We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories Are Good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Memories Varadero Beach Resort
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Memories Are Good!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed at Memories Resort October 2013 for a week, booked through Sunwing.
The resort is very nice but take note-it is quite 'spread out", so be prepared to walk.
For an elderly person, this could be an issue. There are little buses that run the property, be we never did figure out the schedule...
If you request a room near the beach, you will be on the opposite side of the resort property from the buffet. That being said though, the rooms near the beach are great as the beach is just beautiful. Worth the walk for me.
The Cuban, Japanese and Italian a la carte restaurants are located half way between the buffet and beach, near the disco. The French a la carte is located near the main lobby.
The rooms are very clean, and large. Some blocks are being updated now.
What travelers need to keep in mind is you don't go to Cuba for the food, nor modern 5* decor.
If you can't flush the TP down the toilet, then so be it, and use the garbage hampers provided as noted in the lobby bathrooms.
You go to Cuba for the people, the experience, and the beach.
The staff at memories are wonderful and will go the extra mile to help with what you need.
The entertainment was great, the beach bar had the BEST mojitos, the sand was powdery white and clean, the ocean was clear and warm.
The lobby bar was a great meeting point for newly found friends, and the disco rocked nightly with shows and music.
There are two currency exchanges on site, one in the lobby and one halfway down the property near the tennis courts. The latter one being less busy.
The buffet had a good selection-try the yogurt smoothies for breakfast, eggs etc, lots of seafood and chicken, buns, cheeses etc and always had nice presentation.
Again, very friendly staff in all locations.
The beach BBQ offered local fish, paella, burgers and hotdogs.
The local double decker bus to Varadero (town) came to front lobby of the hotel on a steady basis.
For tours, you can book them through the Sunwing office or through Gaviota Tours, both located in/near the lobby.
Do go to Havana if you can. It's well worth the trip, although I would not recommend the shopping "experience" in Havana at the market.
It is quite aggressive,and you can get the same items without the hassle in the town of Varadero.
I would recommend anyone going to Cuba to be prepared to pay cash for everything from shopping items, to meals outside the resort, to doctors fee's if required.
Credit cards are not normally accepted other than in the resort area.
Canadian cash rules.
If you wish to bring any gifts with you for the staff, then do bring a "gift note" to give as well so they are permitted to keep the items.
Pencils and erasers for the kids are like gold. Items like toothbrushes, shampoos, soaps etc are always greatly appreciated, and do try and tip CUC when possible as the average Cuban makes as little weekly, as the average North American would spend at Starbucks on any given day.
Always have medical insurance.
Memories Resort has left me with just that....some very fond memories.
I will be back to enjoy again.

Room Tip: Building 35 has great location next to beach, close enough to Disco and area, but no noise from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lifesjourney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbenitez, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Varadero Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your preference for our resort Memories Varadero! We truly appreciate your having taken the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers. We are glad that you liked our staff, beach and Mojitos!
We have shuttle service available permanetly, although we realize that at it may seem insufficient to some guests at times of high demand, such as moments of large arrivals. All our guests should be fully informed of the characteristics and design of our resort at the time of booking their vacation.
We hope to have the pleasure of your visit once again soon! Please, let us know in advance so that we can do our best to guarantee that you have an even better stay!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    2,156
    1,350
    658
    536
See reviews for
2,261
1,921
194
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

.just arrived home 23rd oct read reviews before holiday and was bit worried.but i must say we had brill time.we were met on coach were leo had upgraded us to diamond club we were checked in on coach givren wrist bands and key for room so no waiting at resort just went straight to room. the rooms are large clean nice big bed.we were in block next to lobby which was very handy.we had seperate air cond dining room with bieng in diamond club which was great.food in buffet was ok there could be inprovement.we had breakfast in there but eat in a la carts in the evening i found the cuban best service and the memories meal next to quiet pool was lovely.we went as a family and our grandson had a ball so much entertajnment for kids couldnt fault at all.pool areas were great something for every body.quit pool noisy pool both with swim up bars.beach was stunning water sports free .we had our own section of beach with waiter service.all bars had diamond club drinks which were international brands.the points that let resort down ar minor like shortage of beach towels to swop.and running out of glasses and serving plastic.also resort gets busy at weekends and cubans seem to get served first at bars. but overall we had brill time thorougly enjoyed it and would recomend.and a big thankyou to leo he couldnt do enough to make sure everything was right works very hard.another small point a lot of reviews complain about size of resort i thought it was great a nice walk round lovely kept gardens.never used buggys and the people who were using them could have done with a walk.

Room Tip: rooms in block next to lobby are very convienient.we were on 3rd floor nice and peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheryl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbenitez, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Varadero Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Client,
We appreciate dearly your having taken the time to post your review about your recent vacation in Memories Varadero Resort, your lovely comments are the most wonderful tool for us to renew our energy and our desire to continue improving the services we offer.
We assure you that we will not cease in our efforts to have more satisfied and happy clients each day!
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you once again in our resort, please let us know of your next visit in advance, as we would like to prepare for your arrival and make sure that you enjoy yourself even more!
Thank you again for your kind comments!
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The trip was great from the moment that we stepped in Cuba every one was genuinely trying to please us.
The room was very comfortable and clean, the maid wrote us a note welcoming us and ensuring that we hold be pleased with our stay, she wasn't wrong. Every day a different arrangement with the towels on top of the bed, Every day couple of flowers. One thing was evident, she was trying to pleas us.
The resort was super clean and a army of people were constantly caring for it, washing, gardening, paint were, fixing there.
Food, we are confused with the negative remarks. is all the negativity because they don't have the same brand of ketchup, no macaroni and cheese on the buffet, or grilled cheese sandwich?
Food was OK, and plenty of it. Far from gourmet cooking of a food network chef, but from seafood to hotdogs, all the food groups were well represented.
At the beach, every day, barbecued meat and fish burgers and hotdogs, salads, seafood rice etc...
5 Restaurants, one of them 24h and the main buffet.
Drinks, you ask, that pour and lots of it.
The beach to die for. We are not globe trotters, but we've ben in a few places around the world, and that beach and the water are in a tight race for first place.
The upgrade to Diamond Club is a must, air conditioning dinning room, upgraded drinks, private concierge and the list goes on and on, but the one that was worth every penny is a private section on the beach with a beach bar and bartender/waiter.
The lady even brought us drinks to the water.
We would go back on a heart beat.
Don't pay attention to the whiners, people find reasons to complain about everything.
Excellent value for the price


We were treated
we arrived late at night, at the check in we had food and drinks The room was clean a great experience. Upgrade to the Diamond Club

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Szurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbenitez, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Varadero Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for having chosen our resort for your recent vacation; you are now officially one more member of the Memories Family!
Your comments are of incredible value to us, as we depend on them to continue with our everyday efforts to satisfy our many visitors from all over the world.
We are very happy that you had a fun and relaxing vacation and we cannot wait to have you here once again! When you decide to come visit us again please tell us in advance any requests you may have and we will take personal care of them.
With sunny regards from your family in Varadero, Cuba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

It was a nice place, the food was good. We got upgraded the first day, front desk had no idea where we were so they started phoning at 5 am. I took the phone off the hook, then they started banging on the door. We had only just arrived a few hours prior so we were over tired, when we went to the front desk they gave us a suite. If you go bring lots of off or raid, fleas are rampant. We were bit a lot, bugs were everywhere not just in your room. It was the only downfall, we still had a good time.

Room Tip: We were near the beach, its a big resort lots of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbenitez, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Varadero Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Client,
We would like to express our most sincere appreciation for having given us your feedback about your recent visit. It was very kind of you to devote some of your valuable time to posting your review and your opinions encourage us to strive every day more for the complete satisfaction of all our guests. We know that this is an ambitious goal for our large resort, but we are confident that with the efforts of all our staff and counting on clients as yourself, who incite us to never give up, it is an attainable one.
Our deepest apology for any detail that might not have been up to your expectations during your stay, our Management Team is always at your service to remedy any situations. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future and if you let us know before your arrival, we will devote special efforts to attain your complete satisfaction.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Our kindest regards from sunny Varadero!,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our second trip to Cuba, first to Varadero. Last year we stayed at the 250 room Breezes Jibacoa, so this property was quite the contrast.

We got a deal on the "Diamond Club" upgrade, and feel it was well worth it. It included a private dining area at the buffet restaurant (although we still had to share the buffet tables with the unwashed masses - [don't take me too seriously on that]), access to the Italian restaurant for lunch each day, top shelf liquors, private beach area with beverage service, extra room amenities. My only major complaint was that that the piano bar/disco that had been available to Diamond Club members early evenings for a premium single malt or a specialty coffee was shuttered mid-week for conversion to a sports bar. Oh well, it was good while it lasted.

Check in for the Diamond Club was great, with complimentary cocktails while we registered for our a la carte dinners. Our room was clean and comfortable, and well located about midway between the main building and the beach.

Unfortunately, I was still recovering from a flu that had laid me low over the holidays, and just as I started to bounce back from that, I was felled with a bout of "Castro's Revenge". I'm sure my defences were down due to the flu, and I may have been fine otherwise, so I won't blame it all on the resort.

Shows and entertainment were good. You don't go to Cuba for the food, but the antipasto bar at the Italian restaurant was very nice. The poolside margarita's were inconsistent in quality.

Still, I found the size of the place overwhelming - 250 rooms may be a little too small, but 1,000 is definitely too big. We're going back to Cuba again in Jan/14, staying at another Memories property, but it is only about 600 rooms. I think that might be a bit more manageable.

Room Tip: We were in building 24 - at the opposite end of the adult pool from the main building. We were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stotes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbenitez, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Varadero Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for having spent your vacation with us and for taking the time to help us improve our service.
We are sorry that the size of our resort may have created any inconveniences for you, we work very hard to maintain all services at high standards and to solve any issues that arise. We have internat transportation available, although we know that at times it may prove insufficient, especially in our warm weather which make of walking our grounds a tiring task.
We apreciatte your opinions and assure you that we will take them into account to keep on improving our service.
Receive our warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This trip was Absolutely Fantastic from beginning to end. I cannot say enough about the staff at this resort. From Check-In to Check-Out everyone was fantastic and extremely accomodating. A special Thank you goes out to Yeyli, Susanna from the customer relations team, Amauri one of the porter and trolley driver and Jesus the hotel Manager. The entertainement team is also fantastic. Smiles all around from everyone. I have never seen such helpfull and accomodating people anywhere. This was our firt time in Cuba and we truely enjoyed this resort. It is quite large yes, however it never seems crowded wich is great. The accomodations were great and really nothing to complain about there. Our room was excellent by the beach. The resor is very clean. Yes you will experience some trouble in the public washrooms as the plumbing is old. People just need to treat all areas of this resort as if it was their own house and there would be no issues anywhere. The beach is very clean and very beautiful. Lots of long chairs for everyone at the beach and both pools. I quite enjoyed having the opportunity of going to different pools depending on how our moods were that day. The quiet pool was beautiful and the activity pool was lots of fun with the slide. The kids did enjoy. The entertainment team at the pool was fantastic at getting everyone involved. A special thank you for Jane of the Kids club she was great. The food was mostly good. There was always something that you can eat and enjoy, even for the kids that are picky. You have to remember where you are and the resources that the country has. The coffe bar is fantastic and had great cappucinos. All and all this was a great trip and the team of Memories is what made this trip so great. I would recommend this resort to everyone. I definitely want to go back as soon as we can. My family truely enjoyed our stay. Thank you again to everyone of the Memories Varadero staff for making this such a fantastic trip for us.

Room Tip: Middle of the resort will alow you to access everything with ease
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbenitez, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Varadero Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your preference for our resort Memories Varadero! We truly appreciate your having taken the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers. We loved your comments and we cannot express how happy we are to know that you enjoyed your vacation in our hotel!
We hope to have the pleasure of your visit once again soon! Please, let us know in advance so that we can do our best to guarantee that you have an even better stay!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Before I went to Cuba, many people told me to lower my expectations from my trip to Mexico the previous year. Sadly, they were not wrong. Although Cuba is a beautiful country with a lot of history, I was really disappointed by the vacation (no one ever wants to be disappointed from their vacation).

The down side:
I am not sure if this is a lone experience, but our resort was unequipped to deal with travellers when we were there. We arrived at 11pm at night and were stuck going through a registration process that took over an hour. Despite asking to be booked in the same building as we were a large group (we asked the travel agent to do this for us before we left), it took us 3 days until we were all settled in one building. The food was average, but the staff were not very friendly. Our room was not even cleaned on two of the days we stayed, and our bathroom was consistently flooded. The resort ran out of ice for 2 days and our drinks were hot (which made us overheat even more). Furthermore, out of 16 people, 6 of us returned sick suggesting to me that something was going on down there.

On the plus side:
Some of the staff really made our vacation: Wilson and Cristiano at the grotto bar were a riot and they were always ready to serve up our drinks! They even made us some real special hard-hitters. Jenny was our favourite breakfast-lunch waitress, and we made sure to always sit in her section! Additionally, the burger bar on the beach was absolutely fantastic and the beach itself was beautiful. The pools were also very clean and the kids, and not so young kids, in our group loved the slide!

Overall, if you are looking for a cheap vacation to Cuba and don't really mind the general sense of not-so-interested-in-you staff and slow procedures, this is an alright place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbenitez, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Varadero Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Client,
We would like to express our most sincere appreciation for having given us your feedback about your recent visit. It was very kind of you to devote some of your valuable time to posting your review and your opinions encourage us to strive every day more for the complete satisfaction of all our guests. We know that this is an ambitious goal for our large resort, but we are confident that with the efforts of all our staff and counting on clients as yourself, who incite us to never give up, it is an attainable one.
Our deepest apology for any detail that might not have been up to your expectations during your stay, our Management Team is always at your service to remedy any situations. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future and if you let us know before your arrival, we will devote special efforts to attain your complete satisfaction.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Our kindest regards from sunny Varadero!,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
7.3 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
0.3 mi away
Grand Memories Varadero
Grand Memories Varadero
#35 of 64 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
1.7 mi away
Starfish Varadero
Starfish Varadero
#21 of 64 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
#36 of 64 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memories Varadero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memories Varadero Beach Resort

Property: Memories Varadero Beach Resort
Address: Autopista Sur, km 18,5 Parque Natural | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#26 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Memories Varadero Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 1035
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper yourself on the pristine white sand beaches of Varadero, Cuba with a stay at the luxury Memories Varadero Beach Resort. The resort offers incredible value and impressive all inclusive features and is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway or a fun family vacation. Guests will be dazzled by the elegant rooms and suites that feature rich wood furnishings, luxurious amenities, and stunning décor. Relish a culinary trip around the world at the buffet restaurant and several à la carte restaurants, which offer sumptuous global cuisine, including Italian, Japanese, Mexican, and more. Spend your days basking under a golden sun on one of Varadero’s most beautiful beaches, or revel in an array of fun land and water sports and activities. Children will also have the time of their lives at the Kids Club and Baby Club with supervised games and activities. Memories Varadero Beach Resort ensures fun for all ages and helps create unforgettable vacation memories for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Memories Varadero Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirenis La Salina Varadero Beach Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing