We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Substation Curacao

Substation Curacao
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover the Unknown Depths with this unique 5-person submarine in Curaçao. The Curasub can descend to depths up to 1,000ft (320meters). It’s equipped with the latest technology and certified by Germanischer Lloyd’s which adheres to the latest safety regulations.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Fl
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

This was by far the best experience I've ever had on a Caribbean island! What a wonderful way to see the ocean and its inhabitants. Very knowledgeable staff lead you on a spectacular trip down further than any diver can go where you encounter beautiful fish, corals and sponges. So unique, this is truly an adventure of a lifetime!! Worth making a trip to Curacao just for this opportunity.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MinkeMysticeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Even my teenagers loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

Took a "dive" with my wife and my 2 "hard to impress" teenagers on 15 March. EVERYONE loved it -- and left feeling in awe of the experience. I would reiterate what has been written in previous reviews - professionally run operation with friendly and highly competent staff. We were made to feel at ease and valued guests from the moment we arrived all the way until we left at the end of the day. Sub itself is small - but not unreasonable by any means. Our pilot was great (thanks, Barbara!) and knowledgable about everything we were seeing. The actual dive (> 500 feet!) really cannot be described with words - or even pictures - and must be experienced! Expensive - but is once in a lifetime event that should not be missed if visiting Curacao.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ethan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go Deep with this Unique Life Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Ever dreamed of taking a trip in a true deep diving submarine just like Jaques Cousteau?!!! Want to be Sir Richard Branson for a day?!!! If you think about it, only a few humans have ever been able to or even get the chance to travel so deep into the ocean. You go much deeper than any sport diver can ever dare to explore! This is your chance for a truly unique life experience that is at very reasonable prices (if you consider what you are doing). This business is run very professionally. The management and staff are extremely personable, knowledgable and very enthusiastic about their work. This is really something you only get to see in movies so this your chance to live your life to the maximum depths of what you can dream! Definitely recommended!!! Trip price includes a two hour dive, dive certificate, choice of souvenir T Shirt and a computer memory key filled with photos taken by a professional underwater scuba photographer. AMAZING!!!! Still revelling on a natural high from this incredible adventure!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexiaFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

This submersible is truly amazing. I was there with a school group from my college to study the coral reefs in Curaçao. We all had the amazing opportunity to dive substation Curaçao. I was in the submersible with one of my professor's who has completed many research dives in submersibles before and even he was impressed by the quality of the organization there.

I would tell everyone that the trip is most definitely worth the cost!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nelson_ca6793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience, very professional operation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have had the good fortune to have made deep dives on research submersibles in the past and had questions about what a tourist sub operation in the Caribbean might be like. No worries. The sub was built by a well known and respected company and is maintained and operated to very high professional standards. Starting with the pre-dive briefing, continuing through the dive, and finishing with the post-dive de-brief, everything was top notch. There aren't many opportunities for most people to get to 400 feet and deeper underwater, so if you have the desire this is a great way to do it in safety and comfort.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Substation Curacao also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Substation Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing