We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Substation Curacao

Substation Curacao
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover the Unknown Depths with this unique 5-person submarine in Curaçao. The Curasub can descend to depths up to 1,000ft (320meters). It’s equipped with the latest technology and certified by Germanischer Lloyd’s which adheres to the latest safety regulations.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The great crew at substation made our tv shoot a success. Bruce was a pleasure and Barbara was a fantastic pilot. We were able to get all the shots we needed. A great experience for our crew. Looking forward to the next chance to dive with them.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weyburn, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular isn't a Good Enough Word!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was definitely "the" highlight of our Curacao vacation!
From the fun, knowledgeable staff to the dive itself, it's a memory we'll hold for a lifetime!
Thanks to our Pilot Tiko, who took us to 613 ft! Incredible beyond words!
This once-in-a-lifetime adventure was worth every single penny!
Highly recommend the Curasub for anyone looking for adventure not available anywhere else in the world and for breathtaking beauty at depths no scuba divers can reach!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bensons2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing. This is one of the last frontiers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is amazing. Yes, I know that word gets thrown around a lot (eg. “This cheesecake is amazing!”) This really is:

This is one of the last unexplored places on earth. Trimix diving allowed specially-trained scuba divers to go to these depths for 8 minutes, and then ascend slowly over the course of about 4 hours to allow the body to adjust to the pressure change. Now, anyone can jump in the sub with absolutely no effect at all. You can bring a notepad, a camera and your friends.

I have scuba dived in the past (PADI open water certified) and this was a whole new ballgame.

This is not some third-world operation either: All of the staff were very professional and the pilots followed a strict safety protocol. Everything was double-checked and verbally confirmed. Our sub pilot (Bruce) maintained radio contact with home base at all times, and vitals were monitored and periodically reported (O2, cabin pressure, power, etc).

The pilot (Bruce) made the experience even better. Not only was he a very personable guy, he was also very knowledgeable, pointing out various marine life and reciting latin names and behaviours while our jaws were on the floor in a state of wonder.

This was an unforgettable experience.

Side note: The snorkelling outside the substation’s home base and to the east was great, but watch for boats and jet-skis. Stick close to the rock breakwalls.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank timvan_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
145 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Go where 99.999999999% will never go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is the ONLY place in the world you can have this experience. We surprised our daughter while at Curaçao during a cruise. It was a most memorable experience. I can't say enough about the kindness of the staff. We felt genuinely special and even spent time talking with the owner of the acquarium. Be aware, this is a small, tight space and you are in it for 90 min. If you are large in size, or claustrophobic... Keep this in mind. Go, enjoy and do something few people in the world will ever do.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmctimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once-in-a-lifetime underwater experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This trip is not cheap, but if you are able to swing the cost, it is well worth it. Descending into the depths of the ocean (OK, 500 feet below, but still much further than I've ever been before) was an incredible experience. At times I felt like I was on a different planet. This allows you to go to depths unreachable through snorkeling or scuba diving, so if you are curious about the ocean, this is a great way to experience it. Everyone in the operation was professional, courteous, and extremely knowledgeable. Our guides, Barbara and Tico, knew the answer to every question we had and let us know all about the different types of aquatic life we were seeing. The sub is pretty compact, but we were comfortable enough for the 1.5 hours of our trip (although I think my boyfriend and I were both ready to stand up and stretch at the end).

Overall, this was an amazing experience and I highly recommend Substation Curacao!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Briarvista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Substation Curacao also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Substation Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing