We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Curaçao”
Review of Iguana Cafe

Iguana Cafe
Ranked #42 of 275 Restaurants in Willemstad
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Dutch, Bar, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place in Curaçao”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I ate here several nights during our stay in Curaçao. It's right on the waterfront. The service is good - ambiance is spot on and the food quite tasty at good prices. We tried the fresh fish of the day -red snapper and lion fish both quite yummy. I had a local dish called chicken estofa which again was so good -big tender chunks of chicken served with salad and white rice. Piña Coladas are good too. This was my favorite restaurant on the whole island, come here and feel the island spirit of Curaçao.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A56Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    644
    429
    99
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Grab an Amstel Bright and some local cuisine while you watch boats!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This little cafe is all outside, under umbrellas in case of bad weather. It sits directly on the river - 5 steps further would have put me in the river. Occasionally, the river might have an odor to it, but when we ate there, it was fine. It was cool to see big boats go by, some being pulled by tug boats. There is also a moving bridge that slides from side to side to allow the boats to pass, so it's interesting to watch that happen (it happened twice while we ate). This is the perfect place for a light meal or brunch/lunch. A lot of the menu is in Dutch, but our waitress explained what everything was. Grab an Amstel Bright and some local cuisine while you watch the boats go by!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, great view”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

An outdoor patio restaurant that is right beside the Pontoon Bridge, you can watch it open and close as you eat.
Food here is good, we ate here twice for dinner during our stay and liked it both times (I had 2 crab dishes, can't remember what the husband had). Also the frozen cocktails here taste great and they are a decent price.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank feetpeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracay, Venezuela
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excelente sitio”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Best option for a cold beer, at 6 oclack the have happy hour.

Muy buen sition, y siempre fresco, las cervezas frias. uy nos tomamos muchisimas

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great setting and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for a beer as the sunset. The location on the quayside is great so we decided to eat. had a steak each which
came fairly quickly and was good and reasonably priced. despite being busy service was very quick when reordering scoops.

There was a band providing entertainment and were very good adding to the vibe and atmosphere.

In short, well worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbeaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguana Cafe also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Iguana Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing