We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nemo Bar Restaurant

Nemo Bar Restaurant
Ranked #89 of 354 Restaurants in Curacao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Your island experience will not be complete without having visited Nemo Restaurant. Their sublime seafood- and meat specialties will be best enjoyed accompanied by a great view over the beautiful beach and the blue ocean. In this elegant ambiance, Nemo's knowledgeable staff will gladly complement your dinner with matching selections from the extensive wine list. Fine dining underneath the stars or intimately inside below the chandeliers starts at 6 PM. Reservations are recommended.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
130 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

As far as hotel restaurants go, Nemo's was pretty good. The staff were all very friendly and fairly attentive. The food was good (not great), lacking not in presentation but in flavor (which seemed par for the course on Curacao--not a lot of spicing going on unless you found a local, more Portuguese type restaurant). We had two meals here during our stay. The first was outdoors on the pretty patio and featured seafood dishes. The fish was all fresh and cooked well. Our last night on the island we dressed up and my husband and I shared a steak and salad. The portions were big enough to satisfy our appetites. The steak was delicious, perfectly cooked and was topped with a mushroom sauce. It came with roasted potatoes and au jus. Probably the best thing we had at Nemo's. We also spent an hour at the bar one night drinking Curacao cocktails that our bartender recommended for us. All in all, a very nice experience at a really wonderful resort.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucyspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible service! Don't waste here your money and specially your time!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

31/08/2012 The food can be acceptable, the "service" (which service?) is below any reason. That is even more disappointing for a restaurant that is pretending to be classy and stylish.
Let's start: we arrived around 20:15 with only 3 other tables (couples) occupied in the restaurant.
My girlfriend ordered Gambas and myself Surf&Turf (beef tenderloin+gambas): the waiter didn't ask me how I wanted the meat that of course came too much well done and not medium as I was expecting (as no question was made).
Food came after a long waiting of 45 minutes (notice that no one else of the other table was waiting for food as they were finishing and leaving). In the meantime no one of the young waiters came in the terrace to check out if we needed anything.
After the main course, at that time we were the only table left, we had the bad idea to order a dessert, a lemon cake...
After 25 minutes from ordering, still no dessert and the ladies were peacefully chatting inside without even noticing us waiting and being disappointed. I went inside to ask the status, of course the answer was "Oh, it's just ready sir" and when bringing at the table the waiter was justifying as "there was a miscommunication between the staff and the order was hanging in the kitchen"... no sign of "sorry", "apologize" or what's so ever. Once finished the dessert, we went directly inside to ask the bill, bill was given in silence... again no sign of apologies and appropriate service. Very disappointing experience, we agree with the reviews read here that the waiters working there do not seem to like their job and they are too busy with themselves to provide anything close to a "minimum basic service".

Helpful?
1 Thank Anitalianandadutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Everybody here is crazy. Nemo is great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed in Chogogo at Jan Thiel and are trying as many restaurants we hear and read about as we can. Nemo sounded great but the reviews here were not that good.. We decided to push our luck and go for it, so we made reservations and drove to the Lions Dive Hotel Resort at Seaquarium Beach (or Mambo Beach).

When we got there the setting was great and impressed us instantly. We got seated right away at great tables with a lovely sea breeze looking out over the water. We got a good house wine and after taking our orders the waitress served hot rolls with choice of spread and even a crab entré (amuse). All really high end and great. The food itself was supurb as well (had the salmon). The coffee not so much, it got served in a cappuccino mug and was way too hot and watery. It got served by a waitress who earlier on got lessons from another waitress in filleting a fish so she was probably new and i said nothing of it. Desert was great.

Afterwards we walked along the shore and enjoyed the views.

Go to Nemo and have a great evening!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roderoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on the Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Most of the restaurants associated with the beach resorts have TERRIBLE service; Nemo's was the exception during our stay. Though we lacked reservations on one occasion, they were able to seat us quickly and the staff was very attentive. On the beaches on the south side of Curacao, good service is rare. Usually we must go to Willemstad to find a restaurant at which the staff has any consideration whatsoever for its customers. The pre-dinner rolls and garlic butter were delicious; the appetizers were wonderful, and after a day of scuba diving the main courses were very satisfying. We thought the wine selection was fabulous, and loved the bottled water. We are not big dessert people; however, those we sampled were very good. Bottom line: restaurants on the beach don't get much better than this; thank you Nemo's for your excellent service and terrific cuisine. It was a bit on the pricey side, but worth it for the quality of food, professionalism of the staff, and close proximity to our room in Lion's Dive.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank telmuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Did you try hot wine in Summer? Come to Nemo Restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

We had diner while on holiday in Lions Dive.
The service is terrible. We ordered a bottle of the wine of the day. A rose wine. Unfortunately the wine was at room temperature (25 degrees Celsius). The waiter came with an icecooler full of cold water and ice-cubes, no excuses, no other cooled bottle.
At the end of our diner, the wine was still warm. The waiter told us that just a few minutes before openingtime the manager had decided that the rose should be the wine of the day. All the bottles were not cooled at all. We told the waiter that he should have warned us. No excuses at all.
The food is expensive for it's quality. The tuna was overcooked, so was the beeffilet.
We ordered ice-cream for our little one without whipped cream. Yes their was whipped cream on it. No excuses at all, the only anwer was: I told the kitchen without whipped cream.
All the waiters are Dutch students, most of them didn't like their work, at least it looked liked. What they liked was talking to some of the guests. The evening that we had our diner they paid attention to just one table and chat loud with them and forgot the other 10 tables.
Our advice: save your money, don't go to Nemo.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nemo Bar Restaurant also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Nemo Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing