We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice environment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gouverneur de Rouville

Gouverneur de Rouville
Ranked #14 of 269 Restaurants in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Situated directly at the Anna Bay, with a beautiful view over the Handelskade and harbor entrance, you will find restaurant De Gouverneur (the Governor).This stately Curacaoan location you shouldn't miss, welcomes you from early morning to late at night for drinks, lunch and dinner. Lunch is served from 10:00 AM till 4:00 PM, dinner is served from 6:00 PM till 10:30 pm. Apart from their extensive, internationally orientated menu, they serve good local cuisine as well. De Gouverneur's service is a byword for friendliness, and the restaurant is therefore also very popular among st local inhabitants. For ten years now! Open: daily from 10 till midnight Prices: Lunch sandwiches, salads and authentic main courses: USD 13 - USD 22.70 Dinner: Starters USD 14.80, Soups USD 9.60, Main Courses USD 27.45, Desserts USD 9.60
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

A really nice restaurant that had a beautiful environment. The food was really good. My only complaint is that I was hoping to have more options on the menu. I found the menu to be pretty limited and I expected more options to be listed. The staff was very nice and polite and I will say again how beautiful the scenery is there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,007
    836
    265
    90
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really cool place and view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

First off, as an American, I appreciated this place! They played Motown music inside and have photos of iconic American entertainers such as Marilyn Monroe, Elvis, James Brown, etc. I would suggest their bar for a drink as it has a cool environment and wonderful view of the Handelskade from across the water. I suggest making a reservation for the porch in order to get a view of the Handelskade. Otherwise they have the garden seating which is still enjoyable. They also let you put two very small high top tables together on their little patio so you can view the Handelskade and eat as well. Those are usually for the outside bar but they will happily accommodate. I have to say, this place had the friendliest waiter of any establishment on the island. I cannot remember his name but he's a young black man who had the biggest smile and was very courteous, gave great suggestions and was very attentive to our desires. He gladly took photos of us and was so friendly. The food was pretty good. We ordered banana soup which was interesting and good but I can't say I would order it again. The soup almost seemed as if it had curry in it, which it may have! I ordered the trio sea food with tuna, red snapper and shrimp and my man ordered the steak. My favorite was the tuna so if I could choose I would order a dish just with the tuna, it was that good. I definitely enjoyed this place, more for the view, novelty and service than the food and drink.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank georgiarep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ate here on our last night on the island. It was delicious. The service was one of the best we had on the island. They weren't running too far behind on "island time". We didn't have room for dessert. Our entrees were great. They also had cloth coasters which i have never seen before. Very enjoyable experience and if you sit on the balcony you get a spectacular view of Punda.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mailer1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to View Punda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had a very enjoyable meal here. The quality was very good and the choices included local specialties to seafood. The waiter was very attentive and extremely courteous. Definitely would recommend a visit, and you can't beat the view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mamachompkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Different food and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nice view facing punda prices are ok attentive waitstaff decent portions only the placed was hot no fans in Order to be comfortable!!!!!! You can't park on the rear for free no service charge so you have to add the tip!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gouverneur de Rouville also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Gouverneur de Rouville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing