We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must-stop for dinner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wine Cellar

The Wine Cellar
Ranked #1 of 269 Restaurants in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Springfield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must-stop for dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We tried this restaurant, based on reviews we read, and we were not disappointed! You have to dine here if you visit Curacao! This was the best meal of our visit. Everything had a fresh and flavorful taste, and the presentation of each meal was absolutely beautiful. Everything from the French bread, fresh salad, shrimp with garlic and herbs, to the crepes suzette was delicious! The other entrees ordered in our group were equally delicious! The atmosphere was very charming and inviting. This is a family-owned business, and we had the pleasure of visiting with Niko and his 2 sons. They took good care of us during our dinner and made my daughter's birthday extra special. If we visit Curacao again, this place will be on our list of restaurants to visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ksdameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    911
    181
    67
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed at the door and got a nice table. A lot of choises in the menu. Nice wine list to choose from. The service was excellent and the food well prepared and well presented. The atmosphere was nice. We had a really nice dinner.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Storsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Third best restaurant in Curacau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Seafood and steak were good. Owner visited our table and provided excellent service. Downside to restaraunt was that it is very cramped.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“a rare treat in Curaçao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Fine dining seemed to be the exception in Willemstad but fortunately we followed other reviewers' advice and booked a reservation with the Wine Cellar. Since it was located in Punda, across "town" from us, we availed ourselves of their free shuttle service. What a treat. A multigeneration Dutch family runs the restaurant and serves truly outstanding dishes in a small restaurant that feels like you're been transported back to the Netherlands. It was a busy evening but the entire staff demonstrated grace under pressure and the serivce was impeccable. Like many restaurants in Curcaçao it was rather expensive but value quotient was off the scale.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTravelers00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

we had a wonderful meal here and while the restaurant was limited with other diners, we did feel like we were treated exactly as the queen is when she dines there. excellent fresh fish of the day!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Cellar also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to The Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing