We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient shore diving access w restaurant”
Review of Playa Porto Marie

Playa Porto Marie
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Western Curacao Buggy Adventure
Ranked #7 of 147 things to do in Curacao
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Convenient shore diving access w restaurant”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Able to drive up and unload gear and tanks at the on site dive shop. The dive shop personnel was very friendly and helpful. Easy access to the reef.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyK121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    691
    308
    65
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This is paradise!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Simply the BEST beach in Curaçao. Good to spend the whole day at. Good for scuba diving, snorkeling, swimming, tanning, sightseeing and sunset watching.

Helpful?
2 Thank Watamula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great beach”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We visited this beach which was close to our villa and were very satisfied for the most part. There is a small entrance fee ($2.50 U.S.) per person and lounge chairs are $3.50 each. There is good sand. They have two small rock berms that project about 50 feet or more from the beach and there MANY fish to see a close distance from the beach if you are new to snorkeling. Not as much shade as some of the other beaches but we made do. We did not eat any food but had a couple of VERY small drinks for about $13.00 U.S. this was after I could attract the attention of one of the four pretty rude waitstaff who did not seem to be busy at all. I would suggest bringing your own food and beverages.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Phillip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Snorkeling!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We enjoyed our first visit so much, we returned for a second afternoon at the beach.

Nice facilities, good enough beach bar/food, plenty of chairs/shade for a reasonable fee.

My husband went on 2 shore dives for $35 ($26 first dive/rental, $9 for refill tank).

We snorkeled two days and saw: spotted ray, lion fish, 2 types of eels, octopus and of course the usual plethora of tropical fish.

By far, my favorite place on the island.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Msturte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“no shade so we had to leave”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Arriving at 3pm on New Year's Day, I should have expected the crowds but I was still surprised by the absolute unavailability of any shaded areas in which to lay down our stuff. We walked the nice beach from one end to the other. I expected to see more people snorkeling since I had read more about the two offshore reefs right off the beach at Porto Marie as compared to any of the other beaches. We ended up spending a very short time at this beach but it must attract a lot of day trippers from the cruise ships. Luckily you don't have to pay till you get on the beach unlike at Cas Abou where you have to pay at the entrance to the beach without knowing what lies in store for you at the actual beach. Although we were disappointed by the crowds and lack of any shade, at least we didn't pay the $3 per person entrance fee having seen the beach first.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rvansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Porto Marie also viewed

 

Been to Playa Porto Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing