We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Class of Curacao”
Review of The Wine Cellar

The Wine Cellar
Ranked #1 of 277 Restaurants in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Lindenhurst
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Class of Curacao”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Wine Cellar is an annual stop for us, never disappointing and always memorable. From the friendly wait staff to the cordial owners/hosts, the Wine Cellar provides first class service. The menu is eclectic, ranging from fish to steaks. From start to finish, dishes are well presented and well portioned. The stuffed mushrooms and the savory sauce were at their usual best. On our last visit both the rack of lamb and the grouper were outstanding. Finishing the meal with the cherry jubilee, prepared tableside, was a perfect ending to a splendid evening. Daniel and Anton are to be complimented on maintaining the family tradition of this excellent restaurant. As always, another pleasant evening was experienced at this culinary gem in Curacao!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joewslsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    944
    188
    68
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We waited until the last night of our trip (capstone) to experience the Wine Cellar. We were NOT diassapointed. Fabulous service and the owner even came a checked on us. We enjoyed a wonderful 5 course meal (with complimentary port). We seriously shut down the restaurant and found that our rental car would not start. The owner and his son came to check on us, brought us a phone to use and some water to drink while we waited. A fine gentlemen. I would recommend the Wine Cellar to anyone visiting Curacao.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The Wine Cellar has our vote as the best restaurant of its class in Curacao. Quality food, great presentation and ambiance. The shrimp were terrific and the double chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream - well just outstanding. This family owned and operated restaurant will see us again and again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Deserving of the #1 spot in Curacao!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Wine Cellar was truly a dining pleasure. My husband and I ate dinner there twice on our 10-day trip.

The service is excellent - on every level.

The herb and goat cheese stuffed mushrooms are incredible. After the first meal, I knew I had to go back, just for that dish. The escargot are also great - and I'm not normally a big fan. We also had the grouper and the sauteed shrimp in garlic and tomato - both excellent.

The wine list is the best on the island (that we saw). We really enjoyed having quality French red wines served at the proper temperature, which is not something that happens frequently in the islands.

I highly recommend this place, and look forward to visiting again on our next trip to Curacao.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kirstenbradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Food and Service!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I recently returned from a two week vacation in Curacao. The Wine Cellar is without question the best restaurant on the island. We tried some of the other restaurants highly rated by Tripadvisor - Kome/O'Porto/Gouverneur de Rouville - but none came close to the food quality and splendid service found at the Wine Cellar. Our six visits were the highlight of our vacation!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Cellar also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to The Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing