We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service and enjoyment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zanzibar Lounge and Restaurant

Zanzibar Lounge and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 11 Dessert in Curacao
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, Seafood, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Service and enjoyment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Service can improve depending on where u visit but for some of the sit in places the service is top notch. The area to relax is chill and relaxing. It's a great place to go with friends and alone if u need that kind of time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Knighttravelmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    220
    125
    67
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Bad Service - Bad Attitude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My colleagues and I (from The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort) went to Zanzibar to have some drinks and Pizza, while some of us were swimming 2 of them ordered 3 Pizzas and drinks, when ordering the drinks , they asked for 3 Margaritas , Once the Manager from our work and I approached the waitress to ask her about the order and why the Margarita drinks were taking so long, she said with a bad attitude "you didn't order drinks you order 6 Pizzas",... because she though that the Margarita drinks were Margarita (pizza). We all KNOW that it is human to make a mistake, but after explaining her that it was a misunderstanding and that we want it 3 Margaritas and only 3 Pizzas , her expression in her face was really unpleasant and she responded the local language "Kansami yiu" Which expresses that she was annoyed by us... As ambassadors of the culture of service here in Curacao ourselves, and concern about Curacao’s service reputation, we approached the manager of the Restaurant wanting to feedback about the rude behavior of such employee (her name is Tracy), the manager, while we were still explaining the situation, interrupted us and said: " I already know, and I already talked to her, Anything Else??? " ... Then, there were no Doubts to us that Zanzibar is not Service Oriented and they really need some training in how to treat their clients, regardless of any language barrier. Kindness is an Universal Language , and It is sad to see that from top to bottom in that organization they don't care about the service. I think they take their visitors for granted because the overall atmosphere of the beach area were they are located is beautiful and It is a famous spot in Curacao.

We will prefer not to recommend Zanzibar to our Guests anymore, given the above mentioned circumstances.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in Curacao”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you're in Curacao to relax, there's no better place to go than Zanzibar. The food is good, the service is excellent, and the prices are reasonable especially since it caters to tourists. It's safe, clean and very family friendly. I highly recommend this hotspot!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AirDumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great pizza, bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went specifically for the pizza based on reviews and it was delicious when it finally came. Very crowded when we arrived but hostess assured us she'd take care of us. Only 15 min wait for table but got stuck back by the kitchen which wasn't great. Service from that point on was beyond slow. We constantly had to flag down any server we could find for drinks, refills and the check. Definitely got the feeling that they had plenty of customers and didn't care about customer service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hmngbrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solid beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great beach with a fairly young crowd. It's easy to spend an entire day laying on the beach chairs, alternating between snorkeling and sipping your piña colada's. If you brought your snorkeling gear, check out the wreck just 10 ft below the surface, a little behind the pontoon. Pizza's are good value and the transgression to the evening beach party goes fluently. The music and atmosphere are generally very good in the evening and has a bit more of a laid back feel to it compared to Mambo/wet n wild.

Overal, I'd definitively recommend the place for a young crowd! Bring snorkeling gear, a towel and some cash and you'll have a great day!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wouterroelofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanzibar Lounge and Restaurant also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Zanzibar Lounge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing