We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun bar!”

Gouverneur de Rouville
Ranked #15 of 274 Restaurants in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Situated directly at the Anna Bay, with a beautiful view over the Handelskade and harbor entrance, you will find restaurant De Gouverneur (the Governor).This stately Curacaoan location you shouldn't miss, welcomes you from early morning to late at night for drinks, lunch and dinner. Lunch is served from 10:00 AM till 4:00 PM, dinner is served from 6:00 PM till 10:30 pm. Apart from their extensive, internationally orientated menu, they serve good local cuisine as well. De Gouverneur's service is a byword for friendliness, and the restaurant is therefore also very popular among st local inhabitants. For ten years now! Open: daily from 10 till midnight Prices: Lunch sandwiches, salads and authentic main courses: USD 13 - USD 22.70 Dinner: Starters USD 14.80, Soups USD 9.60, Main Courses USD 27.45, Desserts USD 9.60
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“fun bar!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

i had a great time on my first night here. i needed something close to my hotel (my flight got in later, and i did not want to venture far from the hura kulanda hotel and spa) and this was perfect. started with the rum flight which was three different rums with a brownie bite for each! it's nice to sit along the bar and get the breeze, you can also watch the pontoon bridge swing open and close from the balcony above. nice view of punda across the way. overall, i had a lot of fun here, you meet so many people!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank girlflyingsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroenvdvelden, General Manager at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear reader,

Thank you so much for visiting our restaurant / bar. We greatly appreciate any kind of feedback and we are more than happy to hear you had a great time in our bar.

Please visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeroen van de Velden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,047
    866
    273
    93
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, Mi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Evening meal with beautiful views”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Friday night meal - had reservations for three, waited 15-20 mins for seating, no big deal but the bar crowd had a party going on, and by 9pm they were very very loud so waiting for seating was not the best for someone who wasn't in to that. We were fine but I wouldn't have wanted to be there for long... Our seating was on the balcony facing across the water to the painted waterfront architecture - a view that couldn't be matched anywhere in Curacao by my opinion. However, when I saw the inside of the building and it looked like a restaurant in the middle of Central Park, I vowed to return. Our meal was delicious, our staff very professional. They didn't return often, so if you wanted another drink or needed something, you had to work hard to get their attention. But the privacy was nice! I loved the place!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroenvdvelden, General Manager at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear reader,

We greatly appreciate your thoughtful comments that help us improve our operational daily activities. We fully agree that our bar on Friday can be crowded and from time to time very loud. However this should not disturb our other guests and fortunately usually this isn’t the case. We are glad to hear that our location and the restaurant exceeded your expectation. Therefore we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Jeroen van de Velden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, nice environment”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The food is ok. The prices are little bit high, but the place is very touristic (good location). So, it is worth a visit

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leo_viajandao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroenvdvelden, General Manager at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear reader,

Thank you for your visit and we appreciate your feedback. We are more than happy to hear you had a great time and would recommend us to others!

Please visit us again soon!

Jeroen van de Velden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It´s all about the scenary”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This restaurant is beautiful and is very well located. But I think the best they have to offer is a great port view, so it´s better to sit outside. The food is not so delicious, but expensive. Despite that, I would go again to taste a wine and enjoying the view.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroenvdvelden, General Manager at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear reader,

We would like to thank you for your honest feedback. Our location is one of the most important unique selling points of our restaurant. However we strive to provide the best quality and the best possible service within our capacities. We are sorry to hear this wasn’t the case during your evening out.

Hoping to welcome you back again!

Kind regards,

Jeroen van de Velden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Had to wait, didn't get an apology or any food and left hungry...”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We eat here, or from here, at least once a week. When we ordered some take-out (not based on their online take-out menu, which is some sort of fantasy menu) we were told it would take 20 minutes. When I arrived 23 minutes later not only did I still have to wait for the food but one of the meals (mine), couldn't be made because they didn't have one of the ingredients. They hadn't called or made any attempt to reach us (they know who we are), nor did they offer to quickly make something else or make any other type of effort to try and make up for the inconvenience.

While the food is fairly reliable in terms of quality (good), the service here has become patchy in the past two or three months. Some days it's fine, and other days the staff seem fairly rude, and everything takes a very long time. And I mean a long time by local standards - waiting for 20 minutes to get the bill, that sort of thing.

If you live here, you can never say never, but it will be a long time before I go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhlashPhlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroenvdvelden, General Manager at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear reader,

We greatly appreciate your thoughtful comments that helped us concerning the take-out menu during lunch. First of all we would like to apologize for the online menu that indeed has been placed on our website. This should have been communicated with our visitors that we placed the menu already, but it’s not ready for ordering just yet. Furthermore our policy related to take out service is to write down the customer details. We noticed that this didn’t happen during your order we apologize for this as well. In the near future we will arrange trainings for our staff related to this matter. Due to the fact you are a regular visitor we hope for your understanding and would like to see you back again soon.

We are sorry for the inconvenience that this may have cost you.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeroen van de Velden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gouverneur de Rouville also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Gouverneur de Rouville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing