We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's Day at The Wine Cellar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wine Cellar

The Wine Cellar
Ranked #1 of 272 Restaurants in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day at The Wine Cellar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We followed TripAdvisor's reviews and booked The Wine Cellar for our Valentine's Day dinner. It was great, the food and service were excellent. The restaurant tables were nicely decorated for Valentine's Day and the preset menu still had choices. We were offered a free glass of port because the restaurateur felt we had waited too long for our taxi to arrive to take us back to our hotel. What a nice touch! Thank You.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TBee017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    922
    183
    67
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

As everyone else has said, the food is excellent and the hosts are incredibly generous. We were on the Caribbean Princess and had stopped on Curacao for the day. My husband and I had decided we wanted to have a special dinner off the ship one night, and we couldn't have been more pleased. After the meal was over, the owner of the restaurant actually drove us back to the port so we didn't have to pay a taxi. On the way he gave us a quick tour of some of the historical areas of the island. If we return to Curacao, we'll definitely get reservations for the Wine Cellar.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food, Gracious Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Twice we dined at The Wine Cellar and it was definitely worth it. The food was excellent both times and we got fantastic service from the owners as well as staff. The walls are covered with wonderful art that gives you plenty to talk about over dinner. Loved it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank globalbetty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and lovely wine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The food is amazing. Beef carpaccio is definitely recommended and the local fish with mango sauce is very tasty. I love the restaurant. We had a great time and therefore it's highly recommended. The staff is very friendly as well. Keep up the good work guys!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester (Upstate), New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Personal service that cares, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful valentines dinner at The Wine Cellar. The owner, his son, and two waitresses made sure things were moving and we were taken care of throughout the meal. They bent over backwards as I was allergic to fish and am not a lover of goose pate, their appetizer options for this special valentines meal. Although they did not have to, they took the price off the dinner which was a full course price, and apologized profusely. Hey, I know I am difficult to feed, but this was over the top and very generous.

By the way, my wife thought the pate was great.

We then had a delicious pumpkin and sweet potato soup, lamb chop, and filet mignon. All were cooked perfectly, presented in a colorful and balanced way, and tasted excellent. Service throughout was attentive, and our water glasses after a day on/in the water were filled no less than 15 times. Then desert came, a cream cake with fresh strawberries and ice cream, just perfect.

All this at an affordable premium rate, under $100usd per person with wine.

We can't think of anything we would change (except have a boring appetizer for me?), and we are very tough graders. If you are in Curaçao and want a ine dining experience, I strongly recommend the wine cellar.

Helpful?
1 Thank rtfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Cellar also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to The Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing