We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable”
Review of Daaibooi Beach

Daaibooi Beach
Ranked #37 of 147 things to do in Curacao
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A romantic little beach surrounded by towering cliffs.
Hoofddorp
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Spend an weekday afternoon here, was nice and quiet. In weekends it is suppoost to be busy No admission. Beach chairs for rent NAF 10 , NAF 5 returned if you return the chair. Inexpensive Beach bar for a nice cold beer and some food (food is dutch oriented). Nice snorkel area, enough shade from palm tree's and little "huts" available. Also free Wifi available, not to work but to share the beautiful scene with friends on Facebook :-).
Good place to be away from the resorts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank massihpersad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    99
    37
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Better for sunbathing than swimming”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

There was no admission charge for the beach, but there was a charge to use the restrooms. There is a snack bar and lots of parasols and palm trees for shade. Once you enter the water, the footing is a bit treacherous, there is lots of coral and sharp rocks underwater. So this beach is better for sunbathing than swimming

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank livingtothefullest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forde, Norway
Level Contributor
235 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Its Average, but ....”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

a good place to be if you lower your expetations, its not clean ,
flies and other animals everywhere, but a good place to swim and enjoy a day with cheap dutch snacks(good quality) and drinks ("snekprices" and volume), the cheapest beach on Curacao if you think about service, to rent a chair/beachlayer is only 5nafl

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Corelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Playa daaibooi”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was a pretty beach, with a beach bar and facilities. The beach offered a little more expansive views than beaches like Playa Khalki. Not so closed in by cliffs and much more sand. it is nicer for beach goers and not adjacent to a resort so there is much more beach with many more chairs avaiable for rent. We saw many beautiful brids as we checked out the area, We didnt eat at the beach bar but the beer was cold and inexpensive. We did some snorkling and saw a few fish, so i would recommend Playa Khalki over Daai Booi for snorkel and probably diving as well.

The beach does get rocky as you reach the waterline but the water is smooth and clear!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tkern70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Less People - Nice Beach”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

For some reason this beach doesn’t get as much publicity or print as some of the other beaches on Curacao. We spent a full day at the beach and it offers similar amenities to the other beaches with visited on the island.

No admission charge. Nice palapas to provide shade.

Lounge rental was cheaper than most beaches - $6.00 per person but you get a $3.00 refund when you return the lounge prior to 6:00 P.M.

Restaurant on site – A little more basic than some of the others beach restaurants on the island. We both had hot dogs, French fries and sodas. Can’t remember the price but it was our cheapest lunch (by a lot).

Birds – A large number of finch/canary like birds plus Baltimore Orioles hang around the restaurant. Great viewing fun.

As with most of the beaches on the island the waterline is rocky and dive booties or aqua socks are very beneficial.

We spent the day snorkeling and floating on noodles in the water. The highlight of my week snorkeling on Curacao was viewing a moray eel, at Daaibooi, for more than 10 minutes, as he glided through and around the rubble in 4 to 5 feet of water.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DePere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daaibooi Beach also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Curacao, Caribbean
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Daaibooi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing