mind is the wonderful times we had at the Gouverneur. The staff made us feel like we were family. Thanks you so much Daley, Nadim, Eldrick, Hannah, Jurdyan and Gislen.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

We were in on a cruise ship for the day and went on a tour of the town. Our guide Lorraine recommended this place because of the coffee, as we told her we liked espresso. She also said they have interesting local specialties. We had a beautiful table on the porch with a view of the harbour. My husband had the tuna burger and said it was the best he’s ever had. I had something local with shredded chicken, Gouda cheese, rice, plantain chips and polenta fries which was also delicious. Beautiful and historic, this place might lure us back to Curaçao.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Debannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gouverneur de Rouville also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Gouverneur de Rouville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing