We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mambo Beach

Mambo Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.00*
and up
Curacao Island and Mambo Beach Tour
Ranked #18 of 145 things to do in Curacao
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Absolutely beautiful! We took a short, cheap bus from the floating market in downtown Willemstad and spent the whole day laying on the beach. It was $3/person to enter the Sea Aquarium beaches, and we payed $6/person for "luxe" beach beds (one step up from the $3/person classic beach bed, and worth the extra $3!). Club Cabana was a great choice for drinks and snacks, but the entire waterfront is lined with wonderful options. I hope to be back soon!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    236
    113
    41
    28
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
626 reviews
274 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO RELAX DURING DAY FROM 7AM TIL NOON”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a great beach although very commercial, you can relax during the day from first thing in the morning until the sun really burns around noon. A breakfast buffet is served daily for only $20 and cocktail are available at the sports bar. After 10am you can enjoy appetizers and soft drinks by the water. Massages and pedicures are available upon request at a reasonable price. I even saw it advertised as a great place for nightlife and dinner but I have yet to experience that.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Easylivingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great beach, aweful Mambo Beach club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stopped in Curacao during our recent Caribbean cruise and took a taxi to Mambo beach on the recommendation of Fodors and cruise personnel. The beach was very nice and easy to get chairs for $3 a piece. The water at the beach is calm as it is protected by a rock barrier that still allows enough new water to come in and circulate. Great for swimming. The snorkeling in the protected area is ok. There are a lot of fish but the water is a little hazy. The snorkeling on the outside of the barrier is incredible. The water was bright blue and the fish were in the 100's and perhaps 1000's. Lots of colorful, tropical fish. Its just a little difficult getting in and out as there is small wavebreak coming into the rocks. The bathrooms were relatively clean and there were showers on the Cabana beach side of the bar. The hut bar at Mambo has great drinks but limited food. We went over to the Mambo Beach Club for lunch and had the worst service imaginable. The waiter walked by us 4 times before coming to take our order. He was not friendly and could not describe the Dutch style entrees. After we ordered, 2 more from our party sat down and the waiter walked by 4 more times without acknowledging them so they left. After waiting about 30 minutes for our food and dying of thirst since the waiter did not come back to check on us, we left enough money to cover the bottled water and left without getting our food. Other patrons had the same look of frustration on their faces. So we went back to the hut bar, had a great pina coloda and Dutch sausage.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank surfatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful water, just ok beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Easy access by car, just off main road and big parking lot. The water color is beautiful perfect blue, the beach itself just ok, as other reviews already stated, there is a strip mall under construction, looks like this beach will become more of a "commercial" area rather than local-flare beach.... Too bad... but i guess some people may like that.... The end of the strip, at the Lion's dive area is very nice...again amazing waters all along the strip but don't don't what to think about the beach area in general...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NEZABAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We took a local bus ($2 pp) to this beach from the port in Willemstad. No one ever came around to collect any money, and the bartender told us that maybe they would be around, maybe not. No one ever did, but we more than made up for it at the bar. It was not very crowded that day, so we had our choice of lounge chairs. The beach is gorgeous, the sand is white, and best of all, no rocks in the water. There is construction taking place, but it was back far enough that it didn't bother us. There is a very long stretch of beach that runs from the Sea Aquarium down to Lion's Dive Resort. It's just beautiful and we look forward to returning.

At the Lion's Dive Resort we spoke with a very nice gentleman who informed us that they do take people out on snorkeling and diving tours, but that the water was so calm that day, we would fine going out on our own, and showed us where to snorkel. We followed his advice, had a wonderful time and saw lots of colorful fish.

Since we had until 10:30 p.m. to get back to our ship, we stayed later at the beach, hoping we would still be able to catch a bus back to the port. If not, we would have taken a taxi. We only had to wait about 20 minutes and bus did come along, so once again, we had inexpensive transportation. The bus is actually a van with "bus" on the front plate. Most have signs in the front window telling where they go. They do stop along the way to pick up and/or drop off other passengers, so if this is not your thing, you might want to take a taxi instead. Our bus driver dropped us off right at the port.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mambo Beach also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Mambo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing