We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Possibly the Best Meal Ever Enjoyed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wine Cellar

The Wine Cellar
Ranked #1 of 272 Restaurants in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Possibly the Best Meal Ever Enjoyed”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you're someone who is typically skeptical of restaurants with stellar reviews, then fear not, The Wine Cellar will not disappoint.

Anton, one of the owners, made this culinary experience memorable from start to finish. It certainly was a treat to receive personalized attention from Anton, learning both about our food and the history of his family's restaurant.

The duck liver pâté appetizer is sinful and delicious. Just when I thought nothing in the world could be more amazing, the beef tenderloin topped with foie gras rocked my world with every bite. I typically enjoy sharing with my wife, but it's hard to let go of even a tiny morsel when each one is so cherished.

Crêpes Suzette prepared table side concluded our magnificent meal, perhaps the best we've ever enjoyed. Our standard of culinary excellence has been raised to a new level, thanks to Anton and his entire staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dauntless16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    922
    183
    67
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere,food,service,wine”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Most comfortable and relaxed atmosphere from all of the places we went during our vacation. Great place for couples and special occasions (so try to change out of your beachwear). After dinner, we were pleasantly surprised that an employee escorted us to our car.

Highly recommend as other places tended to miss on at least one mark. Five of us, with wine and dessert, came to $221.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank World-travellerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best service on the island”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The good:
- very attentive, friendly service
- intimate atmosphere ( collections of paintings on wall, ranging from hotel room watercolours to interesting impressionists )
- we all had fish, grilled to perfection, moist and juicy. Vegetables were fresh and crunchy

The bad
- a tad overpriced

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank boereklonkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went toThe Wine Cellar to celebrate my 50th Birthday with friends. One of the best meals ever!!! Had to say it the the highlight of our trip to Curacao. Travelled with my husband and 2 other couples. Excellent host/owner who will pick you up and drop you at your hotel. Our waitress was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Denisewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amour pour la nourriture”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We visit Curacao for the first time, and we love to dine out. This restaurant is really a "MUST" on your restaurant list if you go to Curacao. I travel a lot but the food in the Wine Cellar was spectacular, delicious, perfect taste , it was the best combination of relax atmosphere and top class food. My compliments to the chef ; you can feel the" love for the food " in its presentation and the mix of flavors.

The wine selection is not very wide but if you know about wines they have a fair small variety.

We stayed at the Royal Sea Aquarium and they offer a free shuttle from and to the Wine Cellar, even though we had a rental car, we decided to take the shuttle as it was only me and my wife, the kids stayed at the Resort.

I will highly recommend the Wine Cellar for couples , for that special romantic dinner and some quality time together during vacation with the whole family. I don't consider it an attractive restaurant for kids or teenagers.

Tip: Although there is no indication for a certain dress code, Go business Casual / Cocktail attire.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loved_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Cellar also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to The Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing