We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and so so food , We might have caught the bad day.”

Landhuis Daniel Plantation Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 276 Restaurants in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Surrounded by tropical vegetation, the cool and shady terrace in front of the plantationhouse serves as a bistro like setting for the restaurants eclectic menu made up of French, Dutch, Caribbean and Asian dishes. A place where nature, history and superb cuisine come together
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overpriced and so so food , We might have caught the bad day.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We drove around and ended up at Landhuis Daniel on Monday because most other restaurants were closed. The atmosphere was pretty good but the food was nothing to write home about. We asked for medium rare steak and it came mostly rare and rather bland. We asked for bottled water for our child and received seltzer that cost like 5 dollars. The white fish and seafood soup(creole style) was ok. Everything was very expensive. We paid 90 dollars for 2 adult meals and one kid's spaghetti. The waitress was not very attentive, never checked on us after the meals were served.Empty plates were not cleaned up for a while, and once she did clear the table she still did not bring the bills until we asked for it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inch2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    143
    54
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Local organic Quixotic Cuisine”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Open air-sans roof, chickens, and critters somewhere nearby with the melodic hospitable pigeon english is how you are greeted in the dining slash bar welcome area. The food aroma fills the air with fresh herbs and roasted meats. Service is paced for the Caribbean lifestyle. The fish is fresh and excellent prepared with Dutch restraint and Latin audacity. Dress for warmth unless your are 60 years old. Linger, chat, and spend $150 US or $115 EUR for two.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrSkya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for breakfast”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We loved "Daniel". We went there because my wife was looking for pannekoekken like she had enjoyed in Holland many years ago, and they had a dozen different types, both sweet and savory. During our stay we went twice, and 4 of the different types, which were all excellent. They also had what must have been the best coffee I've ever had in a restaurant; prepared with a machine similar to an espresso machine but with a much larger "head". The rest of the menu looked really excellent as well, unfortunately did not get a chance to go there for dinner.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drken567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stopped at Landhuis Daniel for dinner one evening. We loved the open air dining and the breeze kept it comfortable. It is outside so be sure you have bug spray on in the evening time (if you forget, no worries, they have some on hand for you)

The service was great and our server made a number of menu recommendations that were excellent.
First we began with a glass of white sangria while we reviewed the menu. The sangria is devine!... with mango and pineapple and grapes floating in the glass.

My husband had the mussels for an appetizer which were prepared much like escargot and covered with melted cheese. I can't remember for the life of me what I oredered but it was very good too.

For a main course he selected the creole bouliabase which was delicate and very tastey. I opted for the hanger steak which was braised and served in a gravy, accompanying it were some very tastey grilled vegtables, poached pear and french fries. It was very delicious. If I was to order it again I would choose rice over the fries or make a recommendation that they be accompanied with either boiled potatoes and dill or spaetzle.

For desert hubby had a slice of apple pie which was incredible!! - topped with a mulberry sherbet, and whipping cream. I ordered the flaming creme brule, flaming with 151 proof barcadi. The overproof rum and brown sugar topping made the creme brule outstanding.

They have a very nice wine selection, we selected a modestly priced chardonney.

Sangria, Appetizers, entree and deserts with a bottle of wine came to $121 including tip. Very reasonable for an evening of fine dining.

We will be back for certain.!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Say-No-2-Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A great birthday celebration”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our first trip to Landhuis Daniel - the food was very authentic and fun. I would recommend a visit here when one is staying in Westpunt.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stewsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landhuis Daniel Plantation Restaurant also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Landhuis Daniel Plantation Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing