We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food, Better Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wine Cellar

The Wine Cellar
Ranked #1 of 272 Restaurants in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Better Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

The food at The Wine Cellar was fantastic. It was a short cab ride from the Marriott Beach Resort and was situated in a cute little area of town. Everything we ate (Foie Gras, Salmon, Lamb, salads) was delicious and the wine options were plentiful. Anton, the owners son, came over to introduce himself and upon finding out we were on our honeymoon bought us port wines for post-dinner and sent us home with a half bottle of champagne as well. The service was incredible and they were more than generous with their gifts for us. Would definitely recommend you stop by and check out The Wine Cellar if you are in Curacao.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraN11380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    926
    184
    67
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Reviews are spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We dined at The Wine Cellar in November 2013, based on the overwhelmingly positive reviews. We were not disappointed.

It is a short cab ride from most of the local hotels, and that is recommended. The manager and staff were all very welcoming and attentive. Although I have never been to Frace, the decor is what I would imagine of a French bistro. The wine selection, not surprisngly, we excellent. Food was very good as well, particularly the lobster bisque and rack of veal. The mushroom pasta dish was also very good, but it is very large and rich, so bring your appetite unless you have a microwave for leftovers. Although we were too full for dessert, we enjoyed watching the presentation of the brandy flamed Crepes Suzette. It was a little pricey as compared to other local restaurants, but not outrageously so.

Great dining experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LonelyBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culebra
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile


This restaurant was a highlight of our trip, together with Fishalicious and Bistro Le Clochard - the top 3 restaurants in the Willemstad area (Punda and Otrabanda), as far as I am concerned.
We went for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had beef carpaccio and the duck liver pate (huge portion) to start with and then ordered the Chateaubriand Bernaise to share. The waiter told us that their meats are the best on the island, and I believe it now. I highly recommend this restaurant.



Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olablu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Lake, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Dining Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Quaint atmosphere, amazing service, attention to details and the best food we've ever had. Myself, and our fellow travelers all agree, we would love to have a Wine Cellar in our hometown. We all dine out frequently, and can sum up our experience there as Dining Perfection. We will anxiously anticipate our return to Curacao and many more visits to the Wine Cellar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somonauk, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best food and meal experience in Curacao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Wonderful meal, service, ambience - it had it all! Small, cozy yet classy restaurant. Service was absolutely impeccable and staff was so courteous and professional and the food was out of this world. Warm, intimate setting and atmosphere and even a visit from the chef. Great meal with an even better dessert of flaming crepes! Wow! You absoutely have to make this a stop on your next trip. A little pricey, we spent about $125 per couple, but how often do you get to vacation in Curacao?! And it was worth every single cent!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Cellar also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to The Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing