We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere”

Zanzibar Lounge and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 11 Dessert in Curacao
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

+ located at the beach incl. a bar
+ party atmosphere
+ the food was better than other restaurants jn Curacao
+ free Wi Fi

- a bit expensive
- should book in advance otherwise wait a lot
- Sangria is offered but this drink is definitely not Sangria but a pretty normal cocktail in a small glass - don't recommend it
- the party is over at 24.00 .. what a night life? ... for pensoners
- the security guys are really impolite

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheFounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    227
    136
    67
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lots of annoying issues and average food”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My wife, my buddy, and I, tried eating at Zanzibar on a dive masters recommendation one late afternoon, after our dives concluded with our dive operator at Lions Dive area. This place was only about 5 minutes away from them and they said it was a good place to grab drinks and have dinner before we headed back to our condo, on the other side of the island.

We found the place easily, got some parking, although it was a very crowded area, so parking may not be found easily depending on when you go. When we got seated, the hostess saw that we were struggling with the all Dutch menu with no translation, so she took the time to go over each of the apps and entrees with us in english, which was very nice.

We poiured over our options and the waiter came next and took our drink order. About 10 minutes passed and he brought our drinks and was ready to take our order. We gave him our order of local Dutch white fish, red snapper entrees, etc, and he politely smiled and explained we could not order any of that menu the hostess went over with us, as it was 5:10pm and the kitchen does not get off their break and begin cooking those items until after 6:00pm, so perhaps another hour before we could place those dinner orders . . .

He flipped over the menu and pointed to a list of pizzas that he said they could make until then and what pizza did we wish to order . . . .

I could break into great detail the next hour or so, but I won't. I will say this, we hungrily waited until 6:10pm or so, placed our order, got our dinner about 6:30pm, and all that and the fish dinners, rice, and potatoes we got were average at best.

I complained to the manager, he shook his shoulders. We left and I will never return to this place. It was unaccomidating, average on flavor, overpriced, and the communication was poor at best.

Maybe you will have a better visit if you go than my family did, but I would not recommend this place to anyone visiting and wanting a nice dinner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank figurephenatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Restaurant with great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

A very popular restaurant at the Jan Thiel Beach. In the evening it is very cozy! Dined there 5 times during our stay in Curacao and the food was good each time. Even if there are a lot of tourists eating there, it is not a pure touristic restaurant- they really seem to care about the food quality and their guests.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maria_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Breakfast, lunch, diner, happy hour or just relax at the beach.. Zanzibar has it all!”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed near Zanzibar when we were on Curaçao and simply loved it. We have tried many beach clubs and restaurants but none came close to the atmosphere at Zanzibar!
You can come here for a good breakfast, lunch or diner. Everything is kind of pricy but it will be delivered to your loungebed if you want it and don't need to get up to pay, they will bring the PIN or Credit card machine to you. The ultimate lazy life!
On Saterday they have a very busy happy hour (some drinks 50% off - be sure to ask which ones are not included like the cocktails) that looks and feels like the entire island comes to enjoy. No worries though, the service is still pretty quick if you are used to the Carribean pace.

Great place to go to the beach, bar or eat. Check it out and love it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roderoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relaxed pizza on the beach at sunset”
Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

We ordered beers & pizza at the bar and 30 mins later we were enjoying good quality pizza on a strand bed at the beach. Would definitely go back - Wednesdays are good because of the local live music.

Helpful?
Thank Koudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanzibar Lounge and Restaurant also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Zanzibar Lounge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing