We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"...by the content of their Karakter."”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Karakter Curacao

Karakter Curacao
Ranked #9 of 357 Restaurants in Curacao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Dutch, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"...by the content of their Karakter."”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The beach surrounding Karakter is blue the way you imagine it in your fantasy of the tropics. The tables are arranged in the outdoor space to take maximum advantage of the view. But make the effort to get there for the food. There were 4 in my party. Three of us had the burger and one had a steak sandwich. The burgers arrived cooked to order; they got it right from rare to well done. The steak was also perfectly cooked and tender. We had a difference of opinion at our table about the burger buns. The consensus was that the doughy texture with no flavor of its own enhanced the burger experience. One person in our party disliked the texture and lack of flavor. There was no disagreement, however, about the great quality of the thin fries on the side. The place was busy, but it didn't seem to affect the service. The staff was friendly, efficient and aimed to please. Karakter is a little out of the way piece of paradise. The only drawback was the number of aggressive flies at the time of day--not the restaurant's fault, but a few strategically placed fans might have helped.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    295
    56
    31
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience in an unlikely spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We discovered a wonderful dining experience at the Karakter beach restaurant which is just down below the home we rented in Coral estate in Curacao. Karakter restaurant is definitely being guided by a great chef who knows food and fine dining. For lunch we tried the sirloin salad as well as the burger. Both were excellent.
For dinner we tried Wahoo, Red Snapper as well as lobster. Outstanding and prepared to perfection.

Sat. evening they have live entertainment and tables set up in the sand beside the ocean. A magical evening. During the day the restaurant serves lunch on the beach or on the deck.

We got to experience a wedding being set up on the pier. Too bad we weren't invited. Maybe next time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kmsdodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO BEACH, FLORIDA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“LIONFISH! YUMM!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

My gal & had a delightful seaside dinner here last night. The resort is under renovation but the restaurant and beach facility are in operation now. The setting is very cool, romantic and "vibey"! They had live entertainment to further set the mood. We started off with a couple of tapas. The bruschetta combo was excellent, the coconut shrimp, just OK. I think because one of the ingredients was worcestershire, which tastes a bit odd and out of place on shrimp. For our entres I had the lionfish (see photo) which was absolutely incredible. Both in taste and in presentation. There was nothing left on my plate. She had the snapper with a lobster risotto which was also good, but not on the same level as the lionfish special. Prices are commiserate with what you get. Not cheap, but not obscenely expensive. With 2 tapas, 2 entrees, a bottle of wine and 2 cocktails, the bill was $130 before tip. $160 total. Not bad for a high end dinning experience. If I one off thing to say about the evening it would be the cocktails. I ordered a Mojito and it was watery, weak, and sour. Not much mint, or rum, and no sugar. They re-made it, but it came out exactly the same. Not a deal breaker, but come on, this is an island destination. You should know how to make a good, even great Mojito. Especially in a place like this.
All said, I still think that this is a place you shoud try, even if it is a bit out of the way. And by out of the way, I mean it is a long lonesome road to get here. If you are on vacation and have a rental car, you better have GPS!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MS&KHMexicoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Favorite Dinner Spot on Curacao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We loved the ambiance of eating a sunset dinner here that we returned for dinner a second time here! The food was excellent, the wait staff was attentive and friendly, and the view can't be beat. Along the same lines as Shor, only better!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RebL1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronten, Flevoland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice view and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Relaxing beach front restaurant to lounge, sunbath, lunch and diner. Perfect food but quite expensive. Staff is very friendly good service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karakter Curacao also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Karakter Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing